We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is cooked with love and care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torange Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Torange Restaurant
1831 Ponce De Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4418
786-953-6362
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 274 restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Everything is cooked with love and care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A cozy laid-back place, good Persian food (difficult to find in Miami), and a very friendly service. Pomegranate stew was great, lamb shanks were juicy, an eggplant dip was delicious. The prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    7
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A true Persian delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We popped in for a quick lunch and we were not disappointed. The Pomegranate Stew was a winner! Each of us got something a little different and, of course, shared!

This is well worth a visit if you like authentic Persian cuisine and a great value for the money!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, not so great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Loved the food! Having grown up with an Iranian step father who loved cooking, this restaurant reminded me of all the great flavors I had grown to love.
This restaurant had all my favorites Beef kebabs, gormeh sabzi, tahdig, Persian salad all for a fair price of about $10.00 as part of their lunch time buffet. We also sampled their appetizers, their stuffed grape leaves and baba ghanoush, though not a Persian dish, had Persian spices which was unique. These were the best I have ever tasted. Hats off to the chef!
Only disappointment was an unpleasant experience with a waitress. But we do plan to visit again, hopefully with a better experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good value and authentic PERSIAN food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a good restaurant if you would like an introduction to Persian food. The decor is simpe but clean with Persian decor on the walls. Its quaint, and quiet during dinner. They don't use a lot of spices in the food--just enough to bring out the natural flavors of the meats. The rice is basmati (same as in Indian restaurants). Try the kababs. I've also heard that the lunch buffet is good but I've only been for dinner. Try the baklava for dessert--it has cardamon in it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“surprisingly good cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a pretty quiet place with not much of a crowd every time we look in when we ate at the nearby Route 9 (which is great) but we tried it on a whim this week when we were close by. We were very pleasantly surprised.. It is clean and cetainly acceptable but the food was ooutstandingl Our very pleasant waitress (she was lonely) helped answer our questions. I had the lentil soup which was good and the best chopped salad of cucumbers and tomatoes I have ever had (and I have had it in Isreal, Turkey and Greece) It had a lovely dressing that was delightful. My wife had a huge mixed salad which was superb and a wonderful chicken pomegranate stew which was sublime. The flavors were all there but oh so delicate and not overwhelming. We asked for mint tea but the Persians don't do that (yes it is Persian, not Turkish) and our lovely server suggested Persian tea which is packed by Earl Gray but a new taste sensation for us. Delicate but tasty. So we will be back to try out some more dishes. Did I mention it was quite inepensive/reasonable? Thi is a real sleeper just on the edge of the trendy part of Coral Gables. Don't miss it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torange Restaurant also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL

Been to Torange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torange Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.