We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moldy curtains near AC made the whole room musty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“moldy curtains near AC made the whole room musty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Hotel has been mostly updated but they need to find a way to keep the curtains from being moldy. Pool was nice but COLD (85 outside).........advised the front desk of a lack of towels outside by the pool; 30 minutes later they still didn't provide them. Had to go inside, on the marble floors, risking sliding due to being soaking wet, to ask for towels. 10 minutes later they showed up. Bed was OK and staff was just OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
I appreciate your time for giving us your insight of the hotel. With your comments you will help us become a better property that can suit your travelling needs. Unfortunately the pool was colder than usual as a result of a prolonged downpour from the previous days. Nonetheless I am very sorry for our staff not delivering the towels to you sooner. Service is something we like to thrive on, and failing to do so is very dissapointing. Therefore I thank you very much for bringing this to my attention. We will do our best to correct our mistakes.

Best regards,

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    138
    88
    44
    26
See reviews for
138
71
38
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Being across the street from University of Miami, this is a busy property. It's an older Holiday Inn, but they did the things needed to keep the brand. The rooms are well updated, you wouldn't know from the insides that it is an older property. I am a Priority Club Platinum Elite, was welcomed as such and thanked for my business. However, no upgrade was offered, perhaps because I had already booked an executive room, The room was spacious and clean. The internet access had some of the fastest speeds I've seen for free hotel internet in some time. However the TV was in desperate need of replacement. The old style tube TV was worn out to the point that the picture quality was very poor. But I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Go for the low numbered rooms. Bit of a walk, but worth it for solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Hello, and thank you very much for your response! Im glad you pointed out the old TV's. As one of the upgrades for our Property Improvement Project will be to have 37" plasma TV's on every room before 2012. Please come by and check us out again soon. If you wish you may contact me directly at the hotel, and I will gladly handle your reservation and any additional perks! :)

Thank you once again!

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed 3 nights. The first night, the lock of the room was not working. I asked the front desk to fix it, while I went for dinner. When I came back, 3 hours later, they had not fixed it, and the person I had talked to, already had left without reporting the problem. Meanwhile I had left all my things in my room, while the door could be open without a key. Then I asked for a room change, the person at the lobby did not believe that the door lock was not working and went and check by herself, it was already 1 AM. I moved to another room, but the police was just in the room next door, because the guest was very noisy. Till 3 in the morning there was noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the second and third floor; or if in the first floor, one looking at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time for pointing out these issues. Having a proper response time is very important, and Im sorry your needs were not met to this standard. Your comments will help us fix the problems you endured to help us become a better property. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next trip down to Coral Gables as I will be glad to make your stay a great one.

Thank you once again,

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have just completed a 21-night stay at this beautiful Holiday Inn. I have stayed at this hotel many times during the past 30 years, and I must say that I cannot remember ever having a complaint. The staff are all genuinely friendly and accommodating (especially Ninowska in Sales, and Joel the Front Office Manager. The housekeeping staff is awesome.....they are always smiling! The rooms are immaculate (even the guest laundry room). I do not use the dining or bar facilities, since when I am in Miami I like to dine out, but considering the other areas of the hotel, I'm sure that the food and beverage department is just as wonderful. I plan on continuing to stay at this Holiday Inn whenever I visit Miami in the future. John H. Lyon from Key West, FL

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in at this hotel has been great, but I suggest a ground floor poolside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Hello John!

Thank you so much for your review. Its very nice to read comments such as yours as it encourages us to continue striving for guest satisfaction. As always it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us! We all look forward to your next trip up to Coral Gables.

Take care, and until next time!

- Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was here on a family reunion and found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was TERRIFIC! The location was great also being that it was on the main highway (US 1). I would recommend it family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed in this hotel overnight on a short trip to see Miami. Great value, lovely clean rooms, comfortable beds and very nice staff, was very happy until we paid €12.00 each for breakfast which was terrible. We were down about 30 mins before breakfast finished, but everything was dried up, pancakes like cardboard. We ordered poached eggs which were lovely with toast but nothing else was edible. pity!

Room Tip: Ask at the desk for their best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The advantages: clean, good-size rooms, comfortable bed, Internet service is truly wideband (when it works). Close to the University of Miami if you have business there.
Room comes with a refrigerator and a microwave oven.

The disadvantages: restaurant has only limited operating hours (no lunch!); air conditioning unit does not have a thermostat (a real inconvenience); any time there was a disturbance of the electricity service (which happens a lot in this neighborhood) the Internet service stopped working for many hours (in one case 16 hours!); cabs take a very long time to get to this hotel when called. Lobby is not air-conditioned (warm and uncomfortable).

Overall - not a great experience. I will seek another accommodation next time I come to the University of Miami.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.