We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Service Lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Service Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Hotel is very nice, rooms were clean and comfortable. Service was not as good as another hotel I have stayed at in the area. The housekeeping staff was wonderful, and the woman working outside at the parking desk was very helpful, although I do not remember her name. This hotel has a great location, but as far as service goes, it could take a few lessons from one of its close competitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Lakefront,

Thank you for your kind words! We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guest feel as tranquil as possible. I have passed your kind words along to the proper management as a key to empowering our great staff. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we would be delighted to assist your in making great memories.


Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    172
    84
    40
    26
See reviews for
85
122
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel parking was pricey at $28/day, but there is parking on the street several streets over. We enjoyed our stay but the room provided had a amazing view of a brick wall of the adjoining building. The location was nice, off the beaten path but still accessible to great restaurants and clubs. We enjoy a leisurely stroll or two during the breezy nights to take in the local vibes. Even though we did not spend a lot of time checking out the hotel amenities, I'd give this hotel a 7 overall (above average). Close to a few shopping outlets and malls, and a short drive away from the beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of downtown or facing the north. The rooms along the backside all come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello W T,

Thank you for your gift of feedback. It is through reviews that we are able to inspire our staff to elevate a guest’s stay. We apologize for your less than perfect view. Should your travels bring you back to Miami for your next anniversary or any special occasion we would be delighted to see you again and elevate your stay to its fullest potential, feel free to contact our SPG Guest Relations Ambassador before your next stay.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I continue to stay here often, but...
1. Hotel parking is $26 per day even though two municipal lots are within a block of the hotel and cost $12 per 24 hours. Paying both the parking staff and hotels porters for bags is ridiculous, but continues. I roll my bags from the municipal lots.
2. The hotel breakfasts, a strong point, are now discontinued in favor of SushiSamba, I was there the first day and waited 45 minutes for a poorly prepared omelette and not-too-good coffee. The breakfast coupon will not allow juice $5, coffee $3 and oatmeal $12 without exceeding the $18 allowance. There are few healthy options but lots of pseudo-chic things. Skip it and go elsewhere for breakfast. Sad.
3. The strong points remain: it is beautiful; the rooms are newly sanitized so no more musty doors; the new fitness facility is basic but works well; unbeatable customer service; free sparkling wine in the early evening; free coffee and breads in the AM.

All in all I've adapted to the idiosyncrasies and continue to enjoy the hotel. It is sad about the breakfast and parking, but the hotel has made it clear they've no intention of improving either of those. Will I shift to the Hyatt? I do not yet know.

Room Tip: High floors away from the central core are quieter, especially on weekends when there are weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spending one night passing through to Key West. The hotel is very beautiful as soon as you step inside and throughout to the room. We are SPG gold member and have stayed at many Westin hotels. I have to say that this one is on our top 5. Our room was specious and all the amenities was perfect. The only negative thing I experienced was that I didn't know that we had to pay for parking and had acted surprised. The lady who checked us in became very snooty and proceeded to tell us that everyone pays for parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello pamseattle,

Thank you for your kind words. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to impress all guests. We apologize for the confusion on parking. Coral Gables is the heart of the business district and public parking isn't very common. None the less I will touch base with our front desk and assure that when communicating this information that it is clear and explained in a better manner. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Miami.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As others have mention, the Coral Gables location can't be beat. The hotel is a stone's throw from the restaurants and shopping of the Miracle Mile and not far from several major office buildings.

The property itself is just OK. It occupies several floors of an office building and there is a long walk to some of the rooms. The hotel is going through some renovations and a few of the rooms (esp. the Westin Workout rooms) are nice, but many could use a serious update.

Service has been pretty solid on the basics (room service, getting the car out, etc) but the concierge has not impressed and the hotel doesn't really go above and beyond...

Overall, a solid hotel for the area but definitely not worth a special trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Biztraveller98,


Thank you for your gift of feedback. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guests experience special. We do have a great new Westin Workout room which also comes with Westin work out gear that can be loaned to the guests upon request. Thank you for your kind words about our room service and valet. Rest assure that this will be shown to the proper management to use as tools for improvement. If your travels should bring you back to Miami, We would be delighted to see you again.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Westin is obviously sub-par to any Westin regulars. No hotel restaurant or bar is a negative, as is the minutes-long walk to most rooms. Rooms are well insulated from outside noise, non-insulated internally. We were woken up multiple times throughout the night by returning wedding and birthday revelers. Hotel security/front desk was not useful. There was a dirty glass on our balcony at check-in and a used Westin shampoo bottle left in the shower caddy, right under the fresh rolled-up washcloth. Led by seemingly inexperienced management and while not a bad place to stay, this Westin was simply a disappointment as Westins go. Extra Starwood points did not make up for an unsatisfactory stay.

On the plus side, great location if you have business in the Gables. Many excellent restaurants on the same street and nearby throughout the Gables area. World-class boutique shopping in the Gables as well - check out Merrick Place. Although I have to say, looking out from the pool deck, the Biltmore beckons and offers the same Gables amenities in a world-class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to an elevator and away from large parties such as weddings or birthdays. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear IslandhopperOne,


Thank you for gracing us with your feedback. We apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect. So sorry for any confusion, we have the newly added Sushi Samba which is currently open for lunch and dinner, it is a unique blend of Japanese, Brazilian and Peruvian cuisine they are also perfecting the breakfast menu for future use. We will be using your experiences with your room condition as a tool for improvement. If your travels should ever bring you back to Miami we would be delighted to see to it that your stay is flawless.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a pretty hotel with a bit of an odd layout and, as others mentioned, there is no hotel bar or restaurant.

The good:
The common areas are pretty and the front desk staff was very welcoming. My room was also nice with a very comfortable bed. I overlooked the pool area which is actually a rooftop deck that's really pretty - covered with trees, white lounging couches and beds and a pool and hot tub. The workout room was also well-equipped and the location was good (within walking distance to bars, shopping and restaurants).

The bad:
On night 1 I woke up from a dead sleep at 12:30 am by a bunch of loud young girls that were partying in the room across the hall. I had to call security on two different occasions to quiet them down. Security did respond quickly. On night 2 there was a dog being kept in a nearby room and I heard him barking quite a bit before I went to bed then I woke up around 2:00 am when a bunch of loud guys came into their rooms yelling and slamming doors. I'm guessing they passed out after that because thankfully I didn't hear them again. Housekeeping never came and made up my room after my first night there. I had to call down at 4:00 pm and have someone come tidy up for me. Not sure what housekeeping did because the same 3 champagne glasses sat on the floor outside the loud girls' room the entire 3 days I was there.

I may stay there again if I catch a lower priced stay during the off season but I won't actively seek out a stay there going forward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello EPLWV69,

Thank you for your kind words about the front desk staff. The Westin Colonnade has a restaurant that has recently opened called Sushi Samba, it features lunch and dinner. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay was less than perfect. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guests experience refreshing and relaxing. If you would like to share any further details to assist us with elevating our guests stay please contact me at dwelch@westincoralgables.com.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.