We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops In Service and Facilities, Awesome Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Key West, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tops In Service and Facilities, Awesome Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been stayng at this Holiday Inn frequently for at least 30 years now, and it continues to be my favorite hotel of any hotels I have stayed at worldwide.
The main reasons that I keep returning are:
1.) The management "jumps through hoops" to make sure that every guest is satisfied, and that any issues are resolved a.s.a.p..
2.) The housekeeping staff is very thorough - the whole hotel is immaculate.
3.) Because of the staff's positive attitude and attention to detail, I can relax and enjoy my
stay as if I were at home.
There are so many other reasons that I could not possibly list them all in this review. But I will
tell you that in 30 years, I can count the few complaints that I have had on one hand.
If you are ever in the Coral Gables, Florida (South Miami) area, I strongly recommend that you consider staying at this exquisite Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I like to have a ground floor pooside room (they have a sliding door leading out to a patio just off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear John,

I have to say that I had the pleasure to meet you and I am very glad we made you feel like at home away from home, since our main goal is you 101% satisfaction and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I will always be glad to have you staying here every time you are in town and I can promise you we will take care of you the same way and better.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me on your next visit, I will make sure you have your special room again as always.
I hope to see you again very soon!
Best Regards,

Claudia Polidori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    94
    62
    40
    23
See reviews for
102
56
29
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you can get a discounted rate, then this is a great option when visiting Coral Gables. I would not pay a rate similar to the 4 stars in Coral Gables for this property though.

It is not a luxury hotel, but it is not a roadside motel either. Lobby is nice, but hallways a bit worn. Room is nothing fancy, but clean and nice. Bed is comfortable and linens are decent quality. Bathroom is basic, clean but not luxurious, but towels are a bit thin. Also, shower head is low? We had a refrigerator in the room and that was convenient for storing drinks.

We did not eat at the hotel, nor did we use the pool, so no comment on that. Parking is easy and the location is convenient. Overall, a positive experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for taking a moment to write a few kind words regarding your recent stay! We're glad you had a great time while here in Coral Gables. Also, thank you for letting us know about the difficulties you had, that way we can correct them.

Please feel free to contact me if you need help with future reservations, we will be delighted to have you here again.

Your's in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
305-667-5611 Ext 7805
cpolidori@soundhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent location near the University of Miami, Metro rail station and plenty of eating joints around. Room was functional with coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Gym and pool also functional. Pleasant and professional staff. We had a very comfortable 5 day stay when we were there to drop off our daughter at UM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kurt T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Our staff is delighted that you found everything to your liking. I hope we exceeded your expectations and your experience with us helped to enhance your visit to our beautiful city of Coral Gables. Please think of us when booking your next visit to the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We came to the Miami area to see a couple of Marlins games. The Holiday Inn is a 5 minute walk to the University Metrorail station from which, for $5 per day, one can get to downtown Miami, the Airport, and the Ballpark. For the ballpark, a shuttle takes you from the Culmer stop to the stadium. The hotel is in a great and safe area as well. We felt extremely safe walking from the Metro station to the hotel at 11:30pm after the game was over. The room had a fridge and a microwave. There's a CVS pharmacy, a 5 minute walk from the hotel if one wishes to just grab some stuff to put in the fridge for after the game. A TGIFridays is also a close walk as is the Titanic brewpub. The cost of the hotel is very good given the upper class area of Coral Gables and the pool is wonderfully warm. The room was just fine...very clean and enjoyable. I'd highly recommend this place if you'd like to save some money, avoid having to rent a car and drive in an unknown city, but have access to downtown and the ballpark via metrorail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Horrible place. I can't list so many things so wrong with this place.
1. I had called before with a $79 rate. After I got their 10 minutes later, they said nobody had called the location, and that they didn't know who called. Liars!!
2. Dirty hallways, and maids still cleaning rooms at 9pm!!!
3. Garbage pile left on the side of the entrance to the pool all night long!.
4. Super small bathrooms, and note that I am athletic/slender person.
5. Broken phone/ broken clock.
6. Terrible choice of channels on the tv.
7. Old building with molding smell.
8. Heard workers complaining about job and not wanting to work.
9. You get the idea right?

Pool has molding all over,.....
The only decent thing about this place is being outside, Coral Gables is a nice safe area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Abner Z,

Thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have erred, but we are working on correcting these matters, any feedback you may provide based on your experience to better ourselves and our property is always welcomed and taken seriously, the appropriate actions will be taken to correct the issues you addressed. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and hope you give us a second chance to meet your expectations in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
305-667-5611 Ext 7805
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is lovely. But big. Our room was very far from the elevator, had I know I would have requested closer, I have mobility issues. No one was at the front desk at 7pm, had to call for clerk. Room was very clean and comfortable, balcony overlooking pool, but no chairs or table on it....odd. Very convenient to University of Miami. I asked clerk for a map of the campus, they didn't have one, i feel they should have.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Pattiwig,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy our location suited you well. We regret your room allocation was not to your liking and I apologize for the inconvenience of having to stay in a room that was very far from the elevator. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week to check out the city for a possible move. Overall good choice as a base. The bed was great. Despite it being older room and hotel it was well maintained. The breakfast was not worth entertaining very basic for a holiday inn. Internet worked well. Parking and access was easy. Some great restaurants within walking distance. try mom for great Thai. We went twice. Some great walking around the streets as well. Felt very safe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Newnhamp,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.