We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables to your Saves list
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you are going to be in Coral Gables - or even the MIA area, stay here. It's worth the 10 minute cab ride from the airport to stay in one of the best hotels in the country. A beautiful building in a wonderful place, with wonderful people as hosts. The hotel is not small, but it feels boutique. The staff WORKS at being helpful and they have a genuine friendliness that a guest can feel.
The location can't be beat: in the center of Coral Gables great dining and shopping. For business travelers there's a Morton's in the hotel and a Ruths Chris two blocks away! This is the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCoralGables, General Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thomas B thanks so much for your kind words....my ambassadors love to serve and I am glad it shows. If you return in the Fall you must try Sushi Samba which is our new Three Meal restaurant...it is sure to compete with the Best that Coral Gables has to offer. Thanks again for your comments and Be Well!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    176
    86
    40
    26
See reviews for
88
126
28
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I never write reviews, then again I have never been so consistently pleased by a hotel!

............being a world traveler with over 30 years of international travel and hotel occupancy I rate the Westin Colonnade in Coral Gables, #1 in my books. Great service, great staff and a great location.

Every stay has been amazing, consistent, comfortable, good value and truly dependable.

Not to mention the good food in the restaurant (there is an amazing Japaneses restaurant right across the street as well) and the fact that the pool and the gym are looking out on the city of Coral Gables (just the right size pool).

I have, and will continue to, recommend Westin Colonnade to all of my associates and friends.

Truly thank you for your Hotel!

Room Tip: I have slept in all the different rooms and they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCoralGables, General Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
George B we are so pleased that you are pleased! Thanks again for taking the time to review the Hotel in such a postive light and we look forward to your continued loyalty. Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

From the very first opening of the car door stand by. The customer service starts, smiles from every one and a friendly welcome. The hotel employes could not stop helping you. The Hotel offers a feeling of true class the finis work to all the wall finishings. The room there is noithing less than Great I walked in and found myself relaxing so much that I lost 4 hrs. The Hotel is so well located great shopping and restraunts the term shop to your wife drops can easley be done.

I plan on staying at this location when ever I travel to Coral Gables for businessand and plan staying there this fall with my wife.

Room Tip: overlook the city higher floor like the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCoralGables, General Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
SteveO, thanks so much for your kind comments about the WestinCoral Gables, the ambassadors, the finishes and the great location! We look forward to hosting your wife and yourself in the fall and if I can be of any Personal assistance please contact me directly. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We actually stayed here pre-cruise and it was amazing!! Not only were we upgraded to a room with TWO balconies, but the manager also sent us a bottle of wine and a fruit & cheese platter along with a really nice note! We loved the hotel, the staff, and the location. I would not hesitate to stay here again and we are actually looking to book again for next fall. The rooftop pool area was so beautiful and the fitness center was really nice as well with great views. The whole hotel was just lovely and there was so much to do within walking distance. LOVED the Westin in Coral Gables!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same floor as the pool/fitness area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights for business purposes paid by my firm. The main entrance suggests that the stay would be marvelous. A nice restaurant on the left, a escalator and elevators right positioned, a fair service at reception. However, getting to the room was hard, given the long walk. Actually those large corridors turning to the right and left suggests that you went through a labyrint. Room was quite spacious, but revealed that the hotel is aging. Some renovation would fit perfectly. It is fine that the room is supposed to be classical, but bathroom for example should be painted. The control remote for the TV set and the key of the bar were missing in my room. Ok, nothing is perfect, and I did not mind asking for them, since I usually do not watch TV and don´t have snacks during the night. Nevertheless, these little mistakes prove that the hotel is not all that it pretends to be.

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms near the elevators to avoid long walks with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCoralGables, General Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Silvio, thanks so much for your gift of Feedback! Our hotel is attached to one of the first buildings in Coral Gables built in 1926 by the City's founder George Merrick. The Hotel itself is not near that age but was designed to incorporate the luxury of time past along with modern luxuries of today. I do admit our halls can be a little long but the rooms tend to be very peaceful and rejuventating within. My apoologies for both the remote and refreshment center key i will discuss with my ambassadors. I do hope if your travels bring you back to Coral Gables that you will contact me directly and I wil personally ensure a Refreshing stay!

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

At the arrival they give us a nice upgrade to a townhouse suite. Nice but the airco is not powerfull enough for the first floor too.

Bathroom is so small, never seen it like this in this category of hotels.

Great staff at the reception, also the concierge.

But the swimming pool area is nice to see, but it could be better. You have a nice area to read in nice sofa's and a nice view. But it is not up to date, it is dirty also, I think there are pigeons in the area and you can see their s***, also on some seats. I was surprised there was a guy to check something and was looking to the s*** for a few minutes, he didn't do anything and was gone after a few minutes. Then a second guy was checking both pools but when I was in the wirhlpool, i saw something strange in it, what was the guy doing? And then a women was their to check the towels but the s*** was still there.

A few hours later I was again at the pool area and I was curious and it was still dirty.

I think you can find something better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCoralGables, General Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
My apologies for your recent stay in the Gables. Pidgeons are a problem at times on the pool deck but there is no reason that any "debris" left behind was not promptly attend too. Thanks for the comments about my Service express staff they get quite a bit of positive feedback, I am sorry the Townehouse upgrade was not what you expected. The square footage is nice but the bathrooms are a little tight in relation to the suite size. I do hope you will give the Westin another try in the future and if you do please reach out directly and i will be more than happy to make your next stay a most refreshing one. Thanks again and be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in this price range in Coral Gables, there are basically three choices: the famous Biltmore (built in 1926), the Hyatt Regency, and the Westin Colonnade. If you are interested in golf, tennis, the swimming pool, and/or staying in a historic landmark, then the Biltmore wins easily, as long as you are OK with the older and smaller rooms.

The Westin Colonnade is as central as you can get in Coral Gables, walking distance to many of Coral Gables' excellent restaurants, as well as a supermarket (4 blocks), Sears, three bookstores, and lots more. My room was clean and spacious, everything worked properly, and was reasonably priced for my group booking. The hotel has a small fitness center and pool that are available at no cost to guests. The staff was attentive, responsive, and friendly.

But WiFi in the guest room is an extortionate $13 or $18/night unless you have Platinum status in the Starwood frequent guest program, and valet parking is $24/day with in/out privileges (no self parking). If you want to use the computer in the business center, it works out to $23.80/hour.
So your final bill can be considerably higher than just the room rate plus various Dade County taxes.

Would I return to the Colonnade? Doubtful. Not because it's bad, but rather that the other two luxury hotels in Coral Gables are superior in their own different ways.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCoralGables, General Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Bluevoter,

Thanks for your recent comments regarding your stay here at the Westin in Coral Gables and I do appreciate the positive comments regarding my staff being so attentive and friendly, as well as the location of our Hotel. I do apologize that you felt we were adding too many add-ons for parking and internet. Our parking garage is not owned by the Hotel so we have little influence over the pricing there....as far as internet, I am sure at some point all major chains will stop charging for internet but at this time the full service hotels continue this practice to all but their Platinum customers.
If your travels bring you back to Coral Gables please reach out to me directly and I will personally insure your stay is a comfortable and refreshing one.
Thanks and Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.