We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Alternative! in the Gables!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo Wine Bar

Cibo Wine Bar
45 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305.442.4925
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cibo Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 274 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Cibo Wine Bar will bring authentic rustic Italian flare blended with a vibrant nightlife and promises to be the new hot spot on the Miracle Mile. Scheduled to open in late October 2011, this Italian eatery and wine bar, created by the Liberty Entertainment Group, will offer traditional Italian fare in a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. With Liberty Group at the helm for their second venue in Miami, the attention to detail will be flawless and the food delicious. The space, like the food it presents, will be designed to evoke a sense of unpretentious sophistication, of elegant rusticity. Every detail, every piece of furniture, every bite, will be finely crafted with true materials. The space will be more than anything...sincere.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Italian Alternative! in the Gables!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Love this happening Italian Bistro....in Coral Gables impressed by the service, the management , fresh fish!! !They really know how to handle the crazy cowd..friday night prime time....noisy!.Top Guy Gaeta, runs a great show!!.....because is a great show...of mix'crowd....menu is large and they have fresh dentice(snapper) and great calamari!! good para and limited wine list...with a young smiley staff!! effective service !! no doubt!! give it a shot!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    78
    42
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Upscale Olive Garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited Cibo recently and were unimpressed with the quality of food and service.

First off the good part: the house wine by the glass was very reasonably priced, the salads were generous portions and lastly, definitely the highlight of the meal, the bread that they serve was exceptional.

Now for the bad news: it took quite a while before our server came by, he seemed to be overwhelmed-I assume that he had too many tables. We ordered the calamari appetizer and all four of our group found it to be inedible- consistency of shoe leather with not much more taste. They did take it back and remove it from our bill. As for our entrees, every person in or group thought that the food was ok, but nothing special. Prices for this were ok, but our conclusion as a group was that Cibo is merely an upscale Olive Garden, with more atmosphere.

All around Cibo has some potential: nice atmosphere and fantastic bread. The other issues can be improved with better local management.

Lastly, there was a young lady doing her bit as a wine fetcher on the trapeze inside of the glass enclosed wine room, which was close to where we were sitting. Unfortunately, in the middle of our dinner, it appears that the harness holding her up broke while she was upside down and she crashed to the brick floor head first. Fire rescue came and took her out in a strectcher; hopefully she was ok, but certainly she must have had at least a concussion as she was knocked by the intial fall. Needless to say this just added to an already so so experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went on a Friday night (reservations recommended), the place was nicely full but not uncomfortably so. You could find seats at the bar while you wait for your table. The décor and ambiance is beautiful. Very nice crowd, no loud music. The bar area has a nice size and the wine vault is made of glass, when you order a bottle the waitress gets on a strap and is lifted to select the bottle - a nice different touch, I thought. I ordered the mushroom risotto and it was hands down the best one I've had in a while. A rich thick texture and you could actually taste the mushroom flavor unlike others I've had. We also ordered the veal Milanese. It's served with a few small roasted potatoes and spinach, but the veal is HUGE! we shared both plates and it worked out perfect. Prices are very good for the portion sizes. The have a full bar and a good wine selection. We didn't have desert as we were full after those portions. The service was EXCELLENT and they were very accommodating in getting us a table without reservations. They have nice outdoor seating facing Miracle Mile as well, but perhaps I will try that in the winter when you can actually sit outside in Miami! I highly recommend this place for couples dining, dining with friends and even for parties. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food was better than average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was better than average but not quite "very good." At least the dishes we tried. But I suspect that we'd like other dishes on the expansive menu, as the flavors were good. Dessert (choc. mousse) was also good. Good service. Neat part of town. Would like to see it during the day when the Miracle Mile shops are open.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

During Miami Spice we took advantage of the special menu and it was fabulous. The roasted chicken was done to perfection, the tiny meat balls were out of this world and the tiramissu exceptional and I don't usually like that desert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo Wine Bar also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Cibo Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibo Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.