We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hookah belly dancer and decent food”
Review of Sawa Restaurant & Lounge

Village of Merrick Park, Coral Gables, FL 33146
305-447-6555
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #48 of 267 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant features an exciting dining concept that merges innovative sushi and a contemporary Mediterranean Fusion Menu, with a hip, chic, modern design and an upbeat lounge-like & Hooka Bar atmosphere.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    11
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sawa Restaurant & Lounge
See the most recent reviews
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hookah belly dancer and decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love the variety of dining options they had- the lamb was a little gamey but good. Love the hookah and the aurprise belly dancer at night - recommend ober the other boring restaurants

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sawa is a blend of Japanese and middle eastern cuisine. Sitting outside in the Village of Merrick Park is wonderful. I found the appetizers especially good as are the happy hour prices and drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a good sushi....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food is really average, beyond average, and it is not a good sushi and sashimi by any stretch of imagination. It do not know what type of sushi the restaurant believes they serve, but somebody out to tell them that they are very mistaken.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A (good) surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we decided to have a luncheon at Merrick Park, we were attracted by this restaurant's terrasse on a square.
We took the $19 three course menu.
It happened to be flawless.
We had "Jamon croquette" as a starter, then a hamburger with mushrooms/onions and our dessert was "Duce de leche" a banana with ice cream on top. Everything was tasting good, cooked to our request.
With 2 large bottles of Saratoga sparkling water, we ended with a $52 check for two.
The service was very attentive, helpful and friendly.
We will definitely go back. This is a best buy in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for Brunch with the Girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Sawa this past Sunday for Miami Spice. The food was definitely good for the price point and our server was very attentive. Did I mention 2 for 1 Bellinis? You can't beat that anywhere. I would suggest the Strawberry and the Passion Fruit.. the Lychee is also an interesting experience. The Dulce de Leche Banana Spring Roll is worthy of the gods.

We will definitely be back. Enthusiastic 3/12 to 4 stars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawa Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Sawa Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawa Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.