We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables to your Saves list
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the heart of Coral Gables and if that location suits the reason for your visit then this is certainly an excellent choice for your stay. There are tons of great restaurants within easy walking distance, Miracle Mile is a fun, happening street, and it's a very easy trip to/from the airport. The service is definitely the highlight of the Westin -- valet, front desk, room service, concierge, housekeeping, they were all helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable.

The problem with the placed is that it wasn't built as a hotel and that makes for an awkward layout. The "entrance" is off a narrow two-lane street without a driveway which makes it very difficult and stressful to pull up in front and drop your bags off. Getting your car during a busy time of day is similarly difficult; but I want to emphasize that the guys do a terrific job under these conditions. You don't walk enter the hotel lobby but take an escalator to the next floor and then walk back to the small check-in desk. Not a problem, just unusual. The desk was very helpful in getting us situated and helped straighten out some confusion. The rooms were nice but in general the place really needs the renovation they have planned for this summer. Be aware that some of the 5th floor junior suites are duplexes with a very steep spiral staircase going up to the sleeping area -- not good for my 80 year-old mother who immediately turned around and asked for a different room. But the pool area is a nice place to hang out with very comfortable sitting areas and ample shade for those who don't want it. And the local restaurant scene is really good (try Season's 52).

Would I go back to the Westin after the reservation? Most likely depending on the point of the trip. If they can bring it up to the quality it deserves it will really be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Careful about the fifth floor duplex junior suites with steep spiral staircase -- not good for the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Greetings MEF303,

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for your kind words on our service, we truly strive to make sure that all of our guests feel as at home as possible and that truly begins with friendly smiles and a willingness to help. I am delighted to hear that our Front desk was able to fix the room confusion. We hope to see you again should your travels return you to Miami. Stay Inspired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    201
    92
    42
    28
See reviews for
103
137
31
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I've stayed here many times for a regular week-long work event. The staff are amazing and the location is great for a conference. Great shopping, restaurants, salons & conveniences all within a few minutes walk. Glad to hear about the upcoming renovation - the common areas are gorgeous and the rooms are all nicely sized and furnished.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Greetings Anne H,

Thank you for your kind words! Our staff truly strive to make every guest feel as at home as possible! I am glad to see that you were told about our renovation plans. We are excited to refresh our property and give our guest an even more rejuvenating stay. Should your travels return you to Miami, we would be delighted to see you again. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Luxury hotel, nice service, professionnal, very nice room, very professionnal front desk greeting people with hot and cold drinks plus fruits on a nearby table. Only issue is the parking if you come with a car. It will cost you 26$ a night, thru the hotel, which i did. The car came back with a scratch on the boot, as if someone had scratched it with a key or something sharp. Weird...i realized after leaving, so got no explanation. Not much to do in Coral Gables, but it's a beautiful town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello Kondratieff,

Thank you for gracing us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay was refreshing and that your enjoyed everything our lovely neighborhood of Coral Gables has to offer. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we would be delighted to have you again. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have stayed at the Westin Coral Gables many times, and it is has always been a positive experience. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the front desk is always friendly and helpful, and they make an excellent mojito in the bar (but pricey).

West Colonnade occupies only the upper floors of an old bank building. The common areas are spectacular!

The hotel has an unusual layout (have to go up an escalator to get to reception), and some rooms feel like they are a mile away from the front desk.

If you have business in Coral Gables, this is a great place to stay. However, if you are visiting Miami as a tourist or for beach time, you should consider something closer to the action.

Room Tip: Ask reception for a room that is not too far away (but not too close to the elevators - they can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Greetings John F,

Thank you for your kind words. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guest feel as rejuvenated and refreshed as possible. We hope to continue to create positive experiences for you during your time in Miami. Stay Inspired!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The problem with the Westin chain is that the quality of the properties is VERY inconsistent. One hotel is totally updated and modern, the next needs a lot of work. The Westin Colonade is the latter. The room was dingy and the air conditioning left the room very musty and almost moist. The staff is very efficient and friendly, however, and the service is very good. Westin obviously trains its staff well. They should spend some time on making their facilities uniformly attractive, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Greetings RBAceo,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are delighted to share with you that we do have a full renovation set to begin this summer and set to end in October which is set to make our Westin shine as much as our employees. We hope to see you again should your travels return you to Miami. Please feel free to contact me should you have any special requests with any future stays. Dwelch@westincoralgables.com. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had a room with direct access on the balcony, where the pool is. I got to use it a few times. The weather was great and the furniture was soooo comfortable. It felt like a small piece if heaven!

The room itself was very clean and decorated in a modern way.

Only wish the wifi had been free in the rooms (it's only free in the lobby). I still don't understand when hotels don't provide free wifi, seems like a basic necessity for business travellers, and to me it appears very cheap to not provide it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello EmmCee,

We are delighted to see that you had such a heavenly stay with us. Shouldyour travels return you to Miami, we would be delighted to create more great stays for you. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Have stayed here a few times for both business and pleasure, and can say first hand, I have never been disappointed with the service. From the valet workers to the waited staff, they were welcoming and genuine. Specifically, Gyvanni, who worked in valet was exceptionally attentive and hard working. Aside from his family-friendly ways, our car was returned quickly and easily no matter how long the wait.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Greetings Jil S,

Thank you for your kind words! We here at The Westin Colonnade strive to make sure every guest feels as relaxed and at home as possible. I will be sure to pass the recognition of our great valet attendant to the General Manager. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, it would be our pleasure to ensure more flawless stays for you. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.