We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nightlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Koi

Red Koi
317 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134
+1 305-446-2690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Koi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: LeJeune Road
Transit: LeJeune
Description: A symbol of endurance and perseverance, the Japanese koi fish also represents love and affection. At Red Koi Thai & Sushi Lounge, we channel this energy and passion into our culinary creations, decor, service and ambiance.Red Koi Thai & Sushi Lounge, located in the heart of Downtown Coral Gables, marries the exciting flavors of authentic Thai cuisine and exotic sushi creations all within a laid-back, yet sophisticated atmosphere.The bottom floor of the restaurant is a chic dining area modeled in the refined style of Japanese minimalism. The second level of the restaurant is the signature, candle-lit lounge area, offering comfortable lounge seating, a full service bar and full menu service.
New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Nightlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were walking by this restaurant on a Saturday night. We heard some good music and saw a sign that said lounge upstairs.

To our surprise, the atmosphere and music was great! I would visit again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Red Koi, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi, Its great to hear about your amazing experience, and get such an amazing feedback. We hope you choose us again and have you back soon to keep showing you that we provide the best service and quality.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great sushi and thai food in the Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were there on Wednesday night and they had live music-Jazz, which was a real treat during dinner. We ordered the Red Dragon roll, the Spider roll and several pieces of sashimi and a green salad. Everything was very fresh and very well prepared. We chose it sit outside, the restaurant is located on Miracle Mile, and the weather was perfect. Great food, music, and weather, what else could you ask for. Red Koi has been located on the Mile for several years so their food must be pretty good to have the restaurant stick around that long. It is located right next to Seasons 52 which is very popular restaurant and it has not seemed to hurt the business of this small restaurant, so they must be doing something right. Our server was named Carlos and he was attentive even when the restaurant was getting busy, which seems to be a rarity in Miami.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Red Koi, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear MiamiFirefighter, Thanks for visiting us an for your time in reviewing us in a so detailed way. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back soon.
Cheers!
The Red Koi Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Miracle Mile Sushi delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

With the both indoor and outdoor seating that is comfortable and intimate, this was a relaxing place for my wife and I to have a midweek date. Our waiter, Mario, gave us excellent suggestions and wonderful service. The food was very good. I especially liked the Santini role. They also have a Seabass dinner, on occasion, that is one of the best. A jazz band performed, outdoors, on a Wednesday night. It was unexpected pleasant surprise. We went to this restaurant because we had a Groupon deal. Smart move for the restaurant because it introduced us to a fun place to which we will return. We are telling our friends. Head to Coral Gables and make this your stop

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sushi with a Latin Fushion Twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I love Sushi, but I never thought that a fushion with other cuisines would be advisable. Well, this restaurant has the most original, creative and delicious sushi I have ever tasted. We were brave to order sushi rolls with Latin ingredients that included sweet plantain, guava paste, nuts and so many other combinations. It was incredibly delicious. Everyone enjoyed the rolls so much. If you go, don't be afraid to try them, you'll be so glad you did. The Thai food and fried rice was good but the sushi was out of this world.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This might sound strange but there is a great place in the Gables to enjoy great food, music and see celebrities (Pitbull, etc). If you can sit on the second floor (there is a dance floor there) and really enjoy the atmosphere. Relax and see what great asian food is all about.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Koi also viewed

 

Been to Red Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Koi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.