We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matheson Hammock Park

Matheson Hammock Park
9610 Old Cutler Road, Coral Gables, FL 33156
305-665-5475
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Biking
Attraction details
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best places to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The drive around the park was beautiful, large mangroves, ocean views, city views, walking trails, picnic areas and place for swimming in natural large round sea pool surrounded by sand and palms, great place for sunsets, worth the visit, great restaurant with view of Miami

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    58
    18
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Bike and Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

During the winter months in Miami, Matheson is a fantastic and beautiful place to ride your bike, and/or take scenic walks. It has a great bike path between the mangroves, and this tie of year is mosquito free. The light comes thru the mangroves and adds a delightful beautiful feeling thru the path.

It opens up on the bay, with great views of the Miami Skyline. There is a man made lagoon, fed by bay waters, for those that want t swim.

Delightful place overall..

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro area Washington, DC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A bit of the South Seas in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I lived in Miami and Matheson Hammock has been a favorite of mine. I go there every year I go back to Miami. It has a swimming atoll with a path encircling it lined with coconut palms, and looks like a photo from Fiji or some other South Seas island. You can see the skyline of Miami and if you look closely you can see the outline of MIami Beach. It's a popular beach for families because it's local and you don't have to go to South Beach or Key Biscayne if you want to wade in the water. It's tucked back off of Old Cutler Road and has a boat marina and a beautiful upscale restaurant setting right on the beach--open only for dinner- after the beach is closed. Matheson Hammock is great to go to picnic, walk around the atoll, and soak in the sun and beauty!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“RedFish Grill in the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just love this park, have spend many many Sunday's afternoon sitting, resting my back on the trunk of one of the many coconut palms, while I read or just contemplated the beauty of the nature that surrounded me.
With that in mind, this was the first place I thought about, when Ramon asked me to be his wife.
Do not hesitate to make this your formidable and unforgettable place for a great wedding!
The RedFish Grill is a one of it's jewels, the perfect place to have your after the ceremony reception! You can rent the whole restaurant or you can do what we did, a small an intimate one.
Chris, the owner, is a class act!! He made it happen!! And the food, the staff and the whole easiness and attitude, contributed to the success of our memorable and perfect day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“matheson Hammock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great place for young kids to go in the ocean without the waves of other beaches. Our 3 year granddaughter loves it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matheson Hammock Park also viewed

 

Been to Matheson Hammock Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matheson Hammock Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.