We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eating House

Eating House
804 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL
305-448-6524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 287 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“is good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

most of the food is really good and fresh and interesting, they have a unique style, but for the price I find it a bit overrated, still worth a visit

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had heard about this place for some time and went to check it out last weekend. We were unable to secure a reservation due to a large party but they were able to set us up in a sidewalk table. Our waiter suggested ordering several items that the four of us could share. We tried the tomatoes with frozen coconut, oxtails, chicken and pasta carbonara. The chicken and pasta are standards on the menu but the others are seasonal items that vary from time to time. All of our dishes were excellent but we especially enjoyed the pasta and the oxtails. Our waiter suggested and we accepted to order one item at a time which stretched the culinary experience and allowed us to enjoy each item as a standalone. I would recommend ordering the pasta last so as not to fill up too soon. .
Prices are very reasonable and service is outstanding. I highly recommend that you try Eating House.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have heard positive reviews about this place and its uniqueness, so I decided to go for dinner... What a disappointment. Based on the good reviews received, we decided to go for the "fixed" menu so we could taste the many plates they offered. There was not a plate worth of this "culinary" experience of ours. Overpriced, terrible food, even the desserts - which I heard were really unique and good- in my opinion were terrible. I would never go back and do not recommend. Not to mention, the overcrowd ambience, loud, poor service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Trendy food with a welcome home attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Have been a big fan of this amazing group of young owners since they first opened as a pop-up. This isn't pretentious food, this is food having fun! Giorgio, the Chef, and his family and close friends have united their talents to create, (literally: they even made the tables!) an environment that is warm and welcoming and invites you to celebrate their passion for food. The menu undergoes frequent changes which makes it always exciting, so don't go with a predetermined dish in mind. One of my favorite things about the menu is that there is a mix of light and heavy dishes. They recommend "sharing," we don't! We found that each dish was so delicious that we would just have to order more rounds!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited here twice in December and can't wait to go back. I still dream of the yummy Beef Tartare that i ordered 3 times in 2 nights.. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Sat at the bar and was very comfortable. Everything was delicious! Didn't plan on going back the 2nd night but liked it so much we just had to! Had the Chicken & Waffles, Pork Belly, Brussel sprouts, Heirloom Tomatoes, Beef Tartare, Pasta Carbonara and even splurged on the dirt cup! This is a must stop if you are in the area and you love food!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eating House also viewed

 

Been to Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.