We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is a lovely hotel with seamless service and very cordial staff. Loved it! My only negative comment is to warn those who book to avoid any rooms near the elevator. The elevators ding constantly and at all hours of the night. I asked to be moved after one sleepless night and was accommodated.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    231
    100
    51
    26
See reviews for
263
327
41
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We visited the Coral Gables area on a tour of Florida the previous year and decided to stay at the Biltmore on our next visit. The hotel didn't disappoint, very friendly and helpful staff; clean, comfortable rooms; excellent restaurants and super pool to end the day in... Well worth a visit if you get chance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esq
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed here as an alternative to the beach hotels. It was an absolute delight. Classic spanish-influenced area with historic character. Hotel is part of Leading Hotels of the World group, and is a delight. Staff are very friendly, particularly those by the pool, and are quite helpful. Sunday brunch, though priced at the top end of the market, is brilliant. Had dinner at the hotel one evening in their charming courtyard, and the food was great. Concierge, Claudine, was very responsive to our emails arranging dinners out. No problem borrowing some golf clubs to hit balls on their driving range, at a very reasonable $10 / large bucket. We'd definitely stay here again as an alternative to the beach hotels, which are substantially less charming and more crowded in feel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Staff was attentive and restaurants are much better than you'd expect in a hotel setting. I wish pool was heated, but otherwise a great place to unwind for a weekend

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This lovely historic hotel is a great base for exploring Coral Gables. The room was nicely appointed and very quiet in spite of the fact that the hotel was said to be almost full. The Sunday afternoon historic tour was very informative and I would recommend it highly. The pool is beautiful but the water was cold when I visited.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

first the rooms, we did not get into our room by 3pm as they had promised. the rooms were adequate, except there was a lot of noise one night from children from the room next door. The toilet leaked in the back, not good for such a high end hotel.

They charge you a ridiculous $20 daily resort fee. This is supposedly so you can use their very small exercise room (expect to wait to use the equipment), newspaper, and parking. i can get all that for free at a hotel like La Quinta for a fraction of the cost. I guess i mean why invent something called a "resort fee" that is really nothing of value. And since it's not optional, just add it to the cost of room at the outset.

you won't be able to get coffee outside your room before 6:30am which is not that great if you are an early riser.

i made the mistake of going there without a rental car. it is not very close to anything, so you'll have to use their facilities for everything unless you get a taxi or have other transportation. one day the two of us had lunch which cost over $100, in part because they charged $18 plus tax and tip for a glass of Robert Mondavi Cabernet. One night two of us had one drink apiece in their bar, more than $40 for the two drinks.

on the plus side, they do have a nice swimming pool and the place in general is pleasant to walk around.

If you are wealthy and don't care about money this might be the place for you. But it's pretty low value in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

During our trip to Miami for business trip, we stayed at the Biltmore hotel since most of our meetings were at this hotel. The hotel is big and expensive. our room was not cleaned until the afternoon. The staff will knock on your door to check the electricity meter and the bar daily not to see if you are comfortable and your room needs to be turned over.
The room is cleaned but very small. The closet is by the door and small without any light. The poolside restaurant is reasonable! The pool is big but lack of sitting chairs.
This hotel is far from all activities, coffee shop and restaurants.
I would not recommend this hotel if you can stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore is Miami's National Historic Landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area. The 273-room luxury Resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool in the country with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding the Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also lately unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination, minutes away from Miami Beach, Downtown and Coconut Grove. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.