We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff made it a nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly staff made it a nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I resisted making a reservation here because of the many average-to-negative reviews over the past year but, for a number of reasons, I had few options. I was pleasantly surprised. I think management has worked hard to address some of the problems. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating, and they made it a good place to stay. The rooms are OK--they show some wear-and-tear and need some updating. Try to get a reduced rate via Expedia or some other website; otherwise, the rooms are expensive for what your get. Reserve a room with a pool view (rooms ending in odd numbers); otherwise you look out over the parking lot.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in an odd number have a pool view. If you get a room with sliding glass doors, make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapadopulos, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Basketballfan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay with us. I am elated to hear that we were able to surprise you in a positive manner. You are absolutely correct in your assessment; we have been working very hard provide our guests a superior hotel experience. We underwent a major renovation to all of our guestrooms and many of our public areas this past year. We are also in the process of changing the culture at our hotel to a completely customer-centric one, whereby everything revolves around our guests.

I would like to clarify one common misconception, however. The online travel agencies do not have lower rates than the actual hotels. This is due to rate parity agreements that exist between hotels and these agencies. The only exceptions are the opaque online travel agencies. However, with these agencies you book “a hotel room” and do not know which hotel until after the transaction is complete. If you want control over your hotel stay and flexibility, I would recommend booking directly with the hotel. You will not pay a higher rate, and you will have control over your reservation.

Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Constantino Papadopulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    142
    91
    45
    30
See reviews for
142
73
38
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great staff that always greeted us & were friendly & helpful. Loved the pool area that always had sun & great for relaxing around at night. Rooms were a bit dated & needed improvements. It's located on busy road so make sure you use crosswalks to avoid being a pancake.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapadopulos, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Angieseattle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re happy to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed our pool and patio area. I’m sorry you feel our guestrooms are in need of improvement. We did renovate them last year with new beds, furniture, light fixtures, and window treatments. Finally, thank you for the useful, and humorous, advice on the best way to get across US1 (Dixie Highway). I’m sure this will prove practical to many guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Constantino Papadopulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We just had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables, Florida over the weekend. The staff was extremely friendly and our room was very clean and inviting. We could not have asked for a better room. Our buffet breakfast was hot and delicious. We would recommend to hotel to everyone wanting a great place to stay. Great job to everyone who work there!!! We will come back next time we are in town. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapadopulos, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Gator64Girl,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It really does so much for us to hear back from guests who have had an exceptional stay with us. It delights us to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you will be returning on your next visit to Miami. We will be ready to welcome you back and provide the hospitality you have come to expect from us.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,

Constantino Papadopulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We originally stayed here the first time because it was close to our cruise port, and went back the second time because of the wonderful customer service! Jenny and Moira at the front desk went above and beyond to cater to us! They were incredibly helpful and friendly! The beds were also very comfortable and the rooms very clean. Would absolutely recommend staying here to anyone. This will definitely be our first choice when in Miami!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapadopulos, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Megan B,

Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn Coral Gables – University. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and feel you received great service. This is something our staff takes great pride in, so your feedback will be quite welcome when they see it. Thank you also for singling our Jenny and Moira for their special part in your stay.

We appreciate you staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Constantino Papadopulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

staffs here are really friendly and patient. rooms are good. what is more ,it's really close to the UM, just about 5 minutes walk. the equipments here are great, wellness center, swimming pool, spa, so, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapadopulos, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear tripadvisor® traveler,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I’m happy to see that you found our service, location, and facilities to your liking. And thank you for your recommendation as well; it means very much to us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Constantino Papadopulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My high school son and I stayed here the night before our visit to the University of Miami. The location is great for a visit to the U -- the UM shuttle stops a block away. The location is also great in terms of being spitting distance from the Metrorail We went directly by from the Miami airport to the hotel via Metrorail, and then went out to dinner in Coconut Grove using the Metrorail. All very convenient.

The hotel itself is basic Holiday Inn. Nothing to swoon over, but certainly more than adequate for our purposes. The room was fine -- clean, comfortable beds, modern enough. Breakfast (which we included in our package) was adequate, but nothing to write home about. Finally, May at the front desk was a doll, and very helpful.

Certainly if you need to visit UM this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapadopulos, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Steven J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re glad you found our location convenient and our facilities to your satisfaction. May, our terrific team member, will be very happy to know that she was mentioned by name for her fine service.

Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Constantino Papadopulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My best stay in Miami, this year. The attendants are very sympathies, the location was very good to me and there are so many facilities on the hotel that I will be back soon. Internet works fine, nice swim pool, everything clean. Very cool. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPapadopulos, General Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Romulouza L,

Wow! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are truly honored that you feel your recent stay with us has been your best hotel stay in Miami so far this year. We hope to have the chance to surpass this accomplishment in a future visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and for providing us your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Constantino Papadopulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
The Biltmore Hotel
#1 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Hotel Place St. Michel
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.