We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to UM” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to UM”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is near the University of Miami which makes it an ideal place if you plan to visit the University or Coral Gables. Staff are very friendly and welcoming particularly at the restaurant. Breakfast is varied and quite generous with plenty of fresh and cooked food. I thought the coffee quality was very good.
The best aspect about this hotel for me was the comfort of the bed and pillows, probably one of the best I have experienced. The room has desk space, TV and coffee/tea facilities. Overall the room is well equipped, clean and comfortable. The problem is the thin partitions between the rooms which do not insulate the sound very well. So you will probably hear the conversation next door, so pack some earplugs.
Taxi to airport costs approx. $25 and takes about 30 mins in normal traffic..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear khadjri,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the noise caused by the thin walls. We will look into this. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    95
    68
    40
    23
See reviews for
109
61
34
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here our last night in Florida to catch our flight n the morning. Our room was like any other hotel room but it had a funny smell. Not sure what they were trying to cover up. Other than that our experience here was good. Great over nighter

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear The60secondassassin,

Thank you for giving us a review on your stay with us! We're sorry you expirienced a foul odor on your room stay, and should you return we will make sure your exirience is odorfree. Thank you for giving us praise on your expirience.

Thank you again,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Check in and out was quick and the staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I had a great nights rest in the beds and they have 2 different types of pillows you can choose from. The pool area is large and we enjoyed a quick dip before bed. I had a non refundable rate and booked direct and had no issues.The parking lot was big and there is no extra fee. I would stay here again. I saw some renovations being done, but I did not hear a peep from anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What an experience! From the time I arrived at this property until the time I left, my entire experience was excellent! My room was beautiful, overlooking the pool... I had a really good ribeye steak in the restaurant, with flan for my dessert. Check out the picture of the restaurant... the renovations are very nice and this is certainly a place that I will stay... not just on business, but with my family when we come on vacation. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There were 4 of us in a 2 bed room which had a microwave, small fridge and a coffee maker. The room was nice sized with a desk and 2 extra chairs. It was one of the remodeled rooms and the bathroom had a good shower and good sized sink. While it was basic Holiday Inn the room was spic and span and the housekeepers did a wonderful job in keeping it that way. It was close enough to walk to a great Jewish deli and a TGIF so you could walk to things. What made this an enjoyable stay was the people who worked there. From the front desk to the housekeepers and the smiling lady in the gift shop, they tried to make our stay as nice as possible!

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard to get a good view from your window or ask for a pool room on the 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Luciadunn,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are truly delighted the level of service you received from our staff, lived up to your expectations. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel isolation is very poor as you hear all the noises from the corridor. I woke up several times with the feeling that someone was talking inside my bedroom...
The matelas are very poor too at a point it was better to sleep on the floor!
The bathroom is very small too. Only one person at a tme, which is not helping when we have young children to bath...
The employees are very friendly and the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear familyglobtrotter,

Thank you for taking your time in writing us a review of your stay at our hotel. It saddens me deeply that you were having issues due to noise in your room and that you were unable to enjoy your stay fully due to this. i noticed you mentioned the size of the bathrooms was an inconvinience for you, a quick solution I must add is perhaps asking for an executive room should you choose our hotel in the future. if not I thank you again for choosing our hotel and wish you many happy travels.

Best,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My room was dirty, and the people at the reception were rude. But, the hotel is extremely close to the University of Miami (which was the main reason why I decided to stay at HI). AVOID TO BOOK A ROOM AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear CarolinaCarolina_13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. We are sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the cleanliness of the room and service received from our hotel staff. We take all reviews positive or negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;