We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, overwhelming air freshener” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
White Plains, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, overwhelming air freshener”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

good location, nice bit outdated rooms , May at the front desk was really nice and charming. did not use restaurant , pool was nice. only problem was the air freshener, i almost fainted when i walked into the room, windows did not open, so i had to use my own cologne to kill the smell, it looked like the housekeeping staff was trying to hide some type of smell,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear latin2014,

We thank you for staying at our hotel. May is very happy that she was able to make you feel welcomed and comfortable and we apologize if your room stay was not as convinient. We look forward to providing you with a more pleasurable expirience on your next visit to our hotel.

Thank You,

Yonne Mendez
Brand Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    96
    62
    41
    23
See reviews for
103
56
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excelent service,great staff,housekeeper Magarita Caso is a great employee,very helpful 100% ready to assist your every need.,All the employees are great..Room was good and comfy.we enjoyed our stay very much we felt at home away from home the pool area was great.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Brand Champion at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Kathy-ann R,


Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write such a kind review on our staff! I spoke with Margarita who feels proud of her service and she is happy that you had such lovely words to say about her. If you are ever back in the area, we hope you consider our hotel as we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Yonne Mendez
Brand Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is very convenient to the University of Miami but also to other activities on the southern side of Miami. Dixie Highway is also U.S. 1, a major road in the area. While the words "transit friendly" are not something used often in Miami, it's true here. The hotel is a short walk to the University station of Miami's Metrorail train, which is a convenient way to get into the city center. The room is clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. I would call the lack of an alarm clock or any timepiece of any kind in the room a drawback, however, especially when first waking up and wondering what time it is. The two free drink coupons good at the hotel bar which were presented at checkin were a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Excelent service, great beds, really comfy. The housekeeper Margarita Caso is a first class employee, always looking foward of what I needed. Recomend 100%. All the empolyees are extremelly helpfull. Great hotel and quality service.

Room Tip: Margarita Cano's floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

So check in was a little bit of a nightmare, My kids and I were on our very long summer roadtrip, and I always ask for a fridge in the room BEFORE I book. When we went to our room, we found two double beds not two queen beds and a fridge, To be fair I booked through the 1-800 number so it could have been her mistake not the hotels. I went down and explained the mistake to the front desk and they tried very hard to find us the right room. There are no rooms with two queen beds. But we did get moved to a room with a fridge and two double beds. Due to the inconvience they moved us to a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Aside from that the hotel was very nice, the pool was clean and temprature controlled, not too hot or cold. The area around the pool was clean and the pool towels were kept stocked. The room and hallways were very well kept. The beds were super comfy and the bedding was really crisp and smelled fresh. The bathroom was ok. little small and could have used a deep clean. It was not dirty but it was not super clean either. Parking is avail but it can be a tight squeeze in a bigger truck. There is a bit of a drive to Miami Beach and with the traffic it could take you an hour. This hotel was really easy to find and has great access to the freeway's. Would I stay there again?? Yes I would. Inspite of all the little hiccups it is not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Momwith2teens,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review. It is unfortunate to hear that your stay with us had a few hiccups like you mentioned, but that it did not negatively change your view on us. I welcome you back to our hotel and we look forward to better assisting you in the future so you don't run into the same issues as before. Please feel free to contact our front desk in the future for special requests as it is very important to us that you recieve the best service we can offer you and your family.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again!

Yonne Mendez
Brand Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I do business in Miami on a regular basis. From this hotel, I can easily get to all other areas of greater Miami. Parking is free and easy to get in and out and the University Metro Rail station is across the street. The staff is very friendly and go out of thier way to accomodate you and provide a good experience. On occasion, my wife and daughter accompany me on my trips; the staff here always remember them and do everything possible to make them feel at home. Even though the property is older, the management does a great job in maintaining and keeping it clean. The center courtyard has lots of tropical plants surrounding a well-kept pool, and provides a welcome oasis from the surrounding busy area. In the afternoon, the friendly bartender mixes excellent "mojitos" which you can enjoy in a comfortable air-conditioned setting as you watch several large tv screens and gaze out at the pool area. The kitchen provides a decent menu and the food is expertly prepared and served ( white linen tablecloths and napkins). There is a well-equiped small gym that overlooks the pool and and there is also an area with washers/dryers for guests. This hotel is directly across the street form the Bank United Arena at the University, it is frequently sold out for events, so book early to get the best (advance) rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I chose to stay at this hotel during my last visit because of its location. The hotel staffs were friendly and very helpful. The bed was comfortable. I tried out the breakfast buffet one time and it was ok.

I left a bag of new clothes behind when I checked out. I contacted the hotel next day and the staff/manager was able to locate the item and sent it to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.