We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in area...Yes...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Business in area...Yes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

...leisure, not so much. Here for a conference a U of Miami and the location in my opinion was the best of any for the attendees if you don't mind a little walking. That being said, Miami "blocks" are like country miles. Great service, clean rooms, good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    74
    59
    39
    23
See reviews for
74
51
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times over the last ten years but not recently. They have done a remodel of the lobby area and the pool area always looks inviting. This visit was for business.

I arrived and Janny handled my check in. She apologized and said that there was no room available and I would have to wait 30 minutes. I went to sit in the lobby and less than five minutes later Janny came up and said that she had found a room and I could go to it in five minutes. She also ordered a fruit basket to be delivered to the room. She went above and beyond what she could have done to take care of a customer that had not been to the property in a few years (though I have top elite status for the chain). Rarely (and especially in Miami) do you run into people like Janny who really enjoy their job and want to make customers happy.

Hotel recruiters should take note and I hope the managers recognize an excellent employee when they have one.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear BTSTP,

Thank your for being a Priority club member and thank your for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us.

It is greatly appreciated when our visitors have enjoyed their experience with us, so much so, that they share this experience with us and other reviewers. We thank you for your valuable feedback and the special mention you have made to a member of our team.

As a club member, your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to that opportunity of serving you once again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I do a lot of business and leisure travel and ended up in Coral Gables for a few days unexpectedly. I didn't want to travel out of Coral Gables or spend a billion dollars at a plush hotel on Key Biscayne or South Beach or Downtown. Also travelling into downtown Coral Gables would have put be farther than I wanted.

The newish Holiday Inn in Coral gables is just great. Very close to UMiami, SouthMiami, with easy access to dowtown Coral Gables, the Grove or the key if you know the roads.

The place was clean, spacious, nice fridge, TV, comfy clean beds, ample desk space. Nice pool, and the restaurant is really not bad at all (Im a food snob!), I ate there twice!

Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My best hotel experience ever! I was greeted with the nicest front office manager, named Claudia Polidori. She assisted me with all the questions I had about ordering food to be delivered to the room. She went beyond the call of duty when I asked for some toothpaste (she couldn't find it in one area) so she got a new tube from somewhere, had it delivered to my room and then called to see if I received it. I thought that was so nice I went back down to the lobby to personally thank her. She even went out of her way after our few conversations to invite me to have breakfast on them at their hotel in the morning. Her hospitality and the room made this one of my BEST HOTEL STAYS EVER!!!!
The room definately topped off what I was already amazed with...the rugs were new, shower with Great water pressure(new also),nice balcony,new tv(big and easy to work),and new micro and fridge. The beds were very comfortable! The place made you feel so safe with security keepin an eye on it all. Sleeping well was not hard to come by. The pool area was huge and very well landscaped. Thank you to this property...I look forward to staying again and feeling like royalty. Hopefully you'll keep the rates as decent as they are now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent five nights at this wonderful hotel. It feels like a resort, but at room rates that are much more reasonable. The property is well located to the Miamni area, very clean and well maintained. The staff is unbelievably customer service oriented. The restaurant on site is so good, that it's difficult to venture away for dinner. We HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel when visiting the Miami area.

Room Tip: If you request certain rooms on the first floor, you'll have direct access to the pool area thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had a business meeting in South Miami and this hotel is 5 minutes from the office. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are comfortable and, depending on when you are visiting and how you make your reservation, the rate can be very reasonable. Although it is located on South Dixie Highway which ALWAYS has terrible traffic, it was easily accessible and the rooms were surprisingly quiet. The pool area is pleasant and it has all the amenities you require. A great choice of hotel if you are visiting U of M or have business or pleasure in the Coral Gables/South Miami area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. The rooms back there are VERY quiet.. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I walked in the front door of this Holiday Inn across from the University of Miami expecting okay treatment for a good price. SURPRISE, the lobby is bright and cheery just like the employees. The employees know how to handle every request with a "can-do" attitude. The rooms are excellent and so many open to a beautifully maintained and landscaped pool area filled with chairs, tables, lots of room to sunbathe or sit comfortably in the shade! Additionally, this hotel has a gift/snack shop, sports bar, beautiful and roomy restaurant all opening to the pool for a nice view.
Finally, the location is walking distance to the University of Miami, great restaurants and shops. Pricila is at the front dest to assure a smooth check in and Margarita is handling the guest experience fabulously!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn
Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.