We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venetian Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venetian Pool

Venetian Pool
2701 De Soto Boulevard, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305-460-5306
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The most glamorous municipal pool in the world. Must be 38" tall or 36 months old to enter. Admission prices $3-9.
Stayner, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Venetian Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My parents lived just 2 doors away from this pool from 1971 to 1983....I have very many fond memories of spending 2-3 months of the winter at this pool. My mother used to teach the Red Cross Swimming lessons there. Don't know if they still do. I see it has not changed as for the coolness of the water....too cold for me, but my children all has a ball there. It was a lovely retreat from the winter months in Toronto..... They used to have events in the evening after the pool was emptied, I remember watching a lovely wedding one evening. My parents moved to England and sadly my Mum has now passed away.....Many Many Many memories of this lovely pool.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    166
    55
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coral gables
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to visit, but too many kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is really a special place here in Coral Gables. It's an important part of the history of our city. And a great place to hang out and get some sun and take a dip in the pool. BUT, i hope you like kids. It's certainly a place that is popular with families. I sure wish they had an "adult only day." It's just not very relaxing with all the kids running around screaming.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Swimming Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Venetial Pool is very different from other pools. You feel like you are in another country. The water is very cold even in the summer, but it is a unique experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Closed for repairs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just a warning, Closed for repairs in January and February 2013, so check before you go. Very charming and old world as I viewed it through a locked fence. Definitely glad I saw it and worth driving by.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great place that has served generations of gables residents. My grandparents met and fell in love here while attending UM back in 1940. Still has that charm with its grotto, beaches and Mediterranean architecture. My only reservation is the water is colder than I'd care for and so I never go in. Tropical polar bears would love it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetian Pool also viewed

 

Been to Venetian Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venetian Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.