We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor cleaning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3640 SW 22 St, Coral Gables, FL 33145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Washington DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, poor cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned, the Coral Gables Extended Stay has a great location, just a block or two off of the Miracle Mile, and other amenities such as a Walgreen's, Winn-Dixie, and LA Fitness (pass included with your stay) are less than a mile away. There is plenty of parking in the lot, though it isn't free.

Unfortunately, the biggest problem is the cleanliness of the rooms. My room suffered from two big problems: the refrigerator doors were covered in what at first appeared to be spilled food - brown spots everywhere. The front desk sent someone later that day to clean it, but the spots returned within a few hours. After closer examination, I realized that it was actually rust spots all over the fridge door. Technically dirt - no. Very unsightly - yes.

The other problem was the copious long black hairs all over the carpet. It's as if someone combed their hair all over the room, and it was pretty clear that the room had been sparsely vacuumed, if at all, before my arrival.

Lastly, you are scheduled one cleaning for every week - only one. Despite scheduling it at the front desk for midway through my stay (two weeks total), room service never came as scheduled.

As other reviewers also mentioned, the breakfast bar includes very little - coffee, apples/bananas, and oatmeal packets. Not a huge deal given the fridge, stovetop, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker in your room, but still hardly an added value.

The included LA Fitness pass is nice; however, the LA Fitness nearby is almost always extremely busy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot in the back will be quieter than the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. The housekeeping and the scheduled cleaning issued you described are unacceptable, I sincerely apologize for your experience. With your comments in hand, I have met with the staff, and we will review our housekeeping policies, ensuring that a situation like yours is not repeated.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please feel free to contact me directly, at MCG @extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
19
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As I said in title,this hotel makes me relax when I return tired.There are microwave oven and refrigerator. I can not expect more. And the price is totally affordable since we are students.The location is good ,too. We can find ATM ,market and store nearby. My friend and I are all satisfied with this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Miami - Coral Gables. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Positives: great location, there is a kitchen in the room, hotel provides vouchers to LA fitness gym which is very nice.
Cons: not clean -they really need to work on this, rooms are not cleaned daily (you must pay an extra fee to have your room cleaned), the "grab-n-go" breakfast is literally that (it is coffee, a snack bar and a piece of fruit - no chairs or dining area so no place to sit); since people can cook in their rooms our room really smelled from the prior tenant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a very good location, a very clean hotel, good service and reasonable price. It has a kitchen so you dont have to go out. The area is fantastic, and it´s very hard to stay in this area without paying an arm and a leg. We enjoyed having a kitchen since we were tired at the end of the day and did not want going out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for a little while now as I am buying some property nearby and setting up our new business office. I found the location to be terrific and the people warm and friendly. Particularly, I have enjoyed the assistance of Juan and Cristy at the front desk as well as all the assisting staff at night. Lots of friendly smiles and genuine warmth. They have been very helpful always.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel location is ideal. Good Restaurants within walking distance. Very clean and pleasant. Great customer service from everyone. Was not impress however how manager Adriana treated fellow employee. Right in front of us they were disrespected. I would not return with such hostility. Otherwise good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road cars can heard going by with windows close. Windows not thick enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about the services and the staff. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

I am grateful for the opportunity to respond to your concern. I have spoken with my manager and reviewed the importance of being professional and polite with each and every guest including staff members, no matter how busy we may be. It is my sincere hope that apart from this unfortunate occurrence, the rest of your stay with us was satisfying.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel actually turned out to be so much better that I expected! I wasn't expecting it to be awful or anything,The beds seemed new and were very comfortable. There are nice flat screen tv's in the rooms. They have free wifi and it's pretty fast!
They offer a free breakfast, which I always appreciate. The location is great, near everything.
Very polite and friendly people that work at this Extended Stay! The best of all past experiences. Hotel rooms and the general cleanliness, makes a comfortably stay. The customer service are really nice, Adriana, Robert, Christy and all of them are wonderful! Recommend this place to anyone! Definitely will return without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. I'm pleased that you mentioned such items as our new beds, our new flat screen TVs and our complimentary WI FI. We also offer as you mentioned our new Grab and Go breakfast and our goal is to continue improving our services. I would also like to thank you for mentioning our services and specially our staff as they are the people that makes the difference. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way," and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables

Address: 3640 SW 22 St, Coral Gables, FL 33145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Miami - Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Extended Stay Miami
Miami Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.