We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with Westin standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with Westin standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Westin colonnade was a very good experience. We stayed there with my wife on the last part of a trip in Florida, and were positively surprised by the charm of this hotel, to be compared with the much more "classic / aspetized" Westin we typically find in the rest of the US.
This hotel has in particular a very good location in the center of Coral Gables, close to many restaurants, and it also has a very nice swimming pool ideally positionned to be sunny most of the day, although its not on the roof.
Only caveat it the price for the valet (25$++) which is quite expensive considering you don't really have the alternative of a free parking place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    171
    84
    40
    26
See reviews for
84
122
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This review probably only applies to SPG Platinum members because we were spoiled rotten by them. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a 2 story suite. Awaiting for us was a lovely bowl of fine cheese and fruit and a bottle of wine. Amazing!

I probably can't say enough about the room. Two bathrooms, huge refrigerator, big dining/living area on the first floor. The high-vaulted ceiling and picturesque view of the city were definitely the highlights of the room.

The only big inconvenience during our stay was the water shut down after midnight until 6am. It was a one time thing and wasn't the hotel's fault for that inconvenience...it was the city's requirement for that one night but still an inconvenience because out of all days we stay there, we get our water shut off. We filled a lot of water cups so we would have water to brush our teeth in the morning since we had to head out around 6am.

Overall, the hotel is in an excellent location with lots of shops and restaurants. I probably would rather stay in Miami or Hollywood area if I was visiting the area because from Miami to Coral Gables was a traffic pain. But if price was cheaper than Miami/Hollywood, I would stay in Coral Gables again because they definitely know how to treat Platinum guests. Staff and room was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is excellent. I do not give the full marks based upon two items: (1) I am a Starwood preferred guest since 1998 but in the front desk the person in charge did not notice that until I brought the subject out; and (2) I was given a two-story room with rounded (and narrow)stairs. This made going up and down and, in general, using the room, a bit uncomfortable.

Special mention for Chris Hernández, from the valet parking team. A remarkable, attentive and very client-oriented person. He anticipated any need and provided very useful advice.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk not to put you in a two-story room because they are not very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My spouse and I stayed here for the second time back in October of this year.
We love the hotel property - It has great architecture. Rooms are typical Westin. Not the best, not the worst. Comfortable bed with a nice shower.
Unfortunately we had two issues with our stay.
Our first issue was with an obnoxious wedding party staying on our floor. Crazy noise and door slamming all night - till 3:00 a.m. Literally lost a night's sleep. Seemed to quiet down once I finally opened the door and yelled. This hotel gets alot of weddings, and if you stay here you may be subject to this kind of experience.
The second issue was with the pool area. Went up one morning and the place was a total mess. It had rained heavily the day before, and no one thought to move the padded chair covers inside. They were completely soaked and unuseable. Additionally, there were all kinds of soaking wet towels lying around the pool deck. No fresh towels available - had to call 3 times and wait 40 minutes to get a delivery of fresh towels. Attention to detail is definitely lacking.
We love Coral Gables, and the location of this hotel is what brought us back. Next time we will visit a different hotel - service and guest issues make this a less than ideal choice.

Room Tip: Whatever room is far from wedding parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

Excellent service excellent location. Great customer service.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I felt compelled to write a review, as it is rare that I experience the level of customer service that I received at the Westin Colonnade in Coral Gables - I am a loyal Starwood customer and travel extensively for business and pleasure - I have stayed in all manner of hotels across the world (for business and pleasure), including all Starwood brands, Ritz-Carlton, Four Seasons, Marriott, etc. - We only stayed (1) night here (after a Caribbean vacation / flight layover in Miami) and were traveling with (2) children ages 9 and 6 - upon check-in, we were offered an upgrade to a multi-level suite which ended up not suiting our needs and were then given a choice of other rooms to stay in which the concierge presented to us personally - beyond that, there were MANY other small gestures that made us feel truly welcome and special - it certainly left us with a great feeling about this place and I can say that this property is extremely lucky to have such quality staff ( Josh ( front desk manager) & Humberto (concierge) are true service professionals !!!) - the hospitality they showed went a loooong way with myself and my family - Thank you VERY much!\

Beyond the exceptional service, the property itself is quite nice and delivers typical Westin quality beds, showers, and amenities - The pool and hot tub area was very nice and afforded great views over the city with the small bar and music adding a nice extra of relaxation to this area - the area around the hotel is very nice with many restaurants and bars within walking distance - it is also very convenient to the airport and is an excellent, much more relaxing alternative to the Sheraton near the airport.
valet service was courteous and efficient - ultimately, however, the SERVICE here is what made this a 5-star property -

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The location is great, the customer service is superb. The executive suite was clean and comfy. Really enjoyed my stay. Only reason I didn't say excellent is because the fitness room could have more of a variety of machines and free weights. Overall, great place. I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCoralGables, General Manager at The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thanks for your gift of feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Coral Gables. Be well and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables

Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.