We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Inn

Save Saved
You added Gables Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gables Inn
730 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
1 review
“Bates Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Don't stay. Sleep in your car! The curtains were okay, but I was afraid to touch them. The people in the parking lot scared me. We were only given one wash rag and one hand towel. We both would have enjoyed our own.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
11
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night as late & couldn't find anywhere else with a vacancy on the highway. Very noisy, door wouldn't close properly, couldn't plug sink . We aren't fussy but can't really say anything positive about this place. We had been travelling for 3 months & this was the worst place we stayed. Stayed on Miami Beach the night after for less money

Room Tip: Don't stay at the front as very noisy all night from the road & the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overpriced, old, ugly, loud, feels dirty - I could not sleep at all. I am not sure that it is even leagal to run a place like it. Don't ever go there.
It is disgrace to over poplw such place. We were scared all night long.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked this place because it was close to where my family was staying. I don't think you can find cheaper in the area. It seems to be in a pretty safe location, a little run down. The room was pretty clean, I did find some hair on the comforter, and I don't think it was cleaned to the standards of a high quality hotel. But for $100 a night in this area you can't expect much. The bed was rather uncomfortable as well. If you are looking at this place for a place to sleep for a short period of time I would recommend it. Anything other than that I would pay the extra $ to be more comfortable. The one real positive thing was the staff, they were very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took this motel because of the price and location but it is really terrible. It is very loud, located on main street. There is no lobby and when you exit your room you are directly at the street. It is very humid inside for some reason so all of my clothes stunk!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for about 8 days in June 2012, for my third stay in 2.5 years. As was true during my previous stays as well, I found this hotel to be very reasonably priced, and I found the hotel to be very safe, clean, cozy, quiet. and comfortable. And, I find the rooms to be quite spacious and airy, compared to other Florida hotels in this (inexpensive) price range.

The only problem that I will note that I have encountered on each stay here is that the WiFi coverage of the free WiFi system is quite spotty, and it seems that there are a number of rooms at the hotel where the WiFi signal is not strong enough to be usable. However, each time that I have encountered this problem, the hotel staffers have immediately offered to relocate me to a room with known solid and strong WiFi service. What the hotel staffers have repeatedly told me across the years regarding this problem with the WiFi is that several of their WiFi nodes/boxes are located on outside walls of the hotel, and that the damp salt air tends to quickly invaded the devices and cause corrosion, rendering them inoperable. This then results in weak WiFi signals in certain rooms in the hotel.

If and when I need to return to Coral Gables for my consulting work, I will not hesitate to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: If you need WiFi in your room, be sure to ask the front desk staff to put you in a room with good/pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We chose this as the nearest Place to the University as I had some business there before going of to The Keys for a few days of fun. Looked ok from the website photos, and ok from the outside. The place is a real through-back to the 50's and not in a good way. The rooms are spacious and the furniture furniture is dated, as is the decor overall. It is not the cleanest of places, and the toilet backed up when we were there, so had to move to another room, which was no better. The worst is the traffic noise from the South Dixie Highway. One of the wondows in the room is louvered and so all noise came through and maybe you are better of with a room at the back, but I found it intolerable. as you are right next to the busy highway. The breakfast is really nothing much to write home about, and you have to collect it from reception (bagels & coffee was all we got one morning), and you either take it to your room or attempt to eat it in their outside area, were you have to shout to be heard over the Highway noise. Will not stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Inn

Address: 730 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33143
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located, Miami jewel, now under new ownership and management that is determined to make your stay pleasant, memorable and affordable. Recently renovated to provide our guests with free Wi-Fi connection, a free breakfast and an outdoor area overlooking the University of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.