We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and very loud” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gables Inn to your Saves list
Gables Inn
730 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dated and very loud”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We chose this as the nearest Place to the University as I had some business there before going of to The Keys for a few days of fun. Looked ok from the website photos, and ok from the outside. The place is a real through-back to the 50's and not in a good way. The rooms are spacious and the furniture furniture is dated, as is the decor overall. It is not the cleanest of places, and the toilet backed up when we were there, so had to move to another room, which was no better. The worst is the traffic noise from the South Dixie Highway. One of the wondows in the room is louvered and so all noise came through and maybe you are better of with a room at the back, but I found it intolerable. as you are right next to the busy highway. The breakfast is really nothing much to write home about, and you have to collect it from reception (bagels & coffee was all we got one morning), and you either take it to your room or attempt to eat it in their outside area, were you have to shout to be heard over the Highway noise. Will not stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    8
    6
    14
See reviews for
12
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

my wife and I enjoyed staying at the gable inn because of the excellent location
clean and peacefull , staff was nice ,the breakfast was good

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This place looks great from the outside and is in a fantastic location. We did not have a reservation, we were walk ins. At $79/night + tax for two people, it is overpriced. When we first got to the room it seemed okay, large room with TV and itty bitty fridge. Sink was separate from toilet and shower, AC worked well. So we plopped ourselves on the bed and relaxed for a while. About half an hour later I decided to take a shower. In the bathtub there were about 10 dead ants with wings. It looked like maybe the tub had been sprayed with pesticide resulting in the carnage I found. At first I thought not a big deal, at least they spray for bugs. But then I found a few live ones crawling around the bathroom including one on my foot as I was getting ready to shower, and upon closer inspection more dead ones on the floor and even on the towels. The hotel has a policy of no refunds after 15 minutes so that combined with the fact we were exhausted led us to suck it up and just stay there. The bed was hard, even my husband thought so, and the pillows (three) were super flat. I had to double mine up to make it comfortable. Comforter was satiny soft on top, but itchy and scratchy underneath, and the sheets, while they basically looked clean, felt grainy and dirty. Yes, there is a lot of traffic and train noise, but it didn't bother us. We were disappointed especially with what we paid for the room, and would not recommend this place or stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I wish i didn't have to choose how many circles. It should be none. I saw the picture on the internet looked clean and nice. We were so disappointed the air conditioning was a wall unit we had reservations NO turned on the air it was 95 to 100 degrees in the room. when we arrived at 10:00pm with our 3 children 11, 4, 10 months. the room didn't cool down until 1:30am. Next morning all the clothes in the suitcase were damp because of the humidity in the room. My husband tried to take a shower NO water pressure at all tub was filthy. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Spend the extra money to stay somewhere else we checkd out the very next day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed here because we had been driving for a bit, were tired and could not find a room in one of the better places around. The room needs major updating, especially the bathroom. Staff was very nice, the breakfast was very enjoyable at the little outdoor patio.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I learned in September 2010 that I needed to travel to the Coral Gables area from Oct. 27 through Nov. 5. I have stayed in Coral Gables in the past (twice in the late 1990s), at a nice hotel in the north end, but a bit of research showed that the hotel in question has since changed hands and is now pretty expensive; I lost interest in it quickly.

So, I did a very comprehensive web search for god but relatively inexpensive hotels in the Coral Gables area, and I kept being drawn to the Gables Inn website. Within 12 hours of having completed my research, my gut sense told me to make a reservation only at the Coral Gables for my upcoming stay in the Miami area; I believe, if I remember correctly, that I prepaid for the stay online via the hotel website to get the cheapest rate.

My stay in the hotel turned out to be wonderful. This is definitely not a 5-star hotel, and it it is not priced as one either, but it provided all the basics, plus some nice amenities that I did not expect. The room was large and spacious and meticulously clean, and while the bathroom showed a bit of age, it was clean and very workable. The desk clerks and the owners were very friendly, as were other guests whom I sometimes bumped into in the lobby when I visited the front desk.

Some of the nights during my stay were rather chilly, and the heat pump portion of the window air conditoner/heater was more than adequate to keep my room very warm, despite the fact that I had windows on both sides of the room open a bit all day and all nite.

About the only negative thing that I can think of is that the room, when I first arrived, smelled rather strongly of chlorine bleach, and I assumed at first that this was likely due to the fact that the housecleaning staff perhaps scrubbed the sparkling tile floors with chlorine bleach (I dealt with the smell by opening the windows a bit.) However, I quickly noticed that the chlorine smell grew more intense after each of my morning showers, and a bit of snooping around and sniffing the tap water showed me that the local municipal tap water seemed to be heavily chlorinated, and that my morning showers were releasing sufficient chlorine gas into the room to create the smell. I guess that anyone who lives in a house that uses chlorinated municipal water would already be familiar with ths phenomenon, but it was all new to me, as I live in a pristine wilderness area in the Appalachian mountains in the mid-Atlantic coast, and our water is fresh unprocessed mountain well water, and so I was and am rather unfamiliar with heavily-chlorinated municipal water!

Before closing, I must also note that there is a great little Mexican taco/burrito joint located just a short walk to the north, and just a few yards further north is Don Pan, an excellent Venezualan bakery/breakfast/lunch cafe that is simply amazing. I walked to each of them almost every day for breakfast and lunch, and sometimes dinner as well.

Overall, I really liked this hotel, and I plan to stay here each time that I return to the Coral Gables area on my trips, and I happily informed the very friendly owners of the hotel (who seem to be two Indian brothers, one of them an engineer-turned-hotelier) of that fact as I checked out on my last morning before heading to the airport.

My memories of this hotel and of the immediate area are all positive, and I would recommend this hotel in a second to someone looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel in the Coral Gables area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Terrible hotel!! Complained at check out about bed bugs found in my bed after room service came, management only gave us $20 off and a appology. They Refused to give us a larger refund because of "maintenance expences". This came from the owner!!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoePalermoGM, General Manager at Gables Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear allme010,
I would like to express my apologies about your previous experience with us.
We appreciate you bringing the bed bugs concern to our attention; our pest control company reported after checking all areas of your stay that it was clear of any infestation and they experience similar incidents with people traveling from an infested area.
If your future plans will bring you to Miami, please give us the opportunity to restore your faith and confidence with us.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Inn

Address: 730 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33143
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located, Miami jewel, now under new ownership and management that is determined to make your stay pleasant, memorable and affordable. Recently renovated to provide our guests with free Wi-Fi connection, a free breakfast and an outdoor area overlooking the University of Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.