We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chus chus chus!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chu's Taiwanese Kitchen and Bar

Chu's Taiwanese Kitchen and Bar
2728 Ponce De Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6005
786-953-7351
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 274 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Taiwanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Chus chus chus!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The soups, the Peking duck, the noodles, the staff, everything is excellent. Words can't describe how authentic and delicious the food is !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    7
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Very Best Chinese/Taiwanese food in south florida!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

i cant even begin to say how amazing this place was, honestly the best Chinese/Taiwanese food i have ever had. the Peking duck was completely out of this world, the stuffed bread was a real treat, the pork giant wonton was amazing like you will never know, and the crispy tofu roll was serious as can be. also, the duck ribs were amazing and the beef soup was the most flavorful i have ever had. you need to try the spicy sauce there and the poached stuffed clam was wild! please please please go here you will not be disappointed. chu himslef serves food and drinks and has an amazing karaoke at nights!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice for Chinese if you are in the Gables”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Today we visited Chu`s the place is very nice and inviting , we were a bit concerned because the place was empty, but the service and the food were decent and reasonable priced, the reason I do not give more starts is because compared with tropical Chinese in bird road, tropical has a greater selection, and o me the food is better. And is better priced, we had the shrimp and mango roll, the sue may,beef tripe and orange beef, and all of theme were good, the ones are tropical are better, the Hong Kong fried rice with Chinese sausage was very good, recommend if you have a Chinese food craving and are close by. The service is good and the restaurant is clean and. I personally will not return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peking Duck and Porky Soup Dumplings, dim sum menu all day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Went pre-theater on Saturday night. The food and service as well as presentation was all very good. Prices reasonable and lots of choices, from $3 dim sum selections to $40 whole Peking Duck served in two courses that will serve 2-4. They have plenty of servers and a large open kitchen, they just need more customers to create a buzz.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We sat at the bar, you get personalized attention and commentary on the go as the dishes arrive. Had an exquisite delicacy: Tempura style seaweed. This was quite a treat, unique texture and flavor, apparently it is not on the menu. The shrimp on tofu was also superp. Imagine shrimp wonton filling without the pasta wrap, on top of freshly made uber delicate tofu... fantastic. The beef came in a little pot on a candle warmer. Very tender and tasty, nothing like "amero-chinese" beef dishes you get elsewhere. And finally, the rice! This was the best [white] rice anywhere. You cannot hide or camouflage badly cooked or poorly chosen white rice. It has to stand on it own, with you supporting cast.... I could just eat this rice sans rien all day long.
Ah, here is a bit of culture. The guy behind de bar is a spaniard and a painter to boot. His art hangs on the walls. I am no art critic, but his stuff is really really good too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chu's Taiwanese Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chu's Taiwanese Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chu's Taiwanese Kitchen and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.