We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch at the Biltmore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
reading, berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
631 helpful votes 631 helpful votes
“Brunch at the Biltmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

We went for sunday brunch at the Biltmore, followed by a guided tour of the hotel. We did not stay there.
We thoroughly recomend both.
Brunch consists of nine food stations with different themes e.g. bbq, carvery, sushi etc. You can eat as much as you want. Champagne, which is discretely filled up when you are away from the table, is also included, as is coffee and water. If you are driving you have to watch this or you may end up as a guest of the Miami police! Food is top class, as is the champagne.
If you can move after this, the guided tour is also a must! You will be told the history of the hotel, uncovering a few surprising facts, and be shown around the plush building.
Brunch was $50 each, which may sound a lot, but given the quality of food & drink is actually very, very good value.
The tour is free! Leaves from reception at 13:30, 14:30 and 15:30.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    260
    115
    56
    28
See reviews for
283
359
43
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

We stayed at The Biltmore in June of 2006, and would definately go back.

If you're a historic hotel buff as I am, this is the place for you. It's historic, but has been updated with taste, and many of the historical elements have been preserved - especialy the lobby which is georgeous.

We booked a deluxe King room (the price difference between standard and deluxe was only $20, and was totally worth it!) The Hotel has been majorly renovated in recent years, adding AC and expaning most rooms. The deluxe rooms are two original rooms opened up into one, while the standard rooms are more typical of an older hotel - the decor is still nice, but they are a little small. The deluxe rooms have two TV's, a sitting area with sofa, two windows which makes the rooms very bright and airy. And then there's the bed. Four king sized feather (not foam) pillows, a down duvet, and high quality sheets - one of the best hotel sleeps I've ever had! The rooms all have clay tiles on the floor, which makes the rooms feel cool. The bathrooms are modern and spacious also. There's complimentary turn down service each night too, which is a nice treat!

When we first checked in, we were given a room which connected to another. As all rooms have tile floors, there's not alot of sound proofing (it's a good idea to ask for a non-connecting room when you book). We were moved to another room which overlooked the pool, and was very nice.

There is a resort fee of $9 per day, which covers self parking, turndown service, and telephone serice charges - Some folks have made negative comments about the fee, but personally, I'd rather pay a flat fee, get my parking, phone calls, turndown without having to worry about paying for each individually.

The pool is huge, but there's not alot of seating around it - One side of the pool is a cafe area, one side a walk way, one side contains the cabanas (which you have to rent), and general sun bathing seating is only on the remaining side.

The hotel is not in Miami itself, but in Coral Gables, a nice residentail community about 15mins from downtown Miami. There's a beautiful golf course and gardens around the hotel - it rather feels like you're in a oasis of tranquill gardens and grounds.

Too bad there weren't coffee makers in the room (that's my only non-positive comment).

  • Liked — Large rooms, Huge pool, quiet area - an actual neighbourhood - not a metropolis of high-rise cement structures
  • Disliked — No coffee pot in the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for anon-connecting room
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

We have just returned from 4 days in this beautiful hotel. The entrance is just breath taking (you feel like a star arriving to the hotel) the lobby and everything, sooo classy. They kindly served us champagne when we were doing our check in. Nice touch.

The service was superb. The room was nice but small, the bed was very comfortable, regular amenities (no slippers) and only one bath rope. Since I knew the hotel was under renovation, I asked on check in for a “quiet room”, they gave us a room in the 9th floor, and yes, the renovation noise started at 8 am, It didn´t wake me up, but once I did I could hear it. It was not that loud from our room.

The pool was amazing. I was waiting for an excellent service but it was just fine(last June we stay in the Mandarin Oriental in Miami and they had better service in the pool) anyway we enjoyed the time we spent in there.

We have dinner in the Palm D´or, we made reservation but they didn´t have it when we arrived, there were a lot of tables available so there were no problem. The dinner was delicious, each of us ordered the three courses meal, a bottle of wine, and a incredible dessert: total $190 (gratuity and taxes include) not that bad for the food and the excellent service.

One morning we were waiting for a table for breakfast (I only wanted a coffee but my husband wanted something more) and I noticed a little store with coffee and pastries, so we ordered and take it to the pool.
We didn´t have a car, so everytime we needed to go somewhere we took a cab. There are a lot of places near the hotel, for shopping you must go to Village of Merrick Park, it was very very nice place to shop and to enjoy the afternoons, it is open air so go after 5pm.
Also we went to the Dadeland Mall (about $20 in taxi) One night we went to Coconut Grove to have dinner, when we arrived we noticed a lot of shops open late so we have a nice time there.

