We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Kitchen, Good Location, Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3640 SW 22 St, Coral Gables, FL 33145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Full Kitchen, Good Location, Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel was *very* dirty. There was actually hair stuck up on the ceiling in our bathroom. There were NO bath products included. We had to walk to the nearby grocery store to purchase body soap, shampoo and other toiletries. They do not "include" housekeeping with your stay. If you desire to have your room cleaned you pay an additional fee. Also, you get 3 towels, if you need more you have to pay more. They will not be laundered without a fee (less than 5 days use). I signed up with the lobby attendant for the free shuttle to The University of Miami the night before. When we arrived downstairs the next morning we were told that we signed up for a non-existant shuttle! We called a cab. There was no gym, no pool, no other amenities. If you are traveling with a family and want to save money you may want to consider this. Just run to the grocery and get clorox wipes to clean it up. You could make it work. The location is fantastic. It seemed like some of the other guests may actually live here. My window (stayed on the bottom floor) was unlocked on arrival and we did not feel safe. We checked out after the first night with no penalty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept my apologies for the lack of amenities and the level of cleanliness in your room. The housekeeping staff is giving more attention to these areas, working to improve our services overall. As well, I am sorry that you were told there was a shuttle running at our property when it was unavailable. Still, I am very happy that you found our location to be fantastic.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at mcg@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with an stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
19
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel met our needs.The staff was friendly, check in and check out was swift. Bedding was clean, room was clean. Did not hear any other customers when in the room. Would have liked more nutritional options for breakfast. On site free parking in the back was a wonderful bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Jennfier - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff, the check in and check out process and the room condition. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned, the Coral Gables Extended Stay has a great location, just a block or two off of the Miracle Mile, and other amenities such as a Walgreen's, Winn-Dixie, and LA Fitness (pass included with your stay) are less than a mile away. There is plenty of parking in the lot, though it isn't free.

Unfortunately, the biggest problem is the cleanliness of the rooms. My room suffered from two big problems: the refrigerator doors were covered in what at first appeared to be spilled food - brown spots everywhere. The front desk sent someone later that day to clean it, but the spots returned within a few hours. After closer examination, I realized that it was actually rust spots all over the fridge door. Technically dirt - no. Very unsightly - yes.

The other problem was the copious long black hairs all over the carpet. It's as if someone combed their hair all over the room, and it was pretty clear that the room had been sparsely vacuumed, if at all, before my arrival.

Lastly, you are scheduled one cleaning for every week - only one. Despite scheduling it at the front desk for midway through my stay (two weeks total), room service never came as scheduled.

As other reviewers also mentioned, the breakfast bar includes very little - coffee, apples/bananas, and oatmeal packets. Not a huge deal given the fridge, stovetop, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker in your room, but still hardly an added value.

The included LA Fitness pass is nice; however, the LA Fitness nearby is almost always extremely busy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot in the back will be quieter than the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. The housekeeping and the scheduled cleaning issued you described are unacceptable, I sincerely apologize for your experience. With your comments in hand, I have met with the staff, and we will review our housekeeping policies, ensuring that a situation like yours is not repeated.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please feel free to contact me directly, at MCG @extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As I said in title,this hotel makes me relax when I return tired.There are microwave oven and refrigerator. I can not expect more. And the price is totally affordable since we are students.The location is good ,too. We can find ATM ,market and store nearby. My friend and I are all satisfied with this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Miami - Coral Gables. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Positives: great location, there is a kitchen in the room, hotel provides vouchers to LA fitness gym which is very nice.
Cons: not clean -they really need to work on this, rooms are not cleaned daily (you must pay an extra fee to have your room cleaned), the "grab-n-go" breakfast is literally that (it is coffee, a snack bar and a piece of fruit - no chairs or dining area so no place to sit); since people can cook in their rooms our room really smelled from the prior tenant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a very good location, a very clean hotel, good service and reasonable price. It has a kitchen so you dont have to go out. The area is fantastic, and it´s very hard to stay in this area without paying an arm and a leg. We enjoyed having a kitchen since we were tired at the end of the day and did not want going out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for a little while now as I am buying some property nearby and setting up our new business office. I found the location to be terrific and the people warm and friendly. Particularly, I have enjoyed the assistance of Juan and Cristy at the front desk as well as all the assisting staff at night. Lots of friendly smiles and genuine warmth. They have been very helpful always.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables

Address: 3640 SW 22 St, Coral Gables, FL 33145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Extended Stay, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Miami - Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Extended Stay Miami
Miami Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.