We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARGARITA DIAS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
staten island
1 review
“MARGARITA DIAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

despite a series of events that becsme inconvenient there was one person who remained amazingt hroughout. her name is maragarita dias. from initail point of storing my luggage to her friendly cordial attitude and sincere energy. one person alone has changed my reaction to ant to come back to this hotel do to her unbelievable portaryal of excellent customer sevice....i worked solamente with Margarita dias and for her alone I am very satisfied.Total experience in this hotel excellent in hoiuse keeping perfect

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear carolann b,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a great review on one of our beloved employees, Margarita Diaz. As we currently undergoing changes in the hotel's appearance one thing will remain constant and that is our many hardworking employees who are willing to always help. Margarita felt very proud and was elated to hear she was able to impact your stay so positively as you encountered certain inconveniences. We apologize if in any way we created any inconvenience for you and please feel free to reach us in the future on personalizing your next stay with us, we want to make sure we make it right for our guests 100% of the time.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Best Regards,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    95
    64
    40
    23
See reviews for
105
60
32
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for part of my trip to Coral Gables. The staff was wonderful - very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, the pool area was much better than I expected, and the location was unbeatable. It's located right across the street from the University of Miami. I was very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear meinelkm20,

Thank you for taking time on your review on our hotel. It brings us great joy that our staff was able to create such positive feedback on your stay with us! We appreciate your kind words on your room stay and should you return to the area please feel free to reach us personally on your next reservation; we look forward to it!

Many thanks,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the past few years visiting my daughter at UM. While I've never been completely happy, this time was over the top the worst. Check in was a disaster. The front desk clerks coudn't get the key card machine to work. After a three employees, hundreds of attempts, and 15 minutes, I was told to go to my room and that housekeeping would meet me there to open up my door. I HEARD them speak to someone from housekeeping. After the long trek to my room - which was the last room down two long hallways -- there was no one there. I waited for 10 minutes -- still no one. At this point I sought out housekeeping, schlepping my bags behind me and finally found someone. Where we had a humorous back and forth exchange with neither of us understanding each other's language. I finally directed her to my room and asked to be let in -- which she did. Not sure if I was happy or frightened by this? Got into the room which was not the King room I had reserved. Instead it was a handicapped double. Being well over 6 feet tall, the short counter top, short shower, etc. was annoying. At this point I was in a hurry and couldn't be bothered to make another trip to the front desk to switch. It was only one night so I endured. The room had NO clock, NO trashcan, and two missing lightbulbs. Furniture was tired and worn and I'm not completely sure the sheets had been changed as the bed was rumpled when I turned the sheets down in the first bed. Obviously slept in the other, but was skeeved just the same. And yes, you do tend to look over your shoulder in the parking lot, not sure if this is warranted, but still felt a bit edge at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear tallgirl1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason your comments are troubling and will surely be looked into. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience the overall condition of the room and the customer service you received from our staff may have caused. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? The stained carpets, the crumbs/sand (?) in my sheets and bathtub, the lousy Wifi, the indifferent service, the terrible yet pricey food in the restaurant, the location next to a busy expressway...? You get the picture.

This place isn't exactly cheap, either.

I may have to return to U of Miami for business again, and if I do, it will be on the condition that they do NOT put me here!

Oh--the weather WAS fabulous, but I'm pretty sure they don't get credit for that.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear leftydana,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry that our hotel fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Maid Margarita Caso was wonderful with us, very very kind. The room service and Front Desk was excellent. I recommend this hotel only for its service. The balcony was dirty and the emergency exit stairs not so clean at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Eric M,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. It's always a pleasure to hear our staff go above and beyond to make our guest stay a pleasant one. However, we regret that you were not satisfied with the level of cleanliness at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Coral Gables, FL.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel wasn't our best experience. Everything is old, needs a lot of reno. Some rooms on our floor were undergoing renos but we had to endure the noise and the mess. You're charged for wi-fi but there is not hope to get a connection either from the room or from the lobby. Beds were comfy and there was a choice of pillows but the quality of sleep was poor anyway because of the noise: insulation is poor and you hear your neighbors walking and talking. Plus the maids in the morning made such incredible noise that we felt like we were at a market, not a hotel. They would literally shout to each other from one side of the hallway to the other, and laugh, and what sounded like - play and chase each other. We complained twice but without change. We stayed three nights and didn't get any sleep in the morning.
The quality of cleaning was also a concern: our room was only half done. One of the two beds remained in disarray and we had no towels whatsoever.
The only good thing is the hotel's location: close to the metrorail, 4 stations from downtown Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Xroust,

Our deepest apologies on your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay. Its very disheartening to hear that on your 3 night stay with us that you did not receive any sleep on any night due to noise. Please be assured that we will address the issue with management and review it to find a solution in order to prevent this from ever occurring again in the future.

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and we hope that this negative experience has not changed your opinion on our brand. Should you consider our hotel once again in the future, we will see to it that your experience will be the comfortable and relaxing stay it should be.

Thank you again,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Large room, small bathroom. Very low bathroom counter. Room overlooked a lovely pool, patio. We liked the restaurant quality; I take my own breakfast when I travel, so not having it included with the room rate was okay. In general, we really liked the feel/finish of this place. The lobby was spacious, staff were gracious, finishes very nice (though in process of some remodeling).Would definitely recommend this one.

Room Tip: We liked looking over the pool, but don't recall the room number; on the 2nd floor, I believe, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear travelorWAstate,

Thank you for review on your recent stay with us! We are happy that we provided you with an great experience and appreciate your kind comments on out hotel staff and our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Thank you again,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.