We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables to your Saves list
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel parking was pricey at $28/day, but there is parking on the street several streets over. We enjoyed our stay but the room provided had a amazing view of a brick wall of the adjoining building. The location was nice, off the beaten path but still accessible to great restaurants and clubs. We enjoy a leisurely stroll or two during the breezy nights to take in the local vibes. Even though we did not spend a lot of time checking out the hotel amenities, I'd give this hotel a 7 overall (above average). Close to a few shopping outlets and malls, and a short drive away from the beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of downtown or facing the north. The rooms along the backside all come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello W T,

Thank you for your gift of feedback. It is through reviews that we are able to inspire our staff to elevate a guest’s stay. We apologize for your less than perfect view. Should your travels bring you back to Miami for your next anniversary or any special occasion we would be delighted to see you again and elevate your stay to its fullest potential, feel free to contact our SPG Guest Relations Ambassador before your next stay.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    185
    86
    40
    27
See reviews for
91
130
29
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I continue to stay here often, but...
1. Hotel parking is $26 per day even though two municipal lots are within a block of the hotel and cost $12 per 24 hours. Paying both the parking staff and hotels porters for bags is ridiculous, but continues. I roll my bags from the municipal lots.
2. The hotel breakfasts, a strong point, are now discontinued in favor of SushiSamba, I was there the first day and waited 45 minutes for a poorly prepared omelette and not-too-good coffee. The breakfast coupon will not allow juice $5, coffee $3 and oatmeal $12 without exceeding the $18 allowance. There are few healthy options but lots of pseudo-chic things. Skip it and go elsewhere for breakfast. Sad.
3. The strong points remain: it is beautiful; the rooms are newly sanitized so no more musty doors; the new fitness facility is basic but works well; unbeatable customer service; free sparkling wine in the early evening; free coffee and breads in the AM.

All in all I've adapted to the idiosyncrasies and continue to enjoy the hotel. It is sad about the breakfast and parking, but the hotel has made it clear they've no intention of improving either of those. Will I shift to the Hyatt? I do not yet know.

Room Tip: High floors away from the central core are quieter, especially on weekends when there are weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spending one night passing through to Key West. The hotel is very beautiful as soon as you step inside and throughout to the room. We are SPG gold member and have stayed at many Westin hotels. I have to say that this one is on our top 5. Our room was specious and all the amenities was perfect. The only negative thing I experienced was that I didn't know that we had to pay for parking and had acted surprised. The lady who checked us in became very snooty and proceeded to tell us that everyone pays for parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello pamseattle,

Thank you for your kind words. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to impress all guests. We apologize for the confusion on parking. Coral Gables is the heart of the business district and public parking isn't very common. None the less I will touch base with our front desk and assure that when communicating this information that it is clear and explained in a better manner. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Miami.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As others have mention, the Coral Gables location can't be beat. The hotel is a stone's throw from the restaurants and shopping of the Miracle Mile and not far from several major office buildings.

The property itself is just OK. It occupies several floors of an office building and there is a long walk to some of the rooms. The hotel is going through some renovations and a few of the rooms (esp. the Westin Workout rooms) are nice, but many could use a serious update.

Service has been pretty solid on the basics (room service, getting the car out, etc) but the concierge has not impressed and the hotel doesn't really go above and beyond...

Overall, a solid hotel for the area but definitely not worth a special trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Biztraveller98,


Thank you for your gift of feedback. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guests experience special. We do have a great new Westin Workout room which also comes with Westin work out gear that can be loaned to the guests upon request. Thank you for your kind words about our room service and valet. Rest assure that this will be shown to the proper management to use as tools for improvement. If your travels should bring you back to Miami, We would be delighted to see you again.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Westin is obviously sub-par to any Westin regulars. No hotel restaurant or bar is a negative, as is the minutes-long walk to most rooms. Rooms are well insulated from outside noise, non-insulated internally. We were woken up multiple times throughout the night by returning wedding and birthday revelers. Hotel security/front desk was not useful. There was a dirty glass on our balcony at check-in and a used Westin shampoo bottle left in the shower caddy, right under the fresh rolled-up washcloth. Led by seemingly inexperienced management and while not a bad place to stay, this Westin was simply a disappointment as Westins go. Extra Starwood points did not make up for an unsatisfactory stay.

On the plus side, great location if you have business in the Gables. Many excellent restaurants on the same street and nearby throughout the Gables area. World-class boutique shopping in the Gables as well - check out Merrick Place. Although I have to say, looking out from the pool deck, the Biltmore beckons and offers the same Gables amenities in a world-class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to an elevator and away from large parties such as weddings or birthdays. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear IslandhopperOne,


Thank you for gracing us with your feedback. We apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect. So sorry for any confusion, we have the newly added Sushi Samba which is currently open for lunch and dinner, it is a unique blend of Japanese, Brazilian and Peruvian cuisine they are also perfecting the breakfast menu for future use. We will be using your experiences with your room condition as a tool for improvement. If your travels should ever bring you back to Miami we would be delighted to see to it that your stay is flawless.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a pretty hotel with a bit of an odd layout and, as others mentioned, there is no hotel bar or restaurant.

The good:
The common areas are pretty and the front desk staff was very welcoming. My room was also nice with a very comfortable bed. I overlooked the pool area which is actually a rooftop deck that's really pretty - covered with trees, white lounging couches and beds and a pool and hot tub. The workout room was also well-equipped and the location was good (within walking distance to bars, shopping and restaurants).

The bad:
On night 1 I woke up from a dead sleep at 12:30 am by a bunch of loud young girls that were partying in the room across the hall. I had to call security on two different occasions to quiet them down. Security did respond quickly. On night 2 there was a dog being kept in a nearby room and I heard him barking quite a bit before I went to bed then I woke up around 2:00 am when a bunch of loud guys came into their rooms yelling and slamming doors. I'm guessing they passed out after that because thankfully I didn't hear them again. Housekeeping never came and made up my room after my first night there. I had to call down at 4:00 pm and have someone come tidy up for me. Not sure what housekeeping did because the same 3 champagne glasses sat on the floor outside the loud girls' room the entire 3 days I was there.

I may stay there again if I catch a lower priced stay during the off season but I won't actively seek out a stay there going forward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello EPLWV69,

Thank you for your kind words about the front desk staff. The Westin Colonnade has a restaurant that has recently opened called Sushi Samba, it features lunch and dinner. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay was less than perfect. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guests experience refreshing and relaxing. If you would like to share any further details to assist us with elevating our guests stay please contact me at dwelch@westincoralgables.com.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

By Westin standards, this is not a Westin. Located in the heart of Coral Gables, the hotel is a stone throw from "Miracle Mile" which is a mile long strip of shops and restaurants. The office building complex (called the Colonnade) has a Morton's and Sushi Samba.

What makes this Westin odd is that is it is part of an office building complex occupying only 5 floors. There is no bar and no restaurant. In fact you cannot even go to Morton's to get a glass of wine since they don't allow it. They do have an odd happy hour as well pouring cheap champagne (at least they should pour wine).

There is a breakfast room that would be better off closed. The buffet is bad and the room is post 1900.

The workout room on the second floor is sub-standard for a Westin. However, the rooftop pool is the highlight of the hotel. Nice courtyard feeling and plenty of chairs. But since it is in Miami, there are plenty of smokers and no ash trays. Hence, butts all over the place.

Rooms are spacious but the Heavenly bedding was old and needed new pillows. A/C was good. There are no balcony's and the windows are small.

Overall, it you need to be in Coral Gables, best location and there is a Starbuck's across the street for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello LGSpartan,

Thank you for your feedback, it is through reviews likes yours that we educate ourselves about areas that could be improved to help elevate guest experience. I am pleased to announce that Sushi Samba is our newest addition to the Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables, providing a fusion of both Brazilian and Japanese cuisine in which we are currently serving lunch and dinner and breakfast is soon to come. In regards to our complimentary champagne hour which toasts to the arrival of our guests beginning at 5PM, we appreciate your suggestion and will take it into consideration. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make sure every guests feels welcomed and at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.