We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Mexican Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talavera

Talavera
2299 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134
+1 305-444-2955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Talavera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Giralda Ave.
Description: Mexico.... home of Talavera, the unique fine art pottery from the 16th Century, native of the city of Puebla. This genuine and refined Mexican spirit of the Talavera art sets the ground for the spirit of our menu. From the "Huarache" grill, a series of delicate dishes served on a corn tortilla base, to a variety of regional specialties from Sonora to Oaxaca, from Michoacan to Puebla, from Jalisco to Yucatan. Talavera, the art of a genuine and refined taste of Mexico.
Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to find authentic Mexican food in Florida since most of the restaurants try to attract the palate of the non-Hispanic local, but this is not the case. Talavera has tasty food and their appetizers are the best. We liked it very much although the prices on the main dishes are expensive for the portions. Service was average but can be better for the type of restaurant (the server sometimes disappeared and did not make a personal connection. Just did his job).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    55
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to have lunch at this restaurant and took advantage of the miami spics menu. They have very authentic options and the food was very tasty. The tlacoyo, chile relleno and dulce de keche crepes were delicious. We will go back :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food is always good and authentic. The atmosphere is great. The margaritas are delicious!
If you want authentic good Mexican food try Talavera!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ice cream and chocolate cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The desert was to die for, the chocolate cake was just perfect, not too sweet and the ice cream I believe was made in the restaurant. Again, not too sweet. The service was great and the food as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Most authentic and best Mexican food I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from Talavera Mexican restaurant in Coral Gables. I have to say that it is by far the BEST and most authentic Mexican food I have had in Miami. I had the cochinita pibil, a classic Yucatecan pork preparation, it was spot on. The rice that they serve is not your classic sudo-Mexican orange rice, it was white with peas and incredibly flavorful. The service was excellent and the waiter was incredibly knowledgable of all the food. Try the "Chelada" which is a salt rimmed glass with ice and lime juice in which you pour your beer, then drink it through a straw. Try it with a Corona. It's the only place that I have asked for this particular drink and the waiter doesn't need an explanation as to what I want. WOW!!!!! all I can say is don't miss out on this place. I will be back again and again when I miss Mexico. Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talavera also viewed

 

Been to Talavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talavera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.