We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing brunch! Wonderfull experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Amazing brunch! Wonderfull experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We were at this hotel for it's famous sunday brunch (april 11th) and the weather was sunny and not too warm.
Seated outside (it's a must) I've never had a so amazing brunch in my life and I'm 47 years old and I travel a lot!
Everything you want, you can get it (champagne Perrier Jouet à volonté, caviar, lobster, ....
We spent about 21/2 hours and it's surely one of my best moment in Florida.
The hotel is beautifull, located in Coral Gables (for me, the best part of Miami) offers the greatest pool an hotel can have, a golf course, ...
The price (about 100 dollars/pp) of 70 euros is for us absolutely in relation with this meal and the ambiance you share with other people.
Everyone of our group had a wonderfull experience and I would like to thank the staf of this restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    260
    115
    56
    28
See reviews for
283
359
43
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Visited in late February and would never go back if I had to pay. They gave me a room on the 2nd floor that had a view of a nasty roof--even though they said it overlooked the tennis courts. The room was also over the back loading deck and dumpsters. I now know that they start deliveries at 5:30 am and that is also the time that they start dumping trash. Could not sleep with all of the noise. The pool was amazing, but too cold to try it out when we visited.
Service was slow in the restaurants, but the food was terrific. Overall, couldn't wait to leave and could never imagine returning unless attending a conference.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
The Biltmore welcomes constructive feedback from all of our guests, as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. To that end, we encourage this guest to contact our General Manager’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We spent two nights at the Biltmore. First the good. THe hotel is very beautiful from an architectural point of view, it is well maintained, the grounds are superb, and the swimming pool is fantastic. Some of the staff was extremely nice and efficient.

Now the issues. When we arrived they gave us a room that was really nothing special, no view, it had only one window facing the roof of the patio, on the third floor, nice king bed, but overall a small and not very impressive room, certainly NOT worth the rate. So we called the reception to complain about it, and they offered to move us to another room, within the same rate. They said they'd come to take us to the new room. So we sat and waited, and waited, and waited. We had to wait around 40 minutes, and they showed up after we called the reception two times to ask what was going on, the second time we expressed our disappointment and they finally arrived. I thought the wait was waaaay too long given the standard of the hotel.
The room they moved us to was newer, much nicer, larger, with two windows very bright and with an excellent view. So make sure you complain if you're not satisfied with the room you get.
Another thing I didn't like is that on the day of our check out housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:50am and to drop of our bill under the door. We had gone to bed very late the night before and had scheduled a wake up call at 10:30am. There was no reason for housekeeping to knock on our door because all they had to do was to slip an envelope under the door, is this some policy to make sure guests leave their rooms on time?? I thought it was rude, and again not up to the standard. Other minor issues were that I had to call housekeeping for shampoo, hair drier, all things that were supposed to be in the room.
Overall a nice stay and I would recommend this hotel, but given its hefty rates (the $20/day resort fee, for example, is ridiculous), I think their service should be better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, General Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
The Biltmore welcomes constructive feedback from all of our guests, as an integral part of monitoring services and product throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. To that end, we encourage this guest to contact our General Manager’s office directly, so we may address this issue thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is a lovely hotel with seamless service and very cordial staff. Loved it! My only negative comment is to warn those who book to avoid any rooms near the elevator. The elevators ding constantly and at all hours of the night. I asked to be moved after one sleepless night and was accommodated.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We visited the Coral Gables area on a tour of Florida the previous year and decided to stay at the Biltmore on our next visit. The hotel didn't disappoint, very friendly and helpful staff; clean, comfortable rooms; excellent restaurants and super pool to end the day in... Well worth a visit if you get chance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esq
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed here as an alternative to the beach hotels. It was an absolute delight. Classic spanish-influenced area with historic character. Hotel is part of Leading Hotels of the World group, and is a delight. Staff are very friendly, particularly those by the pool, and are quite helpful. Sunday brunch, though priced at the top end of the market, is brilliant. Had dinner at the hotel one evening in their charming courtyard, and the food was great. Concierge, Claudine, was very responsive to our emails arranging dinners out. No problem borrowing some golf clubs to hit balls on their driving range, at a very reasonable $10 / large bucket. We'd definitely stay here again as an alternative to the beach hotels, which are substantially less charming and more crowded in feel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Staff was attentive and restaurants are much better than you'd expect in a hotel setting. I wish pool was heated, but otherwise a great place to unwind for a weekend

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Splendia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.