We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talavera

Talavera
2299 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134
+1 305-444-2955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Talavera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Giralda Ave.
Description: Mexico.... home of Talavera, the unique fine art pottery from the 16th Century, native of the city of Puebla. This genuine and refined Mexican spirit of the Talavera art sets the ground for the spirit of our menu. From the "Huarache" grill, a series of delicate dishes served on a corn tortilla base, to a variety of regional specialties from Sonora to Oaxaca, from Michoacan to Puebla, from Jalisco to Yucatan. Talavera, the art of a genuine and refined taste of Mexico.
sflmom111
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have been here several times and the food and service are consistently excellent. Wait staff goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable (offered to move our table when HE noticed it wobbled a bit) and enjoying our meal. They have a variety of special margaritas; last Friday they had a lychee margarita with volcanic salt as their special. Our waiter highly recommended it and told us if we didn't like it, we could change it for something else. No need to worry - it was delicious.
Food is just as good as the drinks. We always start with the queso fundido, which is a shallow plate of fried cheese with chorizo served with warm tortillas. Between that and the never-ending supply of fresh chips and salsa, you almost don't need a meal. But I have had several of their steaks and most recently a pulled pork dish that have all been great.
I highly recommend Talavera, especially on the first Friday of the month when it is Giralda under the Stars and the street is closed down so that you can enjoy the dining al fresco.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    55
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High End Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the real thing. Talavera serves what you would find in the best restaurants in Mexico. Try the Queso Fundido with Poblano Peppers, the Guacamole and the Shrimp Tostadas to start. The fish dishes are unbelievably good. Remember to ask about chef's specials. The best Margaritas in South Florida. My Mexican wife and I are regulars. This is one of our favorites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious food; be sure to ask questions about your order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place has excellent Mexican cuisine. I've been to Mexico many times, lived with Mexican people, eaten in places they recommend, and feel I know a little about good Mexican food. I've eaten at this place two days in a row while at a conference in the area. The first night everything was perfect. However, tonight I the waitress greated us saying that the margueritas were half price till 7:00pm. Three of the four of us ordered them. She was really encouraging us to get a special fruit marguerita. One ordered it and it wasn't till she brought it to the table that she announced that that particular drink was not half price. She should have mentioned that up front. Then I asked for Guacamole. It was served but no one ever mentioned that it was a side dish that cost $3.00. Still the food is excellent...everything seems freshly prepared. I live in the northeast and you would be hard pressed to find mexican food like this in my area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Everything is wonderful here! The atmosphere, food and service are perfect. We enjoyed it very much and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the Coral Gables area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gourmet Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is not tex-mex - it is gourmet Mexican food. My favorite dish is the vegetarian Huarache Grill. A corn flatbread topped with delicious black bean puree, lettuce, tomatoes, guacamole and goat cheese. Heaven!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talavera also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Talavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talavera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.