The hotel is in Coral Gables which is very nice and quiet area, away from the busy South Beach, so if this is what you want, stay here! It is a beautiful hotel, excellent service. Nice area with excellent restaurants and good shopping.
PS We saw Bill Clinton in the hotel

  • Liked — Service and arquitecture
  • Disliked — Small roomn
  • Tips/Secrets — Store with coffee and pastries
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

This is an undeniably beautiful property with gorgeous first class rooms and services. It is also an old property and is undergoing renovations. During my three nights here, I got very little sleep because the bands (playing outside) and the noisy neighbors (there is no sound proofing between connected rooms) combined with the drilling/renovation on the floor above me began PRECISELY at 8am every morning. I was not warning about the drilling above me when I checked in and could not be moved because the hotel was full. As stunning and first class as the rooms were, I will never ever return again for fear that I will have to go 72 hours with little sleep again. Shame on you Biltmore for booking rooms at full price when you KNEW that the experience would be worse then a Holiday Inn.

  • Liked — Gorgeous rooms
  • Disliked — Constant Construction noise in rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — when reserving, ensure you will be far from construction noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

We loved our stay at the Biltmore and would recommend this hotel. The drawbacks were that construction is going on which was sometimes noisy and detracted from the beauty of the hotel. We also had some ants in our room which I know is not all the uncommon in Florida. Otherwise, the hotel was grand and charming with beautiful historic details. The lobby was impressive with it's high ceilings, bird cages and old world details. Our room was lovely, had marble tile floors, a sitting room and bedroom. The beds were so comfortable with pillowtop mattresses and luxury sheets. Our terrace was unusable due to the construction. Breakfast was lovely in the open air garden with fountain and tropical foliage. Service is excellent. The concierge was very helpful and all your needs are taken care of quickly. Valet service could be slow at times if their are a number of patrons waiting. The pool is huge and while it was crowded at times during our stay, it was comfortable and service was excellent poolside. There are cabanas on one side with private lounging areas. Attention to detail in easily noticed. There was the possibility of a horse and carriage ride for guests but we didn't have time to enjoy it.

This hotel is a must see or stay if you are in the area of Coral Gables. It is near shopping and restaurants of Coconut Grove, Coral Gables and the surrounding areas. It is also in close proximity to the University of Miami.

  • Liked — History and charm of hotel
  • Disliked — construction going on
  • Tips/Secrets — be aware of construction going on, try and upgrade to a suite
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

Just returned home from the Biltmore. We spent three nights in an "Executive Suite". Room 415 to be precise. Check in through Check out was smooth. Our party consisted of 2 adults, one 14 year old and a 10 year old. Located in Coral Gables, this is an island away from the hustle and bustle of Miami. However, it is close enough to Miami, Coconut Grove, Little Havana, the Miracle Mile, Key Biscayne, Key Largo, and even Fort Lauderdale Airport. The room was clean and appeared newly renovated. It had a sitting area separated from the main bedroom by a hallway with a door. The bathroom was located within the hallway area. The bedroom portion of the suite had two double beds and its own TV and walk in closet. The beds were the best we have encountered in a hotel. In particular, I thought the "W" Hotel beds were top notch till I tried the Biltmore's. Each moning I woke up refreshed and ready to go. The sitting room had a desk/chair, couch, coffee table, and two chairs, and two end tables. The main feature of this room was a wall mounted LED (plasma) TV. The entire suite had a tile floor with an area rug in the sitting room.

Have to say that the historic hotel designation along with the very friendly staff (and, no I did not encounter anyone with their hand out looking for a tip) providing outstanding service, we highly recommend this hotel. My kids are still raving over the swimming pool. While it is not a water park, it's sheer size is breath taking and is just plain fun to explore. Also, the pool side dining is worth the price for what you get. By the way, during the summer months, they have live music by the pool. Last night the group, Suenalo performed and just lit up the place. Self parking is convenient to the hotel, no real need to use valet. Check out the Thursday night fire place ghost story talk, it is really neat.

The turndown service was a nice little touch that just made you feel that much more welcome.

Thank you Biltmore for the wonderfull time!

  • Liked — The historic ambiance.
  • Disliked — Maintenance was occuring, however, its the off season.
  • Tips/Secrets — Self Parking is easy and convenient.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

Hotel is absolutely beautiful. Based on the reviews I've read, I suppose some rooms are better than others, because our Deluxe King room was excellent and looked like it was recently renovated. The only complaints about the room was the terrible view that they gave us (refused to change us to another room). The other problem was the air conditioning control, but not that big of a deal.

There are only two sit down restaurants at the hotel and they are both overpriced for the quality of the food. The pool is great, but not really geared towards small children, as a matter of fact, this is not the type of hotel that focuses on families. Use it for business, social functions or a romantic get away..

Do not expect Ritz quality or service at the Biltmore, but consider that at the Ritz you can't replicate the ambiance or history you find at the Biltmore. If the Ritz or the Four Seasons could take over the management of the Biltmore it would be perfect.

  • Liked — Historical setting
  • Disliked — View
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Splendia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.