We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated, relaxing, elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sophisticated, relaxing, elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We really enjoyed staying here for a long weekend away from Wisconsin snow and labor unrest. The hotel has great "wow" factor, especially for our teenage kids, who were in awe of the tower, high ceilings and endless pool. We are an athletic family and really enjoyed the use of the health club, which isn't just a small room with mirrors but an active club with excellent classes and instructors that serves the hotel and the Coral Gables community. I loved running in Coral Gables. The houses are incredible, and I stumbled across the Venetian Pool, built in a former quarry, just a few blocks from our hotel. We spent a few hours there even though the Biltmore has its own pool. We also enjoyed Coral Gable's "miracle mile" of shops and restaurants, and we went to Coconut Grove for dinner (loved Lulu and Green Street Cafe). We thought we would tour the Everglades and visit downtown Miami, but the Biltmore was so nice and relaxing that we didn't leave much aside from shopping and eating. Only a few downsides: the food and drinks are typically expensive for a hotel of this quality, although they offer happy hour specials. Also, our room overlooked the pool, which was great... until we stayed over a Saturday night and the sound from the wedding below us echoed off the stucco walls and kept us awake. I'm also concerned about the use of pesticides and was saddened to see the groundskeepers apply it to the grass surrounding the hotel. It was windy (pesticide isn't supposed to be applied under windy conditions) and some got in my daughter's eye as we walked past. I hope The Biltmore, with their hybrid parking spaces, shows a deeper commitment to being "green" by reconsidering their application of products that are known carcinogens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Biltmore Management welcomes constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring the quality of our services and product. The Biltmore is part of the Florida Green Lodging program, certified by Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). In regard to the fertilizing and pesticide usage for the hotel's landscaping, the property utilizes a product which is 100% natural. And only when pests exceed a pre-determined threshold, are pesticides applied, all of which are certified 'green' products. Management will address the specific time of day in which this maintenance program is implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    195
    83
    48
    22
See reviews for
225
282
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

If you are traveling on business and don't have time to enjoy the hotel, then this is not your choice. The hotel is a great venue, if you have time to enjoy it!
The restaurant is awesome as well, I wish I had more time to enjoy the hotel!

Overall is a good choice, if you are into golf is excellent!

Very classy hotel if you can afford it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We hadn't stayed at the Biltmore since our honeymoon in 1989. We're pleased to say the quality of the building and staff hasn't deteriorated. We do agree with a prior comment that the room TV's aren't 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We booked a weekend stay in a Suite pre cruise from Fort Lauderdale so were in a relaxed mood when we arrived at the Biltmore. Hm.

The reception was spacious and airy but the welcome was - how can I put this without offending anyone - "rehearsed"...the receptionist started her little talk about the hotel and then didn't stop...it really could have been a recorded message. Zero warmth.

The first suite we were sent to ( not taken to, as one might expect in an ostensibly 5 star resort) had no outside space, even though this was what we had booked. I asked for another room which was found after a wait of about 30 minutes and this did, at least, have a terrace, albeit with views over the car park.

The door handles to the terrace and bathroom were coming away from the door...the bath water was luke warm, the plasma in the sitting room didn't work at all...by now, you're thinking that I hated this place...I didn't but it just didn't live up to its billing.

The pool is lovely but we waited for over 30 minutes for our order to be taken at the poolside bar...all in all, the hotel just isn't as special as they think it is and they really do know how to charge...the basic room/ suite price is reasonable but you think twice about a small bottle of water from the mini bar when it's going to cost $10 and when an adequate pizza and bottle of wine from room service comes in at $150...everything carries a 18/20% service charge which just keeps stacking up...I tip generously, but only when I think it's deserved and frankly, it was not.

There is no doubt that this hotel is resting on its laurels, acquired when it was the first opened but if you've stayed at Claridges or the Savoy, you know that even an older hotel must keep its decor and polish up to date to attract the right crowd.

Not a disaster, but a disappointment.

Back to Mandarin Oriental or the Atlantic in FL for the next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

A beautiful property, great architecture/ We stayed in a lovely junior suite overlooking the golf course and pool. The only thing that should change is the old TV in the room. They need flat screens. Their follow up survey was emailed to me and within 12hours of my sending it back they responded. They assured me that the were in the process of changing TVs in the room. Great service response! Generally the staff were warm and friendly. Front desk staff were OK but not as friendly as the rest.
Would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed for seven nights whilst my daughter was undergoing surgery at Miami Children's Hospital. Not bad but not worth it. It's expensive becuse of it's history and external facade but the rooms were very basic and the bathroom even more so. The showers leaked and soaked the bathroom floor and there were no towel racks. For the price I expected a lot more but I got a slightly upscale Holiday Inn instead.
Best bet in Coral Gables - The Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Just a short visit, really impressed.

Beautifully appointed throughout and lovely bedroom and bathroom.

good breakfast at reasonable (for 5 star) prices.

Courtest town car makes up for the out of way location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.