We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Innovative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eating House

Eating House
804 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL
305-448-6524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 266 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Innovative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Eating House was during their early "Pop Up" stage, and we were impressed by the inventiveness and playfulness of the menu. While playing with flavors and textures, and delivering explosive flavors, they did not take themselves too seriously. We have sometimes had to wait over an hour for a table, but always found the service and the experience to be worth the wait. Between Chef Giorgio, Chef Eric, and their manager Alex, they have found the right balance between a Chef driven restaurant, and an excellent "front of the house" experience. The staff seem genuinely happy to be working together, and the ever changing nature of the menu is always a welcome surprise. It has become one of our favorite places in Miami, and Chef Giorgio deservedly was named "the hottest chef in Miami" for his innovative cuisine. The pasta carbonara is a MUST to try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    29
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, visually interesting and creatively delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was fortunate to dine at the restaurant when it was a Pop Up, and happy when it made Coral Gables it's home. The restaurant is trendy, with a creative look. Great to see the Chef add his personal touch before the dishes are served. I would recommend making reservations and going for dinner and Sunday Brunch. A tasty experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place! Our new favorite in Miami.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tried getting reservations for Sat night and was told that they were booked solid for the next couple of weeks! We decided to walk-in without reservations and only waited about 30-40 mins, had some wine in the meantime. Glad we went because this restaurant is well worth any wait! Dishes are meant to be shared, tapas style, and they are served as they come out of the kitchen. We actually enjoyed this since it allowed us to try everything on the menu. Our favorites were the oxtail, the poutine, and the tomatoes! But everything we tried was excellent! the dirt cup for dessert was amazing, to the point we had to order a second one. We have been talking about this restaurant since we visited and have already made reservations for our next visit! And I thought no other restaurant could top Michael's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants in Miami....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When it comes to Miami cuisine....we'll were no NYC. But with places like Eating House popping up we are making our climb up the ladder. The food is inventive and comforting and takes a playful stance on some familiar foods (Like Captin Crunch Pancakes). I've notice a few technical issue here and there under/over seasoned plates or cloying sweet sauces or accompaniments on savory dishes. But all and all Eating House is on the top 10 Restaurants to go to in Miami.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Unique Sunday Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant started out as a "pop-up" restaurant by a local Miami chef who won the "Chopped" series award several months ago. He has created a unique take on food and it is delicious. They are also open in the evenings for dinner Tues-Sat. The location is right on the edge of Coral Gables, so taking a walk after eating will just take you down the business section of Ponce de Leon Blvd, which is not the walking experience of Miracle Mile about 1 mile away. But, the food is worth the wait and the locale. For brunch we had the potato nuggets, eggs benedict, the oreo waffles, fried chicken thighs and waffles (also offered on the dinner menu), and the dirt cup for dessert. Their wine menu is small but pairs nicely with the offerings. I had the grenache, which was very tasty and paired nicely with my eggs benedict which came with delicious smoked apple wood bacon. Each dish was prepared with a creative touch which is a refreshing change. Prices are reasonable for serving sizes. I would suggest calling for a reservation so you don't have a long wait. They just starting taking reservations since they have become very popular for a new small restaurant. They really are a success! I look forward to returning for dinner and trying their creative delectable food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eating House also viewed

 

Been to Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.