We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eating House

Eating House
804 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL
305-448-6524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is excellent. Very casual. They have a small menu and you can't make any changes or requests because the chef has a very specific way he wants his food. I had the best soup I have ever had. Everyone loved their dishes. The waiter really pushed a dessert on us that they are famous for - dirt cup- no one really wanted it and then no one could stop eating it! He was right - it was amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Perfect spot to enjoy really good food with friends.
We had the tempura of broccoli, the carbonara with truffles, and the scallops. Very good products, large portions and above all: it is really delicious!
Waiters were very friendly (and offered a glass of wine).
I've heard they have a delicious brunch too... can't wait to go back!
The place is small, but the atmosphere is really nice (much nicer than in those trendy freezing cold loud techno type of restaurants that you find anywhere in Miami).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eating House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went with friend for Sunday brunch. They opened at noon, so the line to enter was half a block. Lucky we had reservations. Friendly attentive staff, They know their menu and what the dishes are. Very innovative cuisine. Great addition to Coral Gables

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Out in Miami?-Do eat here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A loud group of 8 were celebrating a birthday when we walked in this place on a Friday evening. Reservations are mandatory in this little restaurant…you don’t want to wait outside in the hot Miami nights. Well, little in size, but I must say that we were surprised by the well-oiled-machinery in place. In no time we’re seated, menus at hand and orders ready to be taken by our cordial, efficient and pleasant and never-tired-of- answering questions super waiter Nicholas. I learned how to make the Carbonara in Italy, therefore, I can tell you that these people do good Italian among other great new dishes. No, the prices are not cheap but not irrational either, just right for plates prepared and checked for quality before it reaches you. All in our group were delighted by the food and drinks. If I can criticize them, I’d recommend they have their waiting guests to wait outside the restaurant and not standing by the door, who frequently bother the people seating close there. All in all, a very good place to eat and meet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Man oh man, creativy at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for dinner, from reviews off of Yelp!... So glad we decided to go. The atmospere is very romantic....

The food is not yor typical food. We had the pimento cheese app, its was the best pimento cheese i ever ate. I have chicken and falffles, ONE OF THE BEST chicken an waffles i have ever tasted.. My wife had a steak dish, cooked to perfection with tempura veggies.. We were stuffed but had to tru dessert, their "Dirt" cake was mind blowing, chocolate and pretzels are up my alley...

When im back in the area i will def be back, that was the best $75 i have spent on food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eating House also viewed

 

Been to Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.