We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly very good but some caveats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eating House

Eating House
804 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL
305-448-6524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 276 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mostly very good but some caveats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I would give them 3.5 stars but tripadvisor won't let me give half stars.

We had 4 dishes to share between the three of us. The tab was 132$ with tip. They also give you popcorn before the meal starts.

-the fl tomatoes were the best dish we had. Crunchy, cold, creamy...perfect. Enough for 2, maybe not for 3.
-The brussel sprout were perfectly cooked but way too salty. I wish the chef would use less sodium soy sauce. I could not finish my dish because of that.
-pasta carbonara was excellent but cold. They served the entrees a few minutes only after the hors d'oeuvres. This was NOT slow food. I felt rushed (well, there were people waiting).
-don't bother for the ribs (menu of the day?) : again, way too salty and meat was overcooked and tough. And it was expensive.
-we had one dessert big enough to share and two glasses of wine on top of that.

I would go there again to try the brunch, but it's definitely too expensive and too unreliable (some dishes are excellent others blah) to go there regularly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had read good reviews of the restaurant however I was not impressed by the food. My husband's sandwish was tasty but the oriental sesame chicken salad I ordered didn't have a sesame seed on it, the chicken was totally tasteless and it came with only a little bit of salad dressing which was not enough for the chicken and lettuce. Service was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where the Locals Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Eating House is tuck away in a little corner where Ponce De Leon meets SW 8th street, its hard to find if not for the people outside talking, drinking and waiting to be seated. The menu is young and vibrant and except for a few signature dishes it changes often to keep the patrons always interested. The food is delicious no dietary dishes though so be prepared to eat good food. The service is top of the line and you can see Giorgio the owner chef making sure you are well taken care of. This little gem is a most if you are in Miami.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Value is about getting more than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

There are lots of wonderful restaurants in Miami with the price to show for the quality. Eating House is great value relative to most of the great restaurants in Miami.
This is a delightful surprise! The three of us ordered about 40% of the entire menu. The pasta was outstanding, the tostada was a symphony of taste and texture, the fried cauliflower with the crunchy corn chip topping would convert a non eater to liking the vegetable. Please save room for desserts. The food is best for sharing and reservation is a must,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst food in Christmas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was one of the rare place to be open on Christmas after 6 pm. Our family was hungry and ready for any tastes good food. What was the dissapointment when three out four dishes were a disaster. Too much salt on cauliflower and chicken, too much parmesan and salt on broccoli. Also cauliflower was just burnt. The only dish that was ok - pork. Staff is friendly, apple cider beer was good. But food was worst that I tried last few years.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eating House also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.