We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Tuscan Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 9

Route 9
1915 Ponce De Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Route 9 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 274 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Navarre & Majorca
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Genuine Tuscan Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Route 9 was suggested by Miami Friends. Does not look like much from the street and the interior is simple and non discript. However the food is the key and it was excellent. No spaghetti with red meat sauce here, but genuine Tuscan cooking with fresh produce and excellent service. Our delicious bread basket was kept full, wine glasses filled, and excellent presentation of great food. Best part of all was that the cost was not the typical Miami overpriced fare. Dinner for 4 with appetizers, wine, entrees, and dessert for $200. I was surprised at how good the food was and We would return. I recommend the peanut butter chocolate dessert! Baked goat cheese with olives was excellent. The menu changes often, so ask for recommendations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food and service in a while...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I decided to try out Route 9 tonight since my parents have been recommending it to us for some time now. I must say we were quite surprised not only by the great food, but by the fantastic service from our waiter! He had us laughing, and gave outstanding customer service. If only all of our outings in Miami had that combo, we would be more prone to eating out more! Clone him!..lol...As we will surely return soon!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“How could a place like this still be in business?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Service was non existent as our party was subjected to a totally inept wait staff and a 2 hour horror show of how not to run a successful restaurant: the keystone cops could have served us better;

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sflmom111
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique Menu and Super Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I have become regulars here, having tried their lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Everything is delish! For lunch, I love the grilled skirt steak with either the sweet potato or salt & pepper fries. For dinner, the duck and manchego turnover. The banana cream dessert is a must. The eggs benedict and brioche french toast are our favs for brunch. You also have to try the maple sticky buns - they are sinful.
Route 9 also has a really nice wine list.
Service is always wonderful and the atmosphere is relaxed and pleasant. We usually go by ourselves, but when we have our kids, they always make them feel welcome, as well. I highly recommend Route 9.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food! Very Creative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We visited Route 9 on Sunday for Brunch for a friends birthday. We loved the place when we walked it just the right size and bright yet warm and inviting. We fell in love with the menu when we started to read it and ordered a little of everything. The Burrata was delicious with the mix of fig spread and arugula yummy. I had the Eggs Benedict which also were delicious. We had the French Toast for the table and it was done just right. Over all the food was excellent. The only complaint was the service. It started out very bumpy as it took 30 minutes for us to be attended but once we were it was smooth sailing. Beware though they use Heavy Cream as creamer for the coffee which when poured on hot coffee has an oily and clumpy look. I would recommend asking for milk instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 9 also viewed

 

Been to Route 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.