We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peruvian delights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pardos Peruvian Cuisine

Pardos Peruvian Cuisine
2312 Ponce De Leon Boulevard, Coral Gables, FL 33134
+1 305-529-2475
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Giralda Avenue and Aragon Avenue
Description: The floor-to-ceiling rotisseries, red walls and comfy booths invite you to stay, but Pardo's Cuisine is attuned to our grab-and-go culture. A slew of delivery and takeout deals plus curbside service offers the best of both worlds: home-cooked, slow-roasted Peruvian flavor with fast-food immediacy. This Coral Gables spot is the only U.S. Outlet for the Lima-based chain that specializes in pollo a la brasa, spit-grilled chicken with crunchy skin, a moist interior and an intoxicating marinade of 14 "secret" herbs and spices that hint of cumin, paprika, annatto, soy sauce and lots of salt. Beef lovers will rejoice over lomo saltado clasico, a Peruvian stir-fry of marinated steak strips, with onions, tomatoes and soy sauce over white rice and French fries. "Pardos" is a term for Peruvians of mixed heritage, and this warm, casual eatery uses the best of Chinese, Spanish, African and native influences in its unpretentious cuisine.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peruvian delights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I am absolutely in love with Peruvian food! Could move to Lima just to enjoy the great inventive they do there! Pardo's has some plates that match the ones I've eaten in Miraflores and Barranco. Course, you gotta be lucky and know what you choose, not all plates are excellent, but none of them is bad at all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“If you love chicken - go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Now, I like chicken. Good chicken, that is. And I think you would be hard pressed to find better chicken than what they serve at Pardo's. I had the 1/2 rotisserie chicken. It came with a side salad which was excellent - several slices of Roma tomato, several slices of cucumber, and strips of red onion over lettuce.

I know pretty much nothing about Peruvian cuisine. However, they have some kind of yellowish sauce with some flecks in it. I think it may be huancaina sauce from what I saw on the menu. It is creamy and has just a bit of a spicy kick. I wasn't sure what to put it on so I put it on EVERYTHING! It made a good salad dressing, I dipped pieces of the chicken in it and I dipped the yuquitas in it. Yuquitas look like big fries but are made from yucca root. Delicious! Especially when dipped in the sauce.

But did I tell you about the chicken? Moist, well-seasoned, falling off the bone tender. If you pay extra (like 90 cents) for all white meat, you are wasting your extra money. Get the vertical half rather than the horizontal half! The drumstick and thigh were SO succulent it almost defies description! The breast and wing were fine but not as moist as the thigh and leg.

This huge meal set me back less than $15 and I couldn't finish it. The servers were friendly and helpful. There is NO reason not to check out this place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I eat there 3 or 4 times a month. The service is always good and the Peruvian food is great. The chicken and seafood is good. The price is also very good. Coral Gables is usually an expensive place to eat . Pardo's is generally 30 dollars for dinner for a couple. I would recommend Pardo's!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, fabulous service and atmosphere and not expensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I dont know much about Peruvian food so the waiter recommended some kind of beer thing that was amazing. THe portions are HUGE (I ate 2 more meals from my leftovers) and the service was excellent. It was crowded because it was St. Patrick's day but the food still came out quickly. I can't wait to go back and try their ceviche and chicken!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My friend and I discovered this gem after the Miami Film Festival around the corner - what a find! Our waiter Rogerio was a doll - very professional and personable. We started with the Causa, which was amazing - it was the first time either of us had eaten one. It's similar to a terrine, but has a specific set of ingredients: ají amarillo, avocado, potatoes, and tuna. My friend then had a salad, which was huge. I had the rotisserie chicken which was tender and juicy and oh so tasty. Sadly the rice was rather hard (we had arrived after 9pm on a weeknight), but Rogerio insisted on replacing it with fresh rice, which was better but still too al dente for my taste. The fresh chicha morada was excelente and served in a very large glass. The prices were surprising reasonable. We will definitely be back! (This is a Peruvian restaurant).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pardos Peruvian Cuisine also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Pardos Peruvian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pardos Peruvian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.