We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Colonnade Coral Gables- Perfect for us.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Clifton Park, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Westin Colonnade Coral Gables- Perfect for us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My husband and I spent several days at the Westin Colannade Coral Gables and loved it. It is an elegant hotel and the staff was always courteous, accommodating and very friendly. We were given a beautiful room with a sitting area and everything was clean and pristine. My husband always looks because he has allergies to dust and mold.

The woman (Roxana) at the desk was very welcoming as were all the desk staff and the concierge (especially Umberto) were helpful with area restaurants and outings. I was having trouble with the navigation on my husband's phone because I was not familiar with it and the valet did everything on it for us. Very handy and helpful.

We were aware of the $24.95 valet parking fees with in and out privileges, which are not unusual for a 4* hotel. We went to the lower priced parking next door, but did not have in/out privileges so we stuck with the valet. Because it is in the city of Coral Gables there are not a lot of parking garages or areas. On the street parking requires you feed the meter.

The pool area was quiet with chaises and a hot tub. Water temperature was very comfortable. There really is no "shaded" area so be sure to bring your sun block. The was a real dip in the weather and it was chilly outside with winds (50's at night at high 60's in the morning). I suggested we go to pool area to read, dressed in long pants and long sleeve tops. ...figured the sun would keep us warm. the area was beautifully shielded from the wind and it got so warm we went upstairs to put on our bathing suits. It was great.

There is no cabana/food service by the pool, but there is a menu and phone on the wall. Once again, pricey...but expected in a 4-5* hotel. Outside the hotel you can see a Starbucks across the street and lots of eating places from Panera's to upscale busy restaurants..Italian, Continental, cuban etc.

The visit couldn't have been more perfect. Beautiful elegant hotel. We did not have a resort fee. They have several layers of internet fees starting at 12.95 per nights. I used my phone to check my emails which was perfect and free.

The area to walk around the hotel is quiet and friendly with beautiful Miracle Mile shops.
We did find one new small boutique restaurant called BuonGusto - opened for breakfast at 9 until 11 at night. We loved the dinner so much (with fresh mozarella shipped from italy and incredible pesto and pasta) we went there for breakfast and that was great too. My husband loves Tiramasu dessert and we have never tasted anything like this anywhere! The brought the chef over from Italy..We highly recommend this restaurant. Small, intimate and great food and service. It is on Miracle Mile about 1 1/2 blocks down from the Miracle Mile exit of the hotel. Turn left at the hotel exit and cross the street. It's in the middle of the next block. I just found their website. It is at 70 Miracle Mile. buongustocoralgables.com

There were wonderful places in the area to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was a short drive to Coconut Grove.

We loved the Westin Colonnade and plan to go back again.

Room Tip: We were able to get this hotel through Hotwire. We were superfriendly when we got to the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    170
    84
    40
    26
See reviews for
82
121
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

On our trips to Key West, we fly into Miami, stay overnight and then drive down to the Keys the following day. Because we use starpoints, we have been choosing The Westin for the past 2 trips and it's become something we look forward to. The hotel is beautiful and located on Miracle Mile so it's very convenient for shopping and for choosing restaurants. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated - starbucks coffee in the room is a nice touch and the toiletries smell great!

We love the in-room dining menu, too - geared toward healthy choices which is very nice after a day of traveling.

This time, we were given a room on the SPG preferred guests' floor and free internet which was really helpful (wifi is free only in the lobby area). The room was nice, a deluxe room with a seating area but our view opened out onto the pool and terrace (which meant people lounging by the pool could see into our room if we had the blinds open and vice versa..) It would have made some sense if the hotel room was designed so we had a separate entrance from our room onto the pool deck but since it didn't, it felt a bit voyeuristic - maybe for Miami-goers that's a plus but we didn't especially like it so we changed our room to one facing away from the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the SPG preferred floor are convenient bc they have the gym, fitness center and pool. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We were pretty much left to our own devices in this hotel - I can't remember seeing much of the staff. We are SPG platinum card holders so were upgraded to a deluxe type of room with a lounge area (note - not a suite as is prescribed) but the room was still nice and comfortable. Unfortunately the rooms on one side of the hotel have a horrible aspect over some carparks/ rooftops, so although the room had a small balcony, it wasn't a pleasant place to sit. I recommend asking for a room with a view over the Miracle Mile.

