We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 5 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful 5 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

This a very nice hotel, truly 5 star appointments and 5 star service. The hotel building is magnificent, huge with a rich history and wonderful decor.. Everything about this place is luxurious. The staff is incredibly helpful and maintains the proper formality for the quality of property. The restaurants are very good. The gym is outstanding for a hotel and the pool is absolutely massive. The hotel is also directly on a gold course so there are numerous options for leisure activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    259
    115
    55
    28
See reviews for
280
355
43
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Stayed there for 1 week, the pool is very nice, with a beautiful golf yard. The building itself has a long history, worth an explore.
Room is pretty small, bathroom is tiny, don't know other room type, we stayed in a superior one without balcony.
Locates in a quite residential area, very quite at night. But limited public transportation, only one bus stops nearby, no metro line. Parking is convenient.
Breakfast is quite nice, a lot of choice, and can dine by the pool, which is quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We surprised to learn that the hotel pool was not heated. It was too bad; we and other hotel customers could not used the beautiful extremely large pool. There were lots of special events sometimes more than one a day while we were there (weddings, etc) and the event security did not allow us to use the regular parking lot entrance. We had to walk around the building to enter from the front door and it was a long hike and an unwelcomed inconvenience. I think that the hotel makes more money from these events and pays more attention to these events than their regular hotel customers. Thus the customer service was poor while we were there during the New Year’s week 2010.

We arrived at the hotel at noon and were told that the room was not ready. We understood that since the official check in time was at 3PM and we were told that they would call us at our cell phone when the room was ready. We never received a call and we stopped by in person at 3:00 PM to check if our room was ready. It was not ready and we were told to be ready soon. Between 3:00PM and 7:00PM, we checked at least 3 more times if the room was ready and it was not. After we had dinner on the Miracle Mile, I finally demanded a room immediately and they gave us a room at 7:15PM. After what I know now, I should have demanded this at 3:00PM but I was trying to be a gentleman. This is how this hotel's customer service is.

The rooms at this hotel are small and odd shaped since it was built in the 1920s. The rooms are poorly furnished for a four-star hotel and the beds are small as well. We booked a king-size bed and got a queen-size bed, it seemed that it may not have been even a queen size bed. The architecture, lobby and courtyard are the best part of the hotel and are beautiful. But you do not have to stay at this hotel to enjoy these. Thus I would recommend the restaurant at the courtyard as the service was a five star’s and the food was excellent. But I would not recommend this hotel a romantic getaway! Miami has great romantic hotels and I would recommend any of them including the Ritz Carlton Key Biscayne.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

rooms are not big, but well equipped. the staff friendly and polite (with the exception aof a not so professional waiter at the swimming pool cafeteria). the buiding itself is a monument to be visited. the gardens, are great. the surroundings are not at miama beach but elegant and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is a very nice hotel but very hard to find if you dont know the area. It sits in the middle of a neighborhood. Very pricey but worth it. Room was very roomy and the hotel had great service. I look forward to staying here again next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We were at this hotel for it's famous sunday brunch (april 11th) and the weather was sunny and not too warm.
Seated outside (it's a must) I've never had a so amazing brunch in my life and I'm 47 years old and I travel a lot!
Everything you want, you can get it (champagne Perrier Jouet à volonté, caviar, lobster, ....
We spent about 21/2 hours and it's surely one of my best moment in Florida.
The hotel is beautifull, located in Coral Gables (for me, the best part of Miami) offers the greatest pool an hotel can have, a golf course, ...
The price (about 100 dollars/pp) of 70 euros is for us absolutely in relation with this meal and the ambiance you share with other people.
Everyone of our group had a wonderfull experience and I would like to thank the staf of this restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Visited in late February and would never go back if I had to pay. They gave me a room on the 2nd floor that had a view of a nasty roof--even though they said it overlooked the tennis courts. The room was also over the back loading deck and dumpsters. I now know that they start deliveries at 5:30 am and that is also the time that they start dumping trash. Could not sleep with all of the noise. The pool was amazing, but too cold to try it out when we visited.
Service was slow in the restaurants, but the food was terrific. Overall, couldn't wait to leave and could never imagine returning unless attending a conference.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
The Biltmore welcomes constructive feedback from all of our guests, as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. To that end, we encourage this guest to contact our General Manager’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.