We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawa Restaurant & Lounge

Sawa Restaurant & Lounge
Village of Merrick Park, Coral Gables, FL 33146
13054476555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 269 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Sushi, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant features an exciting dining concept that merges innovative sushi and a contemporary Mediterranean Fusion Menu, with a hip, chic, modern design and an upbeat lounge-like & Hookah Bar atmosphere.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sawa is a blend of Japanese and middle eastern cuisine. Sitting outside in the Village of Merrick Park is wonderful. I found the appetizers especially good as are the happy hour prices and drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a good sushi....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food is really average, beyond average, and it is not a good sushi and sashimi by any stretch of imagination. It do not know what type of sushi the restaurant believes they serve, but somebody out to tell them that they are very mistaken.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A (good) surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we decided to have a luncheon at Merrick Park, we were attracted by this restaurant's terrasse on a square.
We took the $19 three course menu.
It happened to be flawless.
We had "Jamon croquette" as a starter, then a hamburger with mushrooms/onions and our dessert was "Duce de leche" a banana with ice cream on top. Everything was tasting good, cooked to our request.
With 2 large bottles of Saratoga sparkling water, we ended with a $52 check for two.
The service was very attentive, helpful and friendly.
We will definitely go back. This is a best buy in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for Brunch with the Girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Sawa this past Sunday for Miami Spice. The food was definitely good for the price point and our server was very attentive. Did I mention 2 for 1 Bellinis? You can't beat that anywhere. I would suggest the Strawberry and the Passion Fruit.. the Lychee is also an interesting experience. The Dulce de Leche Banana Spring Roll is worthy of the gods.

We will definitely be back. Enthusiastic 3/12 to 4 stars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Weekend visit for a Miami Heat game. Friends recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the drinks were great too. Our waiter was so attentive to our group, and had wonderful reccomendations for both food and drink. The music was a little loud. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawa Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Sawa Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawa Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.