We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pretty nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very nice, safe place to stay directly across from u miami campus. The entire lobby was under renovation so it should be new by now. They have a small gift shop open till midnight to get drinks and snacks, and several computers in the lobby with a printer. Also free wifi in the room. Reasonable price for this area. Plenty of shopping and eating close by. We drove to miracle mile for dining options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    92
    62
    40
    23
See reviews for
103
57
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently stayed here in February 2012 for one night after a delightful Carnival Cruise. I booked this stay through Priceline, and had no idea how far it was from Downtown Miami or the Port of Miami. Our Priceline price was not cheap and for a hotel outside of Miami, I expected much more.

The hotel was (and I would presume still is) undergoing considerable renovations. There was construction equipment everywhere which was very unorganized and a potential safety hazard. The hallways were beyond freezing, with air conditioning levels like I've never felt. This being said, the room air conditioning seemed to barely work.

The actual door to the room was very difficult to open and the room itself was mediocre. This room was not worth $170, 150 or even 120 a night given it's current state. Perhaps after renovations it will be nicer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Pierceba,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable place to stay. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience the renovation process caused you during your stay. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in two hotels while in the Miami area. The other hotel was a 4-star hotel, but this Holiday Inn had a better staff -- from the front desk to the cleaning crew. It's also nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room -- especially traveling with kids. I agree with other reviewers that the price is too high, but the location is nice. It is close to a number of restaurants. The pool is not heated, so it can be downright cold. The bathrooms are tiny.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool, which is nice on the first floor to be able to walk right out and swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place should be closed. Dirty, overpriced and had mold in my room. Everything about this Hotel is sub par.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone . This hotel's manager seems to have an excuse for everything instead of fixing the problems. Truth is this hotel should be condemned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear 843Bear,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared this with the hotel management for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from three nights at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables while attending a research conference. While the rooms have been updated it the hotel still seems a little old and tired. If you are visiting the University of Miami it is a perfect location (right across the street). The food during the conference was, well, conference food. There was no in hotel bar and the lobby and registration desk were undergoing renovations so they staff were a little disorganized.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Terry F,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you and for falling short of your expectations. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here because of the proximity to the U of Miami for a basketball game. If this is your only requirement its great.

The room I had was highly overpriced and bad. There were holes in the smelly balconey walls, the carpet poor quality and stained. The bathroom was built in the 60's and probably was the last time it was cleaned. I was particularly impressed with the rusty hinges and door frames.

Try to avoid the breakfast buffet unless you have an adequate supply of Lipitor along.

I suggest staying at a great down town hotel for less and cabbing it to the game.

Room Tip: be sure to tell the front desk you are going to check the room out before you confirm your stay. I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear JerCurtis S,

Thank you for taking the time on writing your review on your stay with us. Although it pains me to hear that you had expirienced dissatisfaction when you stayed with us, we do appreciate that you are willing to offer us feedback on what certain issues we can improve.

As we are currently within rennovations we are updating the look of our property and should you consider us in the future I am positive that we would do our best in changing your opinion on our hotel.

Best Regards,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The lobby is under works. However nothing has been donde to the rooms and facilities for many years. In the three days spent there the paper basket was not cleaned once. I lost in the room an small box with two pairs of cufflinks,
I suposse students will be better off at the university dorm, and visiting parents should go somewhere else.

Room Tip: better aoid the Hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Jorge V,

We thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with us. Yes, our hotel lobby is currently undergoing renovations, so I can imagine how this caused some displeasure in your stay with us. I can assure you our rooms are constantly being reviewed and renewed and should you consider in the future to make a reservation please feel free to ask for special requests, we are always at your service.

You mentioned you left a box with cuff-links in your room on your stay, please reach us directly in case your items were found and left in the lost and found. We will do our best to review our items in case it does turn up.

Thank you again your feedback and we hope to hear back from you.

Best Regards,
Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.