We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic grand hotel with terrific spa and golf course.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Florida Resident Offer
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersGold level
miami
1 review
“A classic grand hotel with terrific spa and golf course.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Staff was attentive and restaurants are much better than you'd expect in a hotel setting. I wish pool was heated, but otherwise a great place to unwind for a weekend

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    200
    86
    48
    22
See reviews for
234
288
35
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lb,il
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This lovely historic hotel is a great base for exploring Coral Gables. The room was nicely appointed and very quiet in spite of the fact that the hotel was said to be almost full. The Sunday afternoon historic tour was very informative and I would recommend it highly. The pool is beautiful but the water was cold when I visited.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

first the rooms, we did not get into our room by 3pm as they had promised. the rooms were adequate, except there was a lot of noise one night from children from the room next door. The toilet leaked in the back, not good for such a high end hotel.

They charge you a ridiculous $20 daily resort fee. This is supposedly so you can use their very small exercise room (expect to wait to use the equipment), newspaper, and parking. i can get all that for free at a hotel like La Quinta for a fraction of the cost. I guess i mean why invent something called a "resort fee" that is really nothing of value. And since it's not optional, just add it to the cost of room at the outset.

you won't be able to get coffee outside your room before 6:30am which is not that great if you are an early riser.

i made the mistake of going there without a rental car. it is not very close to anything, so you'll have to use their facilities for everything unless you get a taxi or have other transportation. one day the two of us had lunch which cost over $100, in part because they charged $18 plus tax and tip for a glass of Robert Mondavi Cabernet. One night two of us had one drink apiece in their bar, more than $40 for the two drinks.

on the plus side, they do have a nice swimming pool and the place in general is pleasant to walk around.

If you are wealthy and don't care about money this might be the place for you. But it's pretty low value in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

During our trip to Miami for business trip, we stayed at the Biltmore hotel since most of our meetings were at this hotel. The hotel is big and expensive. our room was not cleaned until the afternoon. The staff will knock on your door to check the electricity meter and the bar daily not to see if you are comfortable and your room needs to be turned over.
The room is cleaned but very small. The closet is by the door and small without any light. The poolside restaurant is reasonable! The pool is big but lack of sitting chairs.
This hotel is far from all activities, coffee shop and restaurants.
I would not recommend this hotel if you can stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I travelled to Miami from NY for what I thought would be an overnight stay at the Biltmore. Needless to say, the February month end winter storm that hit the northeast resulted in my staying 2 additional nights at the Biltmore. And, because I had travelled light (right, no warm clothes for the cold Miami weather), I decided to spend most of my time at the hotel. It was great fun. From sitting by the beautiful pool watching a beer commercial being filmed, to spending hours in the gym, which is crowded because it attracts members from the community, to getting two massages in the new spa, I had a great time. I managed to leave the hotel for dinner each evening, and except for one failed attempt to depart the airport, I stayed in the hotel. The service was just fine. The breakasts and lunches that I ate were great.

On the room. I agree that they are in desperate need of new televisions. I ended up watching a couple of movies, and the Olympics, and was struck by the poor quality of the tv. But, turndown service was great (including some chocolates), and when we arrived we were greeted with a nice fruit plate, and chocolates!

The hotel is far from the rest of Miami. I went to Coral Gables one evening, and round trip taxi was $120.00! But, I don't like to drive, so there's no real alternative.

I did buy a jacket in the gym, given my lack of extra clothes, but wished there was more of a clothing assortment in the hotel stores.

All in all, a very pleasant way to get stuck in another city.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2010
Biltmore management is very appreciative of guest’s feedback. As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. In reference to the taxi cab comment, it appears that the guest was over charged, since downtown Coral Gables is only a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The Biltmore now offers complimentary town car service to our guests to enjoy dinning and shopping experience throughout the city of Coral Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

I've stayed for 6 days. Hotel is located far from nightlife of Miami which is in fact an advantage. Great pool , extraordinary gym , acodating recepcionists , old fashionedstyle of building are just an example of the advantages that I found.
But ... be carefull... when You negotiate with manager an offer be sure all the details. Inspite of the agreement signed, someone from marketing wanted me to pay for dinner additionally already included in our offer.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at the Biltmore for an impromptu stop in Miami this month. I have been there once before and the excellent service, food and rooms are consistent over time. The staff is helpful, anticipating needs and providing excellent service. Food and drinks were also good, with nice selections and priced as expected for this caliber hotel.
This is a great place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Biltmore Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Awarded hotel features 275 guest rooms including 130 spacious Mediterranean styled suites and two famed Presidential Suites, a Donald Ross 18 hole golf course, 10 lighted tennis courts, the signature Palme d’Or restaurant, Biltmore Spa, The Culinary Academy, 75,000 square feet of meeting and function space and is a preferred venue for notable high society events and weddings.The legendary Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables has been a favorite of world leaders, celebrities, and sports stars since its opening in the 1920s. Offering much more than exceptional accommodations, the Biltmore Hotel showcases championship golf, cosmopolitan dining, a luxury spa and premier conference facilities, all while exceeding our refined guests’ expectations. Perhaps this is why we’ve remained Miami’s only four-star, four-diamond hotel for six consecutive years. Graced with natural elegance and sophistication, the Biltmore Hotel offers a stunning location in the exclusive Coral Gables area, minutes from South Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and the Coral Gables business district. Surround yourself by old world charm and beauty at the Biltmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.