We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Melbourne, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way down to Key West. It's right off of Us-1 which we found very convenient. Check in was quick and easy. Paid $112 and got a clean room facing the back which overlooked a back road. The room was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but clean. Carpets looked a bit worn and dirty. They need to be replaced. Overall it was a decent affordable place to sleep on our way down to Key West.

Room Tip: Their website didn't specify what view our room would be and we ended up facing a road. You may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    95
    68
    40
    23
See reviews for
109
61
34
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were given a room on the back of the property. It seemed like we walked for 30 minutes prior to getting to our room from the elevator. The room is old and very tired. The bathroom needs some serious remodeling. The rugs look like they've been walked on for centuries. The bed is small and not very comfortable. The pillows are also not very comfortable. To top off our experience, we woke up to a cockroach roaming the bathroom. We paid $189 for the night. The only positive about this hotel is that it is across from the University of Miami. But then again, if you can afford to send your kid to UM, you can afford a better place. I would not pay more than $39 per night to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Good morning, and thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. Its very unfortunate you didnt like the room at the end of the hall. Most people tend to like those as they offer more privacy. Next time however we will be glad to place you closer to the elevator. Also please be sure to stop by the front desk next time you encounter a problem, as most of them can be solved, and I am glad to do so. If your kid goes to UM I am sure I will be seeing you soon, upon your next visit please do not hesitate to stop by and ask for the manager upon check in. Once again I would like to thank you for writing your thoughts. I look forward for your next visit.

Best,

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife was at this hotel for a Body Talk presentation for 3 days. Ther staff was wonderful,friendly and always helpful Close to the airport and all amenities in Miami and priced reasonably. The room had a wonderful King Bed,desk for laptop etc and we walked right out to the pool area. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in area. They may not offer Lunch but you are in walking distance to many restuarants and we went to Five Guys Burgers and Fries Twice. The breakfast Buffet had anything you could want from roll,muffins,bagelks to fruit ,eggs,pancakes,bacon suasage and many yogurts and juices. We would go back there anytime and hope the Body Talk people schedule classes there again.

Room Tip: The King First Floor rooms walk right out to Pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed there last week for a U of Miami graduation of a family member. They jacked the price up to $165 per night for a double, which for just how lousy the property was with equally lousy service was not right at all.

The property was tired and run down with huge scratches in the walls and elevator. No sense of pride by management. The room just ok, unimaginitive, not particularly clean, and again tired for not an update, maybe ever. My biggest beef was with the service and upkeep. We left mid-day for a graduation and there was a tray of food we passed in the hallway from roomservice. When we got back eight hours later the tray was still there. Disgusting.

Another negative was that we got, in two nights, five separate flyers under our room door for pizza orders. I have not seen that in a while, so these peeps just walk in and stuff under every door and the hotel let's them? surely the hotel has to know.

I would not stay there again, even if it was graduation weekend and this is the closest hotel. There have to be better options, well, much better options elsewhere.

Room Tip: yes stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are well aware of the pizza flyers being strewn across every room, unfortunately it has not been easy to control. Its never the same person, and therefore not easy to catch as we cannot simply stop every person we dont know walk through the front door. I am not making excuse I just want to illustrate that its a difficult task to prevent. However along with the help of our Security we are working on new methods to prevent this from continuing. Once again I do appreciate your comments, and I hope you give us another chance in the near future.

Yours,

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This property was very nicely appointed, and very convenient to the University of Miami campus. Staff were all friendly and courteous. Only small drawback was the tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business. Comfy bed. Screwy phone. Basic tv. Doesn't serve lunch every day but it's a 5 min. drive/20 min. walk to Whole Foods, AMC movies & shopping. Across from University & rail stop that can take you downtown. Sushi & Starbucks a short walk drive. Decent pool. The hotel wasn't spotless. Not much attention to detail. But it was fine for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel was a great fined nice rooms good air con good food Great and helpfull staff will go back again

Room Tip: just across the road from the station and near malls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.