The housekeeper did an excellent job cleaning the room to a spotless standard, and the free Starbucks filter coffee in the room was a nice addition.

Also the valet staff were great, with a quick turnaround and always offering help for directions. They also gave us cold bottled water every time we collected our car.

The hotel itself is situated on the Miracle Mile which is a nice change of pace from staying at South Beach and also has an array of great restaurants at the hotel doorstep - Hillstone was our favourite.

There is a great rooftop pool which would be lovely on a hot day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Miracle Mile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is elegant and stylish. The room is spacious, esp the bathroom, which is an entire room in itself. Excellent decor, comfy beds, the setback was, we were given a very noisy room, on second floor, there were machinery noise going on the whole time, made worse by noisy neighbours, as we were given adjoining room & we could hear them all the time, singing in the shower, closing doors, etc. Very inconsiderate of the check in staff who gave us that room as we requested for a quiet room 6mths ago when we made the booking and the request eas acknowledged by the Hotel & we showed her the booking form & the request when we checked in. Also let her know that me & my teenage daughter was not well from travel sickness due to the American Airline flight fr New York but she still gave us such a noisy room. We complained to Front Desk the next day, although they offered to change the room for us, but we were there for 2nights only & cldnt be bothered moving all our luggage again, as we were fr Australia & had many heavy luggages. Bad experience all in all, though it cld hv been more positive if the check in staff cld hv been more customer focused & considerate. We requested for early check-in 6mths ago when we made the booking, guess she just gave us any room they had available at that time. We'd rather wait for a better room then to hv a noisy room & cldnt rest properly the whole time!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

A recent trip to Florida had us flying out of Miami airport - on a completely separate note, flying out of Miami is a terrible choice - but thank goodness we chose this property as our oasis before our horrible airport experience.

On its own, this is a FANTASTIC hotel! In the first place, the building is a stunning heritage piece - beautiful rotunda, high ceilings in the common areas, marble floors and staircases - I couldn't say enough about how impressive it was. As far as location, it was right in the heart of Coral Gables, and centrally located on the Miracle Mile, with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The Morton's Steakhouse in the lobby isn't too bad either. The rooftop pool and hottub had comfy chaises and soft seating all around it, and was immaculate and at a level of quality of a 4+ star property, although without the busy vibe you might find on South Beach. Rooms were clean, spacious, classical modern styling, and the Westin signature beds, towels and showers are always great to pamper yourself when traveling. And on departure, the proximity to the airport made that part of our trip very easy.

Finally, the staff was gracious and service oriented....a hallmark of Westin properties.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms (i.e. 225, 325, 425) give great wraparound views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is a hidden gem of a hotel in a lovely part of town.

Coral Gables is a lovely out of the way suburb of Miami with a couple of streets of very lovely shopping, restaurants coffee shops and bookstores. Not a typical Miami experience, but a very pleasant one nonetheless. Don't forget to check out the pool area which is very low key, quiet and relaxed.

Check-in was very attentive, and since the hotel is quite small, there’s a lovely intimate feel to the place. The corridors to the rooms are maze-like, but once there, the room was lovely with a separate sitting area and a junior suite feel.

Very stress-free and relaxed stay. This is an excellent choice if in the area on business.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Westin colonnade was a very good experience. We stayed there with my wife on the last part of a trip in Florida, and were positively surprised by the charm of this hotel, to be compared with the much more "classic / aspetized" Westin we typically find in the rest of the US.
This hotel has in particular a very good location in the center of Coral Gables, close to many restaurants, and it also has a very nice swimming pool ideally positionned to be sunny most of the day, although its not on the roof.
Only caveat it the price for the valet (25$++) which is quite expensive considering you don't really have the alternative of a free parking place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.