We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel, awful experience, good customer service...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Cool hotel, awful experience, good customer service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First of all, I really liked the hotel. It's pretty unique, I had a neat two-level room (with a small spiral starway from floor to floor), and all fo the normal comfortable Starwood amenities like the bed and shower.

Unfortunately, the hotel missed my wake-up call, and as a result, I missed a morning flight home, and had to go through several hoops to get rescheduled on a later flight.

This is normally the sort of thing that drives me absolutely crazy, but I was very impressed with Kathy Garcia, the Supervisor, who helped talk me down, and provided some excellent client engagement and understanding, and ultimately made it up to me. This is a classic case where mistakes of course can happen, and the way that a hotel handles it makes all the difference. And kathy did a great job.

So, all in all, even though something bad happened, their service and the hotel itself is enough to justify me giving it another try. And I leave impressed with the service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jeremymmason,
Thank you for your review. I’m glad that you liked our Bi-Level Suite, and our Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower. My sincere apologies for the missed wake up call, we have addressed this accordingly with the department manager. Thank you for mentioning Kathy Garcia. I am delighted to hear that she was able to impress you with her professionalism and service recovery. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Miami!
Be Well,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    174
    85
    40
    26
See reviews for
85
124
28
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This property really rates a "fair" as I found it less than average. Certainly not what I expected for the brand or the location. The common areas are nice but the room was tired and in need of updating. Small, cramped bathroom. Very, very slow elevator service. The fitness center is small and substandard for any hotel let alone a "Westin Workout". Not even a basic set of free weights. Housekeeping skipped cleaning my room during the afternoon despite a specific request and 4 hours to do so. Parking fee is excessive for Coral Gables. Overall, just disappointed. I'm a loyal SPG Member (Plat) and expected much better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear SF2World,
My apologies that your stay in Coral Gables was not up to standards. We will be upgrading our Westin Workout room in 2013 which will include free weights. And we are currently updating one of our Hotel Guest Elevator which once is complete will be much faster. We do have signs throughout the Hotel for our Guest to use our Service Elevator. Our Valet parking prices are $24 per night which is reasonable for our area. Thank you very much for your feedback, I have spoken with our Management Team and we will take the necessary action and utilize your shared experience to enhance our service. We value your loyalty very much, please reach out to me directly at rsoto@westincoralgables.com, I will personally ensure your next visit is a refreshing one.
Be Well,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Everyone from staff to valet were so attentive and curtious. I am definitely going back.. Had an awesome weekend with my friends. The view was amazing, the people were friendly. Just loved it. The clubs are close by. I was given fresh coffee at all times, something i cant live without.

Room Tip: Overall perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you Carmen G for your kind comments and glad to hear you had a great stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Westin Colonnade in Coral Gables.
Be Well,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The customer service definitely meets the Westin standard. Front desk staff was helpful and professional. The bed was heavenly. There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel. However, the hotel's decor and vibe reminded me of sweet little old ladies. It seemed like the hotel was renovated in the last five years, so I cannot understand why gold fixtures and faux marble were abundant.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments about our customer service and our front desk staff. Our goal is to strive for you to leave here more refreshed than you arrived! I’m glad you enjoyed our proximity to the many restaurants, and our Heavenly Bed. Our hotel is attached to one of the first buildings constructed in Coral Gables build in 1926 by the City's founder George Merrick. The Hotel itself is not near that age, but was designed to incorporate the luxury of time past, along with modern luxuries of today.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Coral Gables!
Be Well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent a night at westin on the labor day right before we flew out and it was very good. We got upgraded. Hotel was not crowded at all,I guess because everyone was away on holidays. Swimming pool and lounge area were nice. Bed was really big and comfy! We didn't wanna wake up! Staff were friendly. Would def go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Chris H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m delighted to hear that your stay was a relaxing one, and that you enjoyed the pool, lounge, and our Heavenly Westin bed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Coral Gables!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed the night at this hotel. It was ok and all the staff we met were very helpful. However, the room was very tired, as if it had not been looked at for months and it had that sour damp smell that rooms get when the AC runs at 63 degrees. The sofa was stained and smelled nasty. There was no safe for valuables in the room which meant we had to take our passports etc out with us. I found that odd. The mini bar did not work and so we did not use it. The valet parking is expensive but then I have a serious prejudice against all valet parking.

The location is great. Just don't expect it to be "really" Westin standard. It needs a serious update.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Mr. CaymanIcecream, thank you for taking the time to give us a review about your recent stay. Although it’s not great to hear that you had issues with your stay we appreciate your feedback which allows us to improve. My apologies for the inconveniences you encountered with the AC, mini bar, sofa, and musty smell of the room. We are looking into this right away. Our Valet parking prices are $22 per night which is reasonable for our area, and still lower other hotels. Although 98% of our rooms have complimentary safes, we also have a few available free of charge at our front office. We value your business and always strive for you to leave here more refreshed than you arrived! Please contact me personally when your travels bring you back to Coral Gables

Be Well,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Colonnade in Coral Gables on business. I ended up having a few changes in logistical needs due to some unexpected meetings and the staff was amazing in helping me manage my bags and car. In particular, Kamal L, Orquidea R, Arturo R, and Bryant B were wonderful, courteous and I would recommend others to stay at this location with the level of service from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you rojasam56 for your kind comments regarding our Valet staff. I have shared your comments and our valet parking team are most appreciative that you mentioned them by name. We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin when your travels bring you back to Coral Gables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.