We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of the South Seas in Coral Gables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matheson Hammock Park

Matheson Hammock Park
9610 Old Cutler Road, Coral Gables, FL 33156
305-665-5475
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Coral Gables
Type: Beaches, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Biking
Attraction details
metro area Washington, DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A bit of the South Seas in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I lived in Miami and Matheson Hammock has been a favorite of mine. I go there every year I go back to Miami. It has a swimming atoll with a path encircling it lined with coconut palms, and looks like a photo from Fiji or some other South Seas island. You can see the skyline of Miami and if you look closely you can see the outline of MIami Beach. It's a popular beach for families because it's local and you don't have to go to South Beach or Key Biscayne if you want to wade in the water. It's tucked back off of Old Cutler Road and has a boat marina and a beautiful upscale restaurant setting right on the beach--open only for dinner- after the beach is closed. Matheson Hammock is great to go to picnic, walk around the atoll, and soak in the sun and beauty!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    14
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“RedFish Grill in the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just love this park, have spend many many Sunday's afternoon sitting, resting my back on the trunk of one of the many coconut palms, while I read or just contemplated the beauty of the nature that surrounded me.
With that in mind, this was the first place I thought about, when Ramon asked me to be his wife.
Do not hesitate to make this your formidable and unforgettable place for a great wedding!
The RedFish Grill is a one of it's jewels, the perfect place to have your after the ceremony reception! You can rent the whole restaurant or you can do what we did, a small an intimate one.
Chris, the owner, is a class act!! He made it happen!! And the food, the staff and the whole easiness and attitude, contributed to the success of our memorable and perfect day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“matheson Hammock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great place for young kids to go in the ocean without the waves of other beaches. Our 3 year granddaughter loves it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Big park, nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It is right by Fairchild botanical garden so you can comebine this trip with that. It is a big park. Nice for walking. Also the beach is very nice. It's relaxing and not too many people there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WILD AND NATURAL BEAUTY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A scenic park featuring a man-made atoll pool,flushed naturally with the tidal action of adjacent Biscayne Bay.This park is amazing with coral stone buildings, a marina, fishing tackle shop, boat launch ramps, gas and diesel fuel, and wetslips. The beach sea breeze,mangroves and nature trails make it a great place to enjoy the day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matheson Hammock Park also viewed

 

Been to Matheson Hammock Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matheson Hammock Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.