We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nope, don't do it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Biltmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Biltmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“nope, don't do it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

first the rooms, we did not get into our room by 3pm as they had promised. the rooms were adequate, except there was a lot of noise one night from children from the room next door. The toilet leaked in the back, not good for such a high end hotel.

They charge you a ridiculous $20 daily resort fee. This is supposedly so you can use their very small exercise room (expect to wait to use the equipment), newspaper, and parking. i can get all that for free at a hotel like La Quinta for a fraction of the cost. I guess i mean why invent something called a "resort fee" that is really nothing of value. And since it's not optional, just add it to the cost of room at the outset.

you won't be able to get coffee outside your room before 6:30am which is not that great if you are an early riser.

i made the mistake of going there without a rental car. it is not very close to anything, so you'll have to use their facilities for everything unless you get a taxi or have other transportation. one day the two of us had lunch which cost over $100, in part because they charged $18 plus tax and tip for a glass of Robert Mondavi Cabernet. One night two of us had one drink apiece in their bar, more than $40 for the two drinks.

on the plus side, they do have a nice swimming pool and the place in general is pleasant to walk around.

If you are wealthy and don't care about money this might be the place for you. But it's pretty low value in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    249
    107
    52
    27
See reviews for
269
345
42
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

During our trip to Miami for business trip, we stayed at the Biltmore hotel since most of our meetings were at this hotel. The hotel is big and expensive. our room was not cleaned until the afternoon. The staff will knock on your door to check the electricity meter and the bar daily not to see if you are comfortable and your room needs to be turned over.
The room is cleaned but very small. The closet is by the door and small without any light. The poolside restaurant is reasonable! The pool is big but lack of sitting chairs.
This hotel is far from all activities, coffee shop and restaurants.
I would not recommend this hotel if you can stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I travelled to Miami from NY for what I thought would be an overnight stay at the Biltmore. Needless to say, the February month end winter storm that hit the northeast resulted in my staying 2 additional nights at the Biltmore. And, because I had travelled light (right, no warm clothes for the cold Miami weather), I decided to spend most of my time at the hotel. It was great fun. From sitting by the beautiful pool watching a beer commercial being filmed, to spending hours in the gym, which is crowded because it attracts members from the community, to getting two massages in the new spa, I had a great time. I managed to leave the hotel for dinner each evening, and except for one failed attempt to depart the airport, I stayed in the hotel. The service was just fine. The breakasts and lunches that I ate were great.

On the room. I agree that they are in desperate need of new televisions. I ended up watching a couple of movies, and the Olympics, and was struck by the poor quality of the tv. But, turndown service was great (including some chocolates), and when we arrived we were greeted with a nice fruit plate, and chocolates!

The hotel is far from the rest of Miami. I went to Coral Gables one evening, and round trip taxi was $120.00! But, I don't like to drive, so there's no real alternative.

I did buy a jacket in the gym, given my lack of extra clothes, but wished there was more of a clothing assortment in the hotel stores.

All in all, a very pleasant way to get stuck in another city.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Manager at The Biltmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2010
Biltmore management is very appreciative of guest’s feedback. As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. In reference to the taxi cab comment, it appears that the guest was over charged, since downtown Coral Gables is only a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The Biltmore now offers complimentary town car service to our guests to enjoy dinning and shopping experience throughout the city of Coral Gables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

I've stayed for 6 days. Hotel is located far from nightlife of Miami which is in fact an advantage. Great pool , extraordinary gym , acodating recepcionists , old fashionedstyle of building are just an example of the advantages that I found.
But ... be carefull... when You negotiate with manager an offer be sure all the details. Inspite of the agreement signed, someone from marketing wanted me to pay for dinner additionally already included in our offer.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at the Biltmore for an impromptu stop in Miami this month. I have been there once before and the excellent service, food and rooms are consistent over time. The staff is helpful, anticipating needs and providing excellent service. Food and drinks were also good, with nice selections and priced as expected for this caliber hotel.
This is a great place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I wanted to stay at the Biltmore since my days admiring it as a UM student and the hotel itself did not disappoint - it is simply stunning and opulent set in magnificent grounds with an eye wateringly large and landscaped pool. Simply breathatking. What disappointed me however was the service. The front desk always had a line - there were lots of weddings/events on all weekend - and the staff were fairly efficient but not in a warm or friendly way. We often got no answer when ringing front desk/valet or bellhop from the room and the place seemed to be run a little chaotically. We heard one lady reporting a dress had gone missing from her luggage trolley with the bell hop and when we checked out, after waiting 20 mins for our bags, found them loading someone else's suitacse into our car with ours! Thank god we saw it then and not at the airport! We also noticed at the airport that they had omitted to include a jacket which was placed clearly with our cases at the hotel, and we are currently awaiting its return by post. It's such a shame as the hotel itself is beautiful, but we got much better service from a cheap little Doubletree in Orlando than the fabulous Biltmore.
My only other warning would be to visitors unfamiliar with Miami - it's in Coral Gables, a lovely and safe residential district but it's nowhere near South Beach so if you want the beach and nightlife stay on SoBe instead. However, for a relaxing opulent break, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Built at the height of the Florida land boom in the 1920's, this resort is steeped in history and charm. Some older hotels are just older and have a tired feel to them. The Biltmore is not one of those places. It is a beautiful property and is well preserved. Its historical architecture is charming and inviting. Being at the Biltmore you feel you are someplace special. While its amenities are probably not as fine as some of the newer state of the art resorts, what this place gives you is a relaxing stay in a romantic, old-world style location.

I will not dwell on the history here, but this is the type of place that anyone who was anyone in the 1920's and 1930's probably stayed here. At one time this was THE location in South Florida. Presently, THAT crowd is probably over at South Beach. But what the Biltmore has become is a beautiful Club/Resort that could not be duplicated today.

We visited right before Super Bowl week got started. The place was busy but still quiet and refined. We found all of the amenities, including the pool, gym, bars and restaurants to be just the right atmosphere and of a high quality. While I did not get an opportunity to golf or play tennis, those facilities looked inviting as well. While the bars and restaurants were not cheap, the food, drink and atmosphere were perfect for a romantic evening out.

Our room was a standard room and appeared to be recently renovated. The bed was one of the more comfortable beds I have stayed at in a hotel recently. The bathroom and shower area nice. The only negative comment about the room was the TV needed to updated to 1997! maybe next time.

We found the staff to be welcoming and helpful. Everyone we encountered seemed genuinely happy to be working there and eager to assist. We could tell the management does a fine job because everyone seemed to be proud of their hotel.

In a word this hotel is charming and romantic. I would imagine they do a big business on weddings. If you are looking for "Hip Miami" go east over to South Beach. If you are looking for old-world charm I would suggest the Biltmore. We would very much like to stay here again.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel

Address: 1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Biltmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.