We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful landmark.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful landmark.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I recently returned from a 3 day mid-week stay at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables, FL. Our company hosted a client event which included a cocktail party and heavy hors d'oeuvres in a beautiful room, terrace. The service during the event was outstanding. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. The food was great. We received a lot of compliments from our clients.

We employees were lucky enough to have a couple of days to enjoy the resort. A few of us enjoyed the fitness center -which was great. We took a couple of classes with wonderful instructors. We had breakfast at the 19th Hole Grill. The view of the golf course was wonderful and so was the food and service.

The rooms were nice and the beds were great. The staff was friendly and attentive. The resort is kept very clean.



I recommend a stay at the Biltmore.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    201
    86
    48
    22
See reviews for
235
288
35
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Beautiful period building in lovely grounds with giant swimming pool. We stayed in a junior suite and the room was large and comfortable with excellent mattress.Turndown service and soft towels changed twice daily.
Food in restaurants was beautifully prepared and served and reasonably priced for the type of hotel.
Above all, the staff were always helfpul and friendly.
Downside - shortage of sunbeds, especially when they have a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

This a very nice hotel, truly 5 star appointments and 5 star service. The hotel building is magnificent, huge with a rich history and wonderful decor.. Everything about this place is luxurious. The staff is incredibly helpful and maintains the proper formality for the quality of property. The restaurants are very good. The gym is outstanding for a hotel and the pool is absolutely massive. The hotel is also directly on a gold course so there are numerous options for leisure activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Stayed there for 1 week, the pool is very nice, with a beautiful golf yard. The building itself has a long history, worth an explore.
Room is pretty small, bathroom is tiny, don't know other room type, we stayed in a superior one without balcony.
Locates in a quite residential area, very quite at night. But limited public transportation, only one bus stops nearby, no metro line. Parking is convenient.
Breakfast is quite nice, a lot of choice, and can dine by the pool, which is quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We surprised to learn that the hotel pool was not heated. It was too bad; we and other hotel customers could not used the beautiful extremely large pool. There were lots of special events sometimes more than one a day while we were there (weddings, etc) and the event security did not allow us to use the regular parking lot entrance. We had to walk around the building to enter from the front door and it was a long hike and an unwelcomed inconvenience. I think that the hotel makes more money from these events and pays more attention to these events than their regular hotel customers. Thus the customer service was poor while we were there during the New Year’s week 2010.

We arrived at the hotel at noon and were told that the room was not ready. We understood that since the official check in time was at 3PM and we were told that they would call us at our cell phone when the room was ready. We never received a call and we stopped by in person at 3:00 PM to check if our room was ready. It was not ready and we were told to be ready soon. Between 3:00PM and 7:00PM, we checked at least 3 more times if the room was ready and it was not. After we had dinner on the Miracle Mile, I finally demanded a room immediately and they gave us a room at 7:15PM. After what I know now, I should have demanded this at 3:00PM but I was trying to be a gentleman. This is how this hotel's customer service is.

The rooms at this hotel are small and odd shaped since it was built in the 1920s. The rooms are poorly furnished for a four-star hotel and the beds are small as well. We booked a king-size bed and got a queen-size bed, it seemed that it may not have been even a queen size bed. The architecture, lobby and courtyard are the best part of the hotel and are beautiful. But you do not have to stay at this hotel to enjoy these. Thus I would recommend the restaurant at the courtyard as the service was a five star’s and the food was excellent. But I would not recommend this hotel a romantic getaway! Miami has great romantic hotels and I would recommend any of them including the Ritz Carlton Key Biscayne.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

rooms are not big, but well equipped. the staff friendly and polite (with the exception aof a not so professional waiter at the swimming pool cafeteria). the buiding itself is a monument to be visited. the gardens, are great. the surroundings are not at miama beach but elegant and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is a very nice hotel but very hard to find if you dont know the area. It sits in the middle of a neighborhood. Very pricey but worth it. Room was very roomy and the hotel had great service. I look forward to staying here again next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.