We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eating House

Eating House
804 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL
305-448-6524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 274 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
miami, fl
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had heard about this place for some time and went to check it out last weekend. We were unable to secure a reservation due to a large party but they were able to set us up in a sidewalk table. Our waiter suggested ordering several items that the four of us could share. We tried the tomatoes with frozen coconut, oxtails, chicken and pasta carbonara. The chicken and pasta are standards on the menu but the others are seasonal items that vary from time to time. All of our dishes were excellent but we especially enjoyed the pasta and the oxtails. Our waiter suggested and we accepted to order one item at a time which stretched the culinary experience and allowed us to enjoy each item as a standalone. I would recommend ordering the pasta last so as not to fill up too soon. .
Prices are very reasonable and service is outstanding. I highly recommend that you try Eating House.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have heard positive reviews about this place and its uniqueness, so I decided to go for dinner... What a disappointment. Based on the good reviews received, we decided to go for the "fixed" menu so we could taste the many plates they offered. There was not a plate worth of this "culinary" experience of ours. Overpriced, terrible food, even the desserts - which I heard were really unique and good- in my opinion were terrible. I would never go back and do not recommend. Not to mention, the overcrowd ambience, loud, poor service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Trendy food with a welcome home attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Have been a big fan of this amazing group of young owners since they first opened as a pop-up. This isn't pretentious food, this is food having fun! Giorgio, the Chef, and his family and close friends have united their talents to create, (literally: they even made the tables!) an environment that is warm and welcoming and invites you to celebrate their passion for food. The menu undergoes frequent changes which makes it always exciting, so don't go with a predetermined dish in mind. One of my favorite things about the menu is that there is a mix of light and heavy dishes. They recommend "sharing," we don't! We found that each dish was so delicious that we would just have to order more rounds!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited here twice in December and can't wait to go back. I still dream of the yummy Beef Tartare that i ordered 3 times in 2 nights.. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Sat at the bar and was very comfortable. Everything was delicious! Didn't plan on going back the 2nd night but liked it so much we just had to! Had the Chicken & Waffles, Pork Belly, Brussel sprouts, Heirloom Tomatoes, Beef Tartare, Pasta Carbonara and even splurged on the dirt cup! This is a must stop if you are in the area and you love food!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Additon to the Coral Gables Restaurant Scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I found this restaurant by accident and have not seen any advertisements etc. It was a recommendation for friends who do not even live in the Miami area, but had heard about this new innovative eating spot.
I was not disappointed, however I went alone to check it out. This is definitely a place to go with a group as the dishes are all meant for sharing. Four is probably ideal and you would probably order three dishes each giving everyone a good taste of most of the chef's creations. Menu is not large but is very creative and accept the dishes as prepared. Service is terrific, the wait staff friendly and attractive and the ambiance is very nice. The dining room is not crowded and pleasant light jazz music plays in the background. The noise level does not overwhelm the dining conversation. Eating House offers a reasonable corkage few so feel free to bring your own wine. Best of all you do not need to invade your retirement account to pay the bill. All this after only one visit. Plan to return again soon with a party of friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eating House also viewed

 

Been to Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.