We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent location near the University of Miami, Metro rail station and plenty of eating joints around. Room was functional with coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Gym and pool also functional. Pleasant and professional staff. We had a very comfortable 5 day stay when we were there to drop off our daughter at UM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeartinNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kurt T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Our staff is delighted that you found everything to your liking. I hope we exceeded your expectations and your experience with us helped to enhance your visit to our beautiful city of Coral Gables. Please think of us when booking your next visit to the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We came to the Miami area to see a couple of Marlins games. The Holiday Inn is a 5 minute walk to the University Metrorail station from which, for $5 per day, one can get to downtown Miami, the Airport, and the Ballpark. For the ballpark, a shuttle takes you from the Culmer stop to the stadium. The hotel is in a great and safe area as well. We felt extremely safe walking from the Metro station to the hotel at 11:30pm after the game was over. The room had a fridge and a microwave. There's a CVS pharmacy, a 5 minute walk from the hotel if one wishes to just grab some stuff to put in the fridge for after the game. A TGIFridays is also a close walk as is the Titanic brewpub. The cost of the hotel is very good given the upper class area of Coral Gables and the pool is wonderfully warm. The room was just fine...very clean and enjoyable. I'd highly recommend this place if you'd like to save some money, avoid having to rent a car and drive in an unknown city, but have access to downtown and the ballpark via metrorail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kurt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Horrible place. I can't list so many things so wrong with this place.
1. I had called before with a $79 rate. After I got their 10 minutes later, they said nobody had called the location, and that they didn't know who called. Liars!!
2. Dirty hallways, and maids still cleaning rooms at 9pm!!!
3. Garbage pile left on the side of the entrance to the pool all night long!.
4. Super small bathrooms, and note that I am athletic/slender person.
5. Broken phone/ broken clock.
6. Terrible choice of channels on the tv.
7. Old building with molding smell.
8. Heard workers complaining about job and not wanting to work.
9. You get the idea right?

Pool has molding all over,.....
The only decent thing about this place is being outside, Coral Gables is a nice safe area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbnerZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Abner Z,

Thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have erred, but we are working on correcting these matters, any feedback you may provide based on your experience to better ourselves and our property is always welcomed and taken seriously, the appropriate actions will be taken to correct the issues you addressed. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and hope you give us a second chance to meet your expectations in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
305-667-5611 Ext 7805
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is lovely. But big. Our room was very far from the elevator, had I know I would have requested closer, I have mobility issues. No one was at the front desk at 7pm, had to call for clerk. Room was very clean and comfortable, balcony overlooking pool, but no chairs or table on it....odd. Very convenient to University of Miami. I asked clerk for a map of the campus, they didn't have one, i feel they should have.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pattiwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Pattiwig,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy our location suited you well. We regret your room allocation was not to your liking and I apologize for the inconvenience of having to stay in a room that was very far from the elevator. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week to check out the city for a possible move. Overall good choice as a base. The bed was great. Despite it being older room and hotel it was well maintained. The breakfast was not worth entertaining very basic for a holiday inn. Internet worked well. Parking and access was easy. Some great restaurants within walking distance. try mom for great Thai. We went twice. Some great walking around the streets as well. Felt very safe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Newnhamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Newnhamp,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was heading south to the keys and wanted a hotel in route and decided to go with this one, we really liked the location and overall condition of the hotel. There is no free breakfast like most hotels, but I would recommend this hotel to any traveler in the area.

Room Tip: Book with expedia and go to IHOP for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amccarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I recently went to holiday inn, coral gables! It's the worst value for money I have spent on a hotel, the room was dated with poor attempts at up dating! The toilet leaked with each flush. The air con was noisy and as old as my grand parents. Can't believe they can charge 150 dollars plus tax mid week! Just come back from kimpton spa in vero beach, less money and class above this hotel. Holiday inn would be a 1 and kimpton a 50! No comparison!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Darren,

I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Our staff works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has the best stay possible, so it is quite disappointing to know that we've somehow fallen short of that goal.

We have erred, but we are working on correcting these matters, any feedback you may provide based on your experience to better ourselves and our property is always welcomed and taken seriously, the appropriate actions will be taken to correct the issues you addressed. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and hope you give us a second chance to meet your expectations in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
(305) 667-5611 Ext 7805
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
The Biltmore Hotel
#1 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#6 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coral Way
Four Points by Sheraton Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing