We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete failure” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Coral Gables
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Complete failure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My room was dirty, and the people at the reception were rude. But, the hotel is extremely close to the University of Miami (which was the main reason why I decided to stay at HI). AVOID TO BOOK A ROOM AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear CarolinaCarolina_13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. We are sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the cleanliness of the room and service received from our hotel staff. We take all reviews positive or negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    73
    59
    39
    23
See reviews for
74
51
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here a year ago and had a great experience. So when we needed to return to the University of Miami, we booked a room here again. What a difference a year makes. The front desk staff was nice enough but painfully slow, rather like the in-room wifi. The room we reserved (an executive suite) was just a regular hotel room and a fraction of the size of the executive suite we had at the same hotel the year before. (If you want a real executive suite, you need to ask for the corners on the 3rd floor.) The drain in our sink emitted a noxious odor occasionally that stunk up the whole room; when I called the front desk about the problem, the maintenance man came up with a can of air freshener! He never returned with any other solution, even a plug for the drain (which I had requested). One day I took the stairs marked as a fire exit down instead of using the elevator only to discover that the fire exit was LOCKED on the ground floor. I had no choice but to retrace my steps. (I had my son check this out the following day, and he found the same thing.) Good thing there was no need to evacuate the building :-/. To top it all off, I found out yesterday, a week after we checked out, that my credit card was compromised by a pizza delivery service that slips its flyers under the hotel room's doors. My credit card is now being replaced, but the experience means either (1) the hotel allows disreputable people to solicit business from guests or (2) the hotel has no control over security and people come and go to slide things under guests' doors at will. Both are deeply disturbing. The only reason this stay has even two stars is because the room was sufficiently quiet and comfortable to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear dkckekmk,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Coral Gables.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Older hotel with recent updates commands a premium price because of its location. Clean room included a fridge, microwave,and coffeemaker. Hotel is L shaped with the elevator at one end – if your room is at the other end you'll have a bit of a hike with your luggage but the payoff is less foot traffic past your door. Room was clean and comfortable. Lots of nearby restaurants. Cleaning staff made lots of noise in the morning.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear CdnWandererPa,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We are delighted to read you liked our location and found the rooms clean and comfortable. Your comments regarding the cleaning staff are very much appreciated. This is one way of the ways that let us know where we need to improve.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very nice, safe place to stay directly across from u miami campus. The entire lobby was under renovation so it should be new by now. They have a small gift shop open till midnight to get drinks and snacks, and several computers in the lobby with a printer. Also free wifi in the room. Reasonable price for this area. Plenty of shopping and eating close by. We drove to miracle mile for dining options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently stayed here in February 2012 for one night after a delightful Carnival Cruise. I booked this stay through Priceline, and had no idea how far it was from Downtown Miami or the Port of Miami. Our Priceline price was not cheap and for a hotel outside of Miami, I expected much more.

The hotel was (and I would presume still is) undergoing considerable renovations. There was construction equipment everywhere which was very unorganized and a potential safety hazard. The hallways were beyond freezing, with air conditioning levels like I've never felt. This being said, the room air conditioning seemed to barely work.

The actual door to the room was very difficult to open and the room itself was mediocre. This room was not worth $170, 150 or even 120 a night given it's current state. Perhaps after renovations it will be nicer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Pierceba,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable place to stay. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience the renovation process caused you during your stay. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in two hotels while in the Miami area. The other hotel was a 4-star hotel, but this Holiday Inn had a better staff -- from the front desk to the cleaning crew. It's also nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room -- especially traveling with kids. I agree with other reviewers that the price is too high, but the location is nice. It is close to a number of restaurants. The pool is not heated, so it can be downright cold. The bathrooms are tiny.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool, which is nice on the first floor to be able to walk right out and swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place should be closed. Dirty, overpriced and had mold in my room. Everything about this Hotel is sub par.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone . This hotel's manager seems to have an excuse for everything instead of fixing the problems. Truth is this hotel should be condemned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear 843Bear,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared this with the hotel management for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn
Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.