We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that you can eat!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of POC Buffet

POC Buffet
2121 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL
13055290882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 266 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All that you can eat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a great place for when you are starving and willing to destroy the buffet table! Plenty of options, for a very good price. Gotta eat like a maniac to be able to taste one of everything they serve, cause it's a lot of food!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“POCilicious Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great spot for amazing assorted sushi rolls, raw bar, salads, drinks, and atmosphere. The buffet selection is asian fusion and covers fried rice, noodles, tempura, tartar and sashimi. They also offer miso soup, bisque and an assorted number of desert items from Thai donuts to creme brulee, ice cream to a chocolate fountain. They also have a Happy Hour during the week. Check them out if you're in the Coral Gables area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Great Value, Amazing Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'll make this quick...

Sushi:
Great selection, very fresh, some original rolls. Salmon melts in your mouth.

Grill:
A few choices, but what is there is good.

Hot:
Mostly great, the chicken wings I don't recommend.

Desert:
Great selection of high end deserts, all tasty!

Everything else food wise:
Great... overall surprised by the high quality of food at this buffet.

For the two of us, we paid $32.62 including drinks. Plus tip. Not bad!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Variety.....lots to chose from.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We came on a Friday night for a company Christmas party and we truly enjoyed the selection. We must have tried over 20 kinds of sushi, shrimp and Japanese style selections.

The American style food was your typical cheese sticks and potato skins which we did not try but seemed appetizing.

Definitely worth a second trip. The amotsphere is casual chic; pretty comfortable.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad Groupon experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you want to feel like you're back in high school, this is the place. We had two groupons that were about to expire, so we went there fully expecting to have to get separate checks, since it says one per table. We were even prepared to sit at separate tables. However, they would not let us sit in the same room together. We laughed and said that's ridiculous, but they replied that they would not let us sit anywhere close to each other and made us sit completely out of sight of each other, in two different areas of the restaurant. I felt like I was being punished for trying out their restaurant. I thought groupons were intended to introduce new customers to a business? In this case, they completely ruined any chance they had at acquiring new customers.

The food was not "all that" either. The sushi is acceptable (really, how can you screw up slicing raw fish?) but the hot dishes were horrible. Anything fried was cold, greasy and chewy, the grilled meats were fatty or overcooked, and the desserts were cafeteria quality. Too bad - had the staff been more accommodating, I could have excused the quality of the hot food and enjoyed the sushi. Instead, it was an awkward uncomfortable experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed POC Buffet also viewed

 

Been to POC Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POC Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.