We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Harmony, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were so glad we found this Holiday Inn. The atmosphere and location were amazing. They had a fabulous bartender and it was an easy booking. The only downside with our room was that it was right next to the elevator. The bathroom was behind the elevator. It was a little noisy but the hotel was otherwise terriflc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Good morning!

Thank you so much for your review, I am glad you enjoyed hanging out with Ryan our bartender. He's definitiely a character. I do apologize for the noise you experienced due to your proximity to the elevator. Please feel free to contact us for your next reservation, and we will make sure to put you far from any noise.

Thank you once again for your review!

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    111
    70
    40
    25
See reviews for
121
66
38
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

well, this is the floridian version of the standard...
Nice and friendly staff, but not at the restaurant.
Low quality at breakfast, no business center.
everithing ok, but with a sad note of superficiality in the customer care.
Position ok for UN, five guys suggested for a great hamburger.
coffee always warm and fresh.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Hi thank you for your review, tough I was grieved when I read it as we do have business center, and its very unfortunate that we couldn't help you find it. With the help of your comments we wish to continue improving our product to better serve you in the future. Your concerns about the restaurant will be taken under full consideration.

Thank you once again

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Let me just say that that staff was great. They were very courteous and friendly; check in and check out were effortless.

The hotel itself appears to be an older property and the room as well as the corridors are pretty shabby. The bathroom was very small and in desperate need of a remodel. There were small bugs all over the bathroom vanity and I saw some inside the room as well. They were NOT bedbugs and just appeared to be small ants but bugs none the less.

On the plus side the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, there was a refrigerator in the room, and the free in-room wifi worked great. Lots of free parking as well.

At $135 a night this was one of the cheaper hotels in the area so not a terrible value. I would recommend checking out the Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove about 5 miles up Hwy 1. I've stayed there and it's much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Hello, we appreciate your review as it will help us become a better property for you in the future. Since you mention it, the corridors are to be fully remodeled within the next few weeks. The bed you slept on was actually one of the new ones that have been installed. Our hotel is undergoing a complete renovation process. Theres always something new to look forward to. I invite you to come check us out again, and see the change for yourself.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Best,

Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Where to start? As the review of 13 December 2001 says, the internet kept on dropping out, and there was lots of dirt. The carpets and upholstery looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. The beds had deep hollows in the middle, as if the previous occupants were manatees. The walls were thin, and noisy neighbours kept us awake till 1am. The bath took fifteen minutes to empty. There were three pictures of tropical beach scenes in our room, all exactly the same. The breakfast was awful, and the coffee undrinkable (though if you do get stuck here, don't despair on that account. Walk left down S Dixie to Wendy's, and turn left: there's a Wholefood Market, just 10 minutes away.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to point out some issues that need fixing. As a matter of fact most of our beds have been upgraded to brand new ones. Unfortunately its been a long process, but we should have them all changed very soon. Also within the next few months we will be bringing in new carpets, and furntiure. Though I do apologize for the inconveniences you endured while staying here, please consider staying again in the future when all these upgrades have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This has been one of the best hotels me and my family have stayed in. The service was excellent. The employees were very friendly especially our housekeeper Margarita Díaz. She was very helpful and considerate. The room was comfortable and our family really liked it. We hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the first floor looking at the pool because they have a balcony and are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such wonderful things about Margarita Diaz. She beamed with pride when we showed her your review. If anyone deserves it, it's definitely her. We hope to see you come again soon.

Best,

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Jorge Wong was amazing!!! He made our trip great. I asked for something very specific and he went out of his way to help us. Also very friendly people.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Hello thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear that Jorge was able to help you as much as he did. We take special pride when we read these comments as they motivate us to continue going out of our way to help. If you are ever to come back to Coral Gables Jorge and the rest of the team will be happy to continue this service commitment.

Best,

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife, brother-in-law and I booked a room for 3 nights over Christmas at the Holiday Inn on US 1 just north of the Indigo. Upon reserving with the very gracious reservations staff, I asked whether they accepted pets at the Holiday Inn and she tried to refer me to the Indigo. We were going to leave the pets at my sister's house while we retired to the hotel so I booked the Holiday Inn. Well, in families things change and we were stuck at the last minute - after checking in and putting our bags in the Holiday Inn - and my sister didn't want the pets at her house without us around. As a last resort (I was going to break the rules and chance a $250 pet fee at the H.I.), I called the Indigo and asked if they had a room available - the lady was going to fix the whole situation on the phone and transfer us if I had not already checked in. Instead I called the H.I. and the manager Manuel Castillo was AWESOME and allowed us to break that reservation penalty free because I promised to book the same room nights at the Indigo while standing in front of him. HUGE relief to solve this mini-crisis. The Indigo was very accommodating to pets and us and the room was just great. There is an awesome Brazilian Italian restaurant across the street that serves up a great pizza and I just can't say enough good things about the staff at the Indigo. Thank you all - I am posting this review on both hotels so they know they are appreciated.

Room Tip: Hotel Indigo is a related property that takes pets and has similar rates - about 3 miles southerly n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding your experience in our property. Here at the Holiday Inn we're commited in providing a great experience for each of our guests. We look forward to acccommodate you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn University of Miami which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village at Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's restaurant and lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Parrot Jungle, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Gardens, Miami MetroZoo, the Museum of Science, the Